Customer Reviews


9 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite playing from these two ultra-refined artists..., 18 Sept. 2013
By 
Robert Roy (Edinburgh, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wigmore Hall Recital (Audio CD)
This must be one of the finest CDs to have come my way this year. It was surely an inspired idea to record these artists live in the home of chamber music performance in the UK. Both these artists are on top form and make superb music making to an audience of connoisseurs who regularly hear the best of the best. The audience's total silence is a tribute to what must have been an outstanding evening of music making.

The programme itself is truly inspired with the Brahms sonata being a joy - the only word I can think of. The Schubert is a model of lyrical music making and taste. (No uncouth portamenti or playing to the gallery here!)

PLEASE do not hesitate to hear this disc. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful concert, caught in great sound, 30 Oct. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Wigmore Hall Recital (Audio CD)
This one took me by surprise -- I thought that the Wigmore Hall was producing recordings of its own concerts exclusively, but here is DGG with a recording of this concert, with no audience noise distractions and great sound, beautifully balanced between Pires's piano and Meneses's cello. I loved it all, but I was especially struck by Pires's account of the Op.117 Brahms Intermezzi, the second item on the disc. I don't associate her with Brahms, but she gives lucid accounts of these three rather grave pieces, and gives each its due in terms of shaping and color. Nothing too heavy, with pedaling discreet, and with a tonal palette appropriate to each -- just beautiful! The big pieces are the Schubert Arpeggione Sonata and the first of Brahms's two cello sonatas. This is the loveliest sounding version of the Brahms I've heard, with better tone and balance than the otherwise fine Ma/Ax version on RCA. It's more gemutlich than the very fine Kovacevich/Harrell EMI account, which is a bit more fiery at the close, but the sound here is much mellower. Meneses is a cellist I hadn't heard -- I had heard and enjoyed Pires's Mozart -- and I was particularly impressed by his ability to integrate his sound through all registers. Even if you have other versions of the main items here, I strongly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meneses's timbre is beautifully consistent in its warmth and security, 6 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Wigmore Hall Recital (Audio CD)
. . . remarkable artistry . . . That they speak the same language, musically as well as verbally, is fully manifest in the intimate, conversational nature of the playing, the way in which ideas are shared and shaped instinctively . . . [Schubert / "Argeggione Sonata"]: Meneses's timbre is beautifully consistent in its warmth and security. The central Adagio finds Meneses and Pires communing with particular eloquence, with the span of the cello's long lines delicately supported by telling harmonic touches in the piano's accompaniment. But all three movements testify to their sensitivity to the music's scale and expressive vocabulary . . . In the Brahms Sonata, as in the Op. 117 Intermezzi that Pires plays on her own at the recital's centre, she taps her resources of power, limpidity and inwardness to magical effect. Meneses meets her with a complementary mix, the two finding a common but uncommonly compelling voice for Brahms's passion, assertiveness and serenity. Mendelssohn's "Song without Words" Op. 109 encapsulates all the elevated qualities that make the disc so special.

Geoffrey Norris, The Daily Telegraph (London) / 10. October 2013

This was without doubt a spellbinding concert . . . Antonio Meneses is a one-off, with a technique of such refinement that he seems to conjure before us an instrument free of gruffness, buzzing or angular imbalances. What better foil for the fragile threat of gold he draws than the luminous purity of Maria Joao Pires's pianism? . . . Schubert's "Arpeggione" is rendered radiant, mesmerising. Both artists are unfailingly precise and elegant, breathing rather than forcing life into sound without missing the opportunity to etch a phrase more sharply when needed . . . It is an exquisite programme . . . Their ensemble is fabulously supple . . .

Helen Wallace, BBC Music Magazine (London) / 01. January 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wigmore Hall Recital (Audio CD)
Maria Joao Pires is a genius piano player and this cd reminds me of the times I have seen her at the Wigmore Hall. One is completely spellbound by her exquisite playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars concert going, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wigmore Hall Recital (Audio CD)
the recording was excellent it was like being at the concert- this is the best I have heard of the Arpeggione sonata
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maria Joao Pires, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wigmore Hall Recital (Audio CD)
This is a magical recital with playing and artistry of the highest level. Pure enjoyment fom first note to last !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wigmore Hall Recital (Audio CD)
A memento of a truly memorable recital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Precious Interpretations, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wigmore Hall Recital (Audio CD)
Dear Sir , the music is performed by unusual artists who belong to a superior level of inspiration .
It is a delightfull moment of elevation and reflection to listen to it .Congratulations to all involved . I used to live in London and The Wigmore Hall is a very familiar and loved place .
The Manager was William Lynne a person I admire and should he still be managing the Hall I would like to get in touch with him
Best wishes from Brasil .
Eduard Maldus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good recording, 7 Dec. 2013
By 
Mrs. K. Morley (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wigmore Hall Recital (Audio CD)
This item cam very quickly and was well packaged so that there was no question of damage. It is a good recording and a useful addition to our CD collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wigmore Hall Recital
The Wigmore Hall Recital by António Meneses (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews