Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and surprising
This books feels like a mix of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. The humour is dry in places and down right bizarre in others but that's what gives this book its charm.

I found this book fulfilling and very much worth the read.

Only thing I recommend is to push through the first few pages, the story doesn't grip you right at the start, but pushing...
Published 3 months ago by Andy

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
What a terrible book, abandoned after 10% read.
Published 16 days ago by JULIAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and surprising, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greegs & Ladders: A Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, Time Travel, Satire, Comedy, Sci-Fi Parody, Free Ebook Novel Thing (Kindle Edition)
This books feels like a mix of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. The humour is dry in places and down right bizarre in others but that's what gives this book its charm.

I found this book fulfilling and very much worth the read.

Only thing I recommend is to push through the first few pages, the story doesn't grip you right at the start, but pushing through this initial barrier is worth it for what is a very well written and enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HHGTTG, amost!, 8 Sep 2013
This review is from: Greegs & Ladders: A Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, Time Travel, Satire, Comedy, Sci-Fi Parody, Free Ebook Novel Thing (Kindle Edition)
strange, mad, quirky but very funny and with deep insight into human behavior which most will recognise but wish they didnt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greegs & Ladders: A Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, Time Travel, Satire, Comedy, Sci-Fi Parody, Free Ebook Novel Thing (Kindle Edition)
What a terrible book, abandoned after 10% read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Greegs and Ladders, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greegs & Ladders: A Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, Time Travel, Satire, Comedy, Sci-Fi Parody, Free Ebook Novel Thing (Kindle Edition)
I tried to stick with this book but unfortunately it didn't seem to go anywhere and that lasted for too many pages. I found it to be more of a descriptive narrative of things or creatures on a planet with no story. Another thing that was irritating was and I quote
"one of the 11 planets containing wriggly, walky, breathy things in the hopeless, undeveloped but reasonably entertaining to look at from a safe distance sun sytem of the 38 planets in the 59 sunned district of Herb". Personally, I think the writer needed to fill some pages in rapid succession and I found the above written a lot; which was very annoying and not even remotely amusing.
I was not impressed and basically did not carry on reading this book. Not my kind of book when the story seems to be missing entirely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greegs & Ladders: A Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, Time Travel, Satire, Comedy, Sci-Fi Parody, Free Ebook Novel Thing (Kindle Edition)
couldnt get past the first chapter too little to keep me intereted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a curate's egg, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greegs & Ladders: A Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, Time Travel, Satire, Comedy, Sci-Fi Parody, Free Ebook Novel Thing (Kindle Edition)
This book reminded me of the quote about Wagner having beautiful moments but bad quarter hours. It could be great, but is in serious need of an editor.

In fact, I very nearly gave up during the *eleven chapters* of exposition at the beginning (eleven!), but in the end was glad I didn't, because there's some brilliant, snappy dialogue in here ("Why don't you introduce us too?" "Because you aren't famous." "How can we hope to get famous if you don't mention us in front of large groups of people?" "True," said Rip as he pointed at Wilx and Krimshaw. "And these are some people I happen to know.").

I could also do without the politics. I think I'm probably in a minority here, since a lot of people seem to have found the political bits clever and funny. Personally, I soon learned to spot them coming and fast-forwarded through; you might quite like them.

Overall, there was enough good stuff to keep me reading, but a good editor could turn this from an OK book into a wonderful one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars repetative drivel, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greegs & Ladders: A Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, Time Travel, Satire, Comedy, Sci-Fi Parody, Free Ebook Novel Thing (Kindle Edition)
i struggeled through the first 8 chapters of this trash and then gave up. its not funny and repeats itself far to often
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a book to avoid., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greegs & Ladders: A Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, Time Travel, Satire, Comedy, Sci-Fi Parody, Free Ebook Novel Thing (Kindle Edition)
i gave it a fair chance as i did work through to just over 50% of the book. far too much repetition of practically everything. if not for that the book would have only covered about a third of what it did.
if they had stayed within one or two aspects of the genre it may have appealed more ,but as it is i found it very boring,totally losing itself as the pages rolled on, to see the same paragraphs battering my senses and having to check that i had gone to a different page.
for all that , i am sure that there will be somebody out there that will approve of this book, personally i'm not sure where, but i am loath to finish the second half of this missal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly inventive, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Robert Bainbridge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greegs & Ladders: A Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, Time Travel, Satire, Comedy, Sci-Fi Parody, Free Ebook Novel Thing (Kindle Edition)
Great book - easy to read and very cleverly done! A potential classic of the future that will appeal to many
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greegs & Ladders: A Science Fiction, Fantasy, Adventure, Time Travel, Satire, Comedy, Sci-Fi Parody, Free Ebook Novel Thing (Kindle Edition)
it was a mental wordy trip through space and time quite existential but filled with good jokes and ideas a bit like the work of Douglas Adams I loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews