Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a piece of work
Watched this on a flight from San Francisco,and have never seen a film like it.Truly made it's mark on me. Based on the Snow White fairytale,it is beautiful and mesmerising,emotional,and oh so clever. It is a silent film,with subtitles,but this only adds ,and does not detract from the brilliance that is this movie.Six stars worth for me really.
Published 11 months ago by S.Penney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd but virtuoso
Very good movie, both dramatic and ironical. Two wonderful actresses and mise en scène of stunning virtuosity.
The BD encoding seems not at the top, with b/w that turns to green.
Published 1 month ago by mario tedeschi turco


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a piece of work, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blancanieves (Region 2) (DVD)
Watched this on a flight from San Francisco,and have never seen a film like it.Truly made it's mark on me. Based on the Snow White fairytale,it is beautiful and mesmerising,emotional,and oh so clever. It is a silent film,with subtitles,but this only adds ,and does not detract from the brilliance that is this movie.Six stars worth for me really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blancavieves, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiful film with wonderful cinematography, it has drama, humour, pathos and much more. There are dark moments, but overall the story is tender and uplifting. The characterisations and performances are exceptional. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, silent, adult re-telling of "Snow White", 9 May 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blancanieves (Region B) (Blu-ray)
The professional reviews for this were so ecstatic that I may have been
a bit over-hyped, and felt a twinge of disappointment in seeing it,
which is not to say I didn't quite enjoy it

Entertaining and beautifully made, this is another modern black & while
silent film, this one an adult re-telling of the Snow White myth.
There's no denying the technical virtuosity on display, and the ways
that film-maker Berger finds to update the tale to Spain in the 1920s,
center the story around bullfighting, and still stay true to the
original story are clever and sometimes very amusing.

What was missing for me was a deeper layer of emotion. I appreciated
and respected the film, but it was too much a fairy tale for me to
believe in it, yet too real for me to be carried away into a fantasy.
That said, it's good enough that I will gladly re-visit it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long siesta, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Black and White silent film based on a fairy tale....ho hum.

But as Bettelheim noted in his work on the meaning of fairy tales, they contain some vivid truths about the real world, whilst wrapped up in the paper of fantasy. However this film is no fantasy, as the story appears somewhat real, making the transition from a little bedtime story for children, which if reflected upon was somewhat nightmarish, to something stark and depressing in its depictions of "child cruelty."

When Grimm copied the story and later marketed it, the underlying nature of what they were finding was an everyday world where children were naturally beaten, starved and killed by malevolent adults, some of whom were relatives, parents or friends. Yesteryear children were not so much nurtured as tolerated. The sense of loving was a modern invention. This story is about the wicked stepmother and the deep hatred she has for her step daughter and how she wants to colonise her fammilies soul. It has many similarities with the Anne Cooper Hewitt case in the USA for example and well worth looking this up.

Steeped in the harsh blanco noir worlds of 1920's Spain, dominated by the fetish for killing bulls as mass entertainment, the hangover from the Roman Empire, this backdrop also towers over this story. It is about the world of connections and emotions but with a dark undercurrent running throughout, touching upon S&M.

Filmed in homage to the early silent films, but do not be put off, as the acting over rides the somewhat ham acting of the era, to display a natural sheen where the silent is no longer resoundingly evident. Instead the soundtrack takes precedence along with the cinematic photography.

This is startling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Lynne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It took a few minutes to get into the format of this film. It was cleverly done. I liked it very much. As the title says - Snow White but with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great family film, 23 Aug 2013
The greatest adaptation of Snow White I've ever seen, and the best family film since.. Spirited Away? Babe? Muppets Christmas Carol? no, better.. When you start comparing it to other family films you realise how light most of them are. This one is silent and black and white, I was sceptical of this at first because I don't understand why modern silent films have to be B&W and set in the 20's, let's have some colour and contemporary stories in silence please? But this suits the fairy tale aura of it. And it's dark, grim even. Most of the characters we're introduced to at the start are dead half way through, love goes unfulfilled, it has bullfighting, and the most problematic part of the Snow White story - the kiss by a suitable man (who's willing to take advantage of a sleeping girl) to wake her up - is given a lovely twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silent Movie, 30 Mar 2013
By 
B. KELLY "eclectic chick" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blancanieves (Region 2) (DVD)
This is a modern silent black and white movie a la "The Artist". Based on the Grimm Bros fairy tale of Snow White, but set in Spain and the world of bullfighting. An hour and a half of totally engrossing movie, superb acting and with a quite unexpected ending.

I saw it in the cinema so can't comment on the DVD only the film itself which I loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A familiar story retold...beautifully, 9 Jun 2014
By 
This modern, that is set in the 1920's, filmed in Black & White and is a silent film, retelling of the Snow White (Blancanieves) is a gem. Superbly capturing the feel of early film making, storytelling & characterisation. The two main female leads, Maribel Verdú & Macarena García are perfectly cast. The music score is excellent and evocative, adding to the suspense and drama. See it and you will rememer it. A modern reinvention that supercedes earlier versions of this tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Odd but virtuoso, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blancanieves (Region B) (Blu-ray)
Very good movie, both dramatic and ironical. Two wonderful actresses and mise en scène of stunning virtuosity.
The BD encoding seems not at the top, with b/w that turns to green.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFULLY SHOT, 13 April 2014
A clever spin which is beautifully shot in black and white and well acted. Its a delight from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blancanieves [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import]
Blancanieves [Blu-ray] [2012] [US Import] by Pablo Berger (Blu-ray - 2013)
17.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews