Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling ride
"Reapers Run" follows Sergeant Jill "Reaper" Repeth following her contracting the Eden Plague virus - a so-called disease that affects humans at the molecular level and brings with it superhuman healing, improved senses, and insatiable food cravings... following her escape from a cruise ship full of other "sickos", a government ruse to round up anyone and everyone they...
Published 15 months ago by N. A. Stephenson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feels like its been written by someone very young
I've read this book and the first in the series - The Eden Plague. I found it OK. The idea is OK. the science in the plot is OK. The plot moves along OK, the characters are ... OK, the writing style is OK. However, I find it hard to believe in any of it.

So its all OK, but none of it is really believable .... and I don't mean whether its plausible to...
Published 2 months ago by Andrew Scooter Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feels like its been written by someone very young, 23 Aug 2014
By 
Andrew Scooter Guy (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reaper's Run (Plague Wars Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I've read this book and the first in the series - The Eden Plague. I found it OK. The idea is OK. the science in the plot is OK. The plot moves along OK, the characters are ... OK, the writing style is OK. However, I find it hard to believe in any of it.

So its all OK, but none of it is really believable .... and I don't mean whether its plausible to believe in aliens or heroes or weird science ... I mean that how characters/organisations/government, react, interact, behave, etc is just not very realistic.
Feels like its been written by someone very young.

Having said that if the price of the follow on books dropped to £1 i'd probably buy them when I couldn't find anything better to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting tale but was it needed, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Reaper's Run (Plague Wars Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I received this free to read and review.
This reads like an extract from the excellent "Plague Wars" series however it was not included in the series. For anyone who has been reading the series up to now will have used their own imagination to fill in the missing bits. If you have not read the series it will probably tell you too much and spoil the enjoyment of the series if you choose to read it.
It is a well written book that keeps the reader engaged from the first to last page however the suspense is muted by the fact that you know that Jill Reaper will survive to the end of the book no matter what is thrown at her. I did however like the irony of American citizens trying to escape to Mexico.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling ride, 2 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reaper's Run (Plague Wars Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
"Reapers Run" follows Sergeant Jill "Reaper" Repeth following her contracting the Eden Plague virus - a so-called disease that affects humans at the molecular level and brings with it superhuman healing, improved senses, and insatiable food cravings... following her escape from a cruise ship full of other "sickos", a government ruse to round up anyone and everyone they see as a threat, Jill embarks on a quest to find her family - but winds up finding redemption and hope in the unlikeliest of places.

As the world begins to fall apart following the Eden Plague outbreak, Jill has no idea who to trust - and she must rely on her new-found allies to evade the very government she was sworn to protect, before she and everyone she loves winds up another casualty in a brand new kind of war... one that will change the face of humanity and life as we know it.

Reapers Run is designed to bridge the gap between book #1 and book #2 of his exciting Eden Plague series, but it also works remarkably well as a standalone novel. I read through the book in around 3 evenings and found myself not wanting to put my kindle down - the action is fast-paced and the emotional turmoil that the characters must overcome is very real indeed.

Can't recommend this highly enough - if you're a fan of action-packed books with a military twist, give this a go - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This was the starting point...and it gets better!, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reaper's Run (Plague Wars Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It all starts with an idea that might not like completely original, as other authors in the past explored similar themes, but the the Plague Wars series evolves into something completely different, presenting you characters that will become like friends to end up into Space for an Epic Saga that could easily be made into great movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reaper's Run just as good as first Plague Wars book, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reaper's Run (Plague Wars Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this straight after Eden Plague and could not put this one down either ... Brilliant reads and highly recommended! Now on to the next Plague Wars book by David VanDyke & Ryan King and sure it will be another hard to put down book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reaper's Run (Plague Wars Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I've now read all the Plague Wars & Stellar Conquest books & really enjoyed them. I would highly recommend giving them a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 18 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reaper's Run (Plague Wars Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Okay but not enough SF for my taste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews