Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The decade that taste forgot?
Tell you what, the clothes and hairdos might be embarrassing now but my goodness these singles stick in the memory. That's something that can't be said about today's tracks eh? I must admit that I probably only bought about a third of these tracks either as singles or on albums when they first came out, thinking that the rest were a bit rubbish (e.g. Wham). However,...
Published 14 months ago by Big Jim

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Is Remastering Killing The Compilation?'
This set has a fantastic selection of popular 80's tracks and with 4 CD's for your money it is also good value for the asking price. The snag, however, as is all too common an occurrence these days is that the remastering job has in a lot of cases either 'remastered the 80's out of the track' to the extent that the track sounds like a re-record or has maxed out the volume...
Published 13 months ago by Antony May


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The decade that taste forgot?, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The 80S (Audio CD)
Tell you what, the clothes and hairdos might be embarrassing now but my goodness these singles stick in the memory. That's something that can't be said about today's tracks eh? I must admit that I probably only bought about a third of these tracks either as singles or on albums when they first came out, thinking that the rest were a bit rubbish (e.g. Wham). However, having grown rose tinted ears over the past few years, and with the benefit of hindsight(hindhearing?) I have to say that I remember every one of these songs and the artists and the dodgy videos and the even dodgier TOTP appearances and love them all. Of course this is just the latest in a long line of 80's compilations but for me it is amongst the best - at least as it impacts on my memories.

Poptastic Mate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 80S (Audio CD)
when i am working on nights they play the 80s all night and some the songs are great and now i can listen to them as much as i want to now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of classic 80s tunes, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 80S (Audio CD)
Really good selection of classic 80s tunes....cheesy by great!! Good for the car and taking you back to your youth!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Is Remastering Killing The Compilation?', 7 Sep 2013
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 80s (MP3 Download)
This set has a fantastic selection of popular 80's tracks and with 4 CD's for your money it is also good value for the asking price. The snag, however, as is all too common an occurrence these days is that the remastering job has in a lot of cases either 'remastered the 80's out of the track' to the extent that the track sounds like a re-record or has maxed out the volume and wiped out any dynamic range. The sound here has a generally echoey tone to it and while tracks like 'Don't You Want Me' by The Human League or 'Smalltown Boy ' by Bronski Beat seem unaffected by it other tracks simply sound as if the artist is booming away vocally in a cave. The cavernous - set the vocal apart - sound of this compilation is best/worst served by 'Don't You Forget (About Me)' by Simple Minds. Jim Kerr sounds as if he is right next to you singing while the female backing vocals are much more prominent in the mix than they were on the original single. While the remixer would say (correctly) in his defense that he has only 'brought out of the original mix elements previously buried' the point is that most people who remember these classic songs from the time want them to sound how they remembered them!

Another dire sounding track is the opener, 'The Reflex' by Duran Duran. It always was a 'busy' song but now it sounds as if the sound fades in and out in a desperate attempt to make the thing work. It reminds me of the 70's technique of 'phasing' which was used to deliberately distort the vocal. I suppose what it boils down to is how much about the original 7" versions of these songs you remember? I was after all a D.J. at the time and so have heard these songs hundreds of times over. For me though, compilations today are becoming 'no go areas' because of poor remastering and I would only advise you to buy this if you do not own many of the originals, was not a fanatical music lover back in the day and are simply looking for something to remind you of your youth.

Is remastering killing the compilation? On this evidence I would say yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 80, 11 Aug 2013
This review is from: The 80s (MP3 Download)
Brilliant 80 fantastic tracks took me right back in time the best various 80s album for a long time great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the 80s compilations, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 80S (Audio CD)
I think this is the best 80s compilation CD I have come across. There is music across the genres. The 80s look may have been naff but the music was brilliant. Buy and bop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80;s, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 80S (Audio CD)
i loved these cd's it takes me back to the time i loved the best ,great cd would reccomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 80S (Audio CD)
Great CD love it, brings back memories of the 80's would recommend, well packaged and very fast delivery as is always the case with amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Oct 2013
This review is from: The 80S (Audio CD)
Pretty good cd if you like the 80s. Good value for money however cd4 not the best in my opinion. Few 80s classics missing for me to rate this higher. As always print delivery and well packaged/ priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. S. L. Elliott "Humming Bird" (Stamford, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 80S (Audio CD)
You hear a tune and you can recall a memory or where you were when you first you heard it. This is what this cd does to me. The variety of music is great and I love listening this when I'm working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 80S
The 80S by Various (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews