Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING READING!!!
Mr Cox has long been one of my favourite Star Trek writers. One of his earlier efforts - ASSIGNMENT ETERNITY - is considered by many to be a classic. Consequently i have been salivating in anticipation of this book's release.

The book opens with a diplomatic mission with Kirk and Commissioner Santiago to the planet Yusub, with the aim of promoting a path for...
Published 14 months ago by Greggorio!

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars weak!
A somewhat contrived story almost like put characters from every star trek series into a hat and pick two out.
Published 13 months ago by Kindle Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING READING!!!, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Greggorio! (Amazing Australia) - See all my reviews
Mr Cox has long been one of my favourite Star Trek writers. One of his earlier efforts - ASSIGNMENT ETERNITY - is considered by many to be a classic. Consequently i have been salivating in anticipation of this book's release.

The book opens with a diplomatic mission with Kirk and Commissioner Santiago to the planet Yusub, with the aim of promoting a path for potential membership of the Federation. Things soon go awry, with duplicity and betrayal by parties unknown, and Kirk's life is saved by - of all people - Seven Of Nine when she appears on the scene just in time. It takes a while for the book to explain to the reader how this was managed - four chapters to be precise - but the story telling contained within this part of the book is highly entertaining (in many ways) and full of memories for long term fans of both arms of the world famous science fiction franchise.

By the start of chapter five, the reader knows as much about what is going on as does Kirk, Spock, McCoy and Seven. I will say no more of the plot so as to protect future readers. But it certainly is fascinating and is well worth your money.

The book is relatively long for a star trek novel at almost 400 pages and is a complex read. The characterisation is excellent and obviously emotional attachment is a given. The plot is outstanding as i have already said. Humour has a strong role to play in the book, too. Overall I give this story four stars.

Looking forward to more books from Mr Cox!

BFN Greggorio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good fun thriller, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
I'm not normally a reader of novels from The Original Series line, but seeing as this is a crossover with Voyager I made an exception, and wasn't disappointed. The story sees Seven of Nine thrown back in time where she meets up with Captain Kirk, and together they have to save the timeline from damage.

The first thing I noticed was that the style adopted by Cox is quite different from that used in the 24th Century novels. It's more relaxed, more casual - almost jokey. This fits well with the original series setting and characters, and there are a number of in-jokes that I spotted, and doubtlessly more that I missed.

The plot is a fulfilling thriller as the characters encounter a lot of obstacles, and in doing so Cox makes reference to several episodes I recognised from the TV series, and some earlier novels, some of which I was barely familiar with, but for which there was enough background given for me to get the gist.

So the book is really just a vehicle to get two characters together, and unlike the TNG-era novels I've been reading recently adds little to Trek as a whole, but it's good fun and I've really enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An 'epic' tale? Almost, but not quite.., 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: No Time Like the Past (Kindle Edition)
This book describes itself as an epic crossover tale. I would certainly agree with the last two words but ‘epic’? I think that’s overstating it a bit. Entertaining, certainly; engrossing – yes, if you can overlook a couple of minor flaws (of which more in a moment). My definition of ‘epic’ is something more, a story or stories that have a major influence on the timeline. Something more like the "Destiny" or "Fall" series. Those were gamechangers…
Anyway, semantics aside, I did enjoy this book. Ever since Spock made an appearance in the reunification episodes of TNG, the Trek writers have been looking for ways to bring the ‘old’ and ‘new’ characters together and this is another example of this genre. It was enjoyable revisiting certain memorable episodes of TOS, albeit at different points in each timeline, with the added interest of a physically deteriorating Seven of Nine present (no Borg alcoves back then!)
Now to the first of my niggles. Without giving too much away, much of the narrative is set during Kirk’s era and involves traveling to places that TOS crew had been before, to retrieve artifacts left by another character. This person had spread a number of these all over the Alpha quadrant, but then for no obvious reason had traveled tens of thousands of light years to leave just one in the Delta quadrant, where it is happened upon by Voyager, during its original journey there. It just seems to me that if this person truly wanted to scatter the artifacts around the Galaxy (to make them harder to find and assemble together) then surely they would have included places in the Beta and Gamma quadrants as well. Perhaps I am just being pedantic.
Second niggle. Once Kirk and his senior crew have accepted Seven’s presence and her story as genuine (a bit too easily in my view) they then wholeheartedly embrace the concept of the Temporal Prime Directive and go well out of their way to avoid polluting the timeline by revealing Seven’s presence to anyone else, or using her knowledge of the future for their own era’s benefit. Whilst laudable, this seems to go against character at least so far as Kirk is concerned, as he has on a number of occasions had few qualms about time travel, or interacting with characters from another era. Had they even heard about the TPD back then???
Anyway, moans over. Ignore these and this was an entertaining read. There was a slight element of ‘press the reset button’ at the end as all the alternative timelines presumably just ‘disappeared’ (as they tend to do in such circumstances), but I guess this was to be expected given the nature of the story. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. C. Finlayson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: No Time Like the Past (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was interesting to have the old and the newer characters together in the same book. I think it worked very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Borg date for Kirk?, 31 Aug. 2014
By 
Seven of 9, in the series Voyager. Finds herself back in the time of James T Kirk and his five year mission. It starts off as it means to go on. Separate chapters define the story, from many angles. There is a plot twist at the end which as been done, sorry about the pun, time and again. If you enjoy twists and turns I would suggest you should watch. The Flipside of Dommink Hyde. I've always wanted to read a back of a book first, then the start and then the middle. Don't with this book. As it's time travel it will do it for you and take you on a roller coaster ride. While you count how many red shirts get zapped along the way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: No Time Like the Past (Kindle Edition)
Good story. Nice use of TOS original story lines. Seven of nine fits in well on the NCC1701. More like this please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A jolly good time travel romp., 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: No Time Like the Past (Kindle Edition)
Nothing like a Star Trek mixup, especially when the classic and new TV series clash.

Well written, a good plot, Orion slave Girl! And time travel galore. And all the classic characters doing what they do best.

And "Anneka 7", does she know Gary? All will be revealed.

Well recommended, just buy it, read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A quest though Star Trek History with 7th of Nine., 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: No Time Like the Past (Kindle Edition)
In a journey from the Delta Quadrant to The original 5 year Mission of USE Enterprise 7Th of 9 goes on a quest to get back to the future. Adding to that are images of world's seen in the original Series and space outstretched is fantastic tale for all Star Trek Fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars another great st book by a greg cox, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: No Time Like the Past (Kindle Edition)
The wrighter is clearly a true st fan and is able to put all the little details in his storys that link all the good st books together , by that i mean the humour and the way he is able to pull bits from past episodes and other sources . In the same way that the clasic st authers do like ac cripsen dc fontana and diane dunane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Voyager meets the original series, 17 May 2014
By 
M. Field (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: No Time Like the Past (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this as someone who was brought up with the original series and loved Voyager as an adult. The book involved the Enterprise revisiting old planets that had been in the old series which was a really nice touch. An engaging and interesting story, I would read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews