Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected!
Having watched Morse and Lewis again and again I had doubts if "Endeavour" as a going back to a young and vulnerable "Morse" would work. And work it does! Shaun Evans is utterly convincing as a young Morse. There are frequent flashbacks (car, music, Max the pathologist etc.) and the settings - in particular the 1960s as a period - make it a pleasure to "look back". And,...
Published 8 months ago by Volker Knopp

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Faulty batch???
I ordered this DVD and received it promptly. About 2 minutes into the DVD it froze. I checked for damage to the disc but could find nothing. I contacted Amazon and they efficiently replaced it. HOWEVER, when I inserted the replacement disc it froze at exactly the same place. I can only assume it is part of a faulty batch. I tried it in another player and this time it...
Published 2 months ago by adamclo


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected!, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched Morse and Lewis again and again I had doubts if "Endeavour" as a going back to a young and vulnerable "Morse" would work. And work it does! Shaun Evans is utterly convincing as a young Morse. There are frequent flashbacks (car, music, Max the pathologist etc.) and the settings - in particular the 1960s as a period - make it a pleasure to "look back". And, as a premium, the picture quality of the DVDs is really good!
I now hope that there will be further episodes to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!!, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A great surprise. Being Inspector Morse's fan, I was caught from the pilot episode. No one should miss it. Awaiting for the next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless - the next generation will enjoy just as much, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I meant to buy these DVDs much earlier, but somehow never got around to it. The latest re-run on ITV3 of this brilliant series galvanised me into action - and what a bargain they are. There is absolutely nothing to criticise here - excellent story-lines (something that personally I always struggled with as far as the Lewis sequels to the incomparable Morse episodes are concerned), top-class acting and beautiful filming. The links between the well-known Morse characters and their own youthful personas are handled in a most accomplished manner. Well done to ITV for producing this top-notch series that can be unequivocally recommended to the discerning viewer and which will undoubtedly find favour with generations to come. One can only hope that the second series now in production will be every bit as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a cut above the rest, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I think that this is even better than the Morse series with its carefully crafted characters and story lines stands alone without the original series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endeavor inspires, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
We are very happy with this collection from the pilot and episodes of Series 1. Beautifully filmed in Oxford, Sean Evans is amazing as the young, shy , brilliant Morse. Roger Allam is masterly in his role as Morse's chief as well as the other characters, Strange and Bright. Definitely a must for Morse fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENDEAVOUR SERIES ONE, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
What a find. Need have no concern that this would be a poor imitation of Morse. Beautifully produced with cracking plots and hints of the Morse to come without trying to be just the same. Caught series two on TV and hope there will be a series three soon.

A must have...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'You're nicked', 6 May 2014
By 
Hamish Adam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Instantly recognisable as a young Morse, ‘Endeavour’ has gorgeous dates who turn out to be the villains, the (not yet) vintage Jag, the eternally vintage music, Max the pathologist and some truly beautiful visual evocations of sixties Oxford. For this is 1965 and Morse is a couple of years into his career in the police force having failed his Oxford University degree and done a spell in the army. Shaun Evans is an altogether better Morse. Perhaps because he isn’t carrying the considerable baggage of ‘you’re nicked’ Detective Inspector Jack Regan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endeavour - Young Morse, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having all of Morse DVD's we just had to order Endevour as well. Very pleased With the series. Can recommend this for Morse and Lewis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shaun Evans - Brilliant!, 2 Aug 2014
By 
Paul Evans (Wolverhampton, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I never really paid much attention when the series was first shown on television. Because I'd been such a fan of John Thaw as Inspector Morse, I didn't think that Endeavour would be anywhere as near as good. How wrong I was, Shaun Evans is brilliant as the young Morse. The storylines are excellent and cleverly fill in the details of the detectives life that explain why he came to be like he was when portrayed by John Thaw as an Inspector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A prequel that is as good as the series it precedes, 21 July 2014
By 
Mr. Jn Pappas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I never saw this when it was first shown on TV and having seen the first episode of Season 2 decided to get it. I am glad that I did. The pilot and First Season are better than Season Two (which is still very good). Shaun Evans and Roger Allam are both fantastic in their respective roles. And the recreation of 1960s Oxford is extremely accurate. Add in some really sharp scripts and you have an excellent show. Very pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD]
Endeavour - Pilot Film & Series 1 [DVD] by Shaun Evans (DVD - 2013)
12.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews