Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars167
4.9 out of 5 stars
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2013
Having watched Morse and Lewis again and again I had doubts if "Endeavour" as a going back to a young and vulnerable "Morse" would work. And work it does! Shaun Evans is utterly convincing as a young Morse. There are frequent flashbacks (car, music, Max the pathologist etc.) and the settings - in particular the 1960s as a period - make it a pleasure to "look back". And, as a premium, the picture quality of the DVDs is really good!
I now hope that there will be further episodes to follow.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
I meant to buy these DVDs much earlier, but somehow never got around to it. The latest re-run on ITV3 of this brilliant series galvanised me into action - and what a bargain they are. There is absolutely nothing to criticise here - excellent story-lines (something that personally I always struggled with as far as the Lewis sequels to the incomparable Morse episodes are concerned), top-class acting and beautiful filming. The links between the well-known Morse characters and their own youthful personas are handled in a most accomplished manner. Well done to ITV for producing this top-notch series that can be unequivocally recommended to the discerning viewer and which will undoubtedly find favour with generations to come. One can only hope that the second series now in production will be every bit as good.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
I think that this is even better than the Morse series with its carefully crafted characters and story lines stands alone without the original series
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Instantly recognisable as a young Morse, ‘Endeavour’ has gorgeous dates who turn out to be the villains, the (not yet) vintage Jag, the eternally vintage music, Max the pathologist and some truly beautiful visual evocations of sixties Oxford. For this is 1965 and Morse is a couple of years into his career in the police force having failed his Oxford University degree and done a spell in the army. Shaun Evans is an altogether better Morse. Perhaps because he isn’t carrying the considerable baggage of ‘you’re nicked’ Detective Inspector Jack Regan.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
What a find. Need have no concern that this would be a poor imitation of Morse. Beautifully produced with cracking plots and hints of the Morse to come without trying to be just the same. Caught series two on TV and hope there will be a series three soon.

A must have...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
A great surprise. Being Inspector Morse's fan, I was caught from the pilot episode. No one should miss it. Awaiting for the next season.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
As a huge fan of John Thaw's "Morse", I approached "Endeavour" with a degree of trepidation. Didn't need to worry, as "Endeavour" is a very classy affair, with wonderful performances by Shaun Evans and Roger Allam, and delightful but understated nods to the original "Morse". Sometimes it's a bit of a stretch to imagine Shaun Evan's young copper growing up to be the curmudgeonly, world weary Inspector. This is a very young, vulnerable and inexperienced Morse, who from the start is already a fish out of water, alienating himself from his colleagues with his intellectual arrogance and seemingly outlandish ideas. The familiar stubbornness, contempt for the academic elite and uneasy dealings with other members of the police force are well drawn. The roots of his alcoholism, hatred of the Masons and doomed relationships with women darkly foreshadowed. We are reminded why Morse is such a complex and interesting character. By contrast Allam's Thursday is a solid family man; steady, experienced, moral, and reliable - the perfect mentor for young Endeavour. Oxford looks gorgeous as always; lots of stunning roof top shots of the colleges and meticulous period detail. The intricate and gripping plots kept me engaged throughout. If anything, the second series is even better than the first. After the shock ending, surely they have to make a third series. Fingers crossed!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
We are very happy with this collection from the pilot and episodes of Series 1. Beautifully filmed in Oxford, Sean Evans is amazing as the young, shy , brilliant Morse. Roger Allam is masterly in his role as Morse's chief as well as the other characters, Strange and Bright. Definitely a must for Morse fans.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
I never saw this when it was first shown on TV and having seen the first episode of Season 2 decided to get it. I am glad that I did. The pilot and First Season are better than Season Two (which is still very good). Shaun Evans and Roger Allam are both fantastic in their respective roles. And the recreation of 1960s Oxford is extremely accurate. Add in some really sharp scripts and you have an excellent show. Very pleasantly surprised.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
A fabulous prequal to the Inspector Morse series. Attention to detail is extremely faithful, and developement of the characters in comparison to the original is particularly strong, Fine acting by the two main characters and good all round performances by the rest of the cast make this a completely enjoyable experience to afficianados of the genre and the main character.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)