Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh, enthusiastic and highly readable.
This book should be banned. Were it on paper then it should be burned. Why? Because it is an engaging, charming, enthusiastic and positive account of settling into a life on England’s canals and that is not the sort of thought that we want put into the minds of the dreary, droning, investment banker, social worker, property-developer, gentrifying classes. So look,...
Published 6 months ago by The Diesel-Electric Elephant C...

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars book
Good start from a budding writer. Dan writes with humility, and his enthusiasm shines through. I hope that he can developed his zest for writing and give up a job that pays minimum wage, and only serves to make one feel used. Good luck Dan.
His YouTube channel is also worth looking at.
Published 13 months ago by andrew


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh, enthusiastic and highly readable., 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Narrowboat Lad (Kindle Edition)
This book should be banned. Were it on paper then it should be burned. Why? Because it is an engaging, charming, enthusiastic and positive account of settling into a life on England’s canals and that is not the sort of thought that we want put into the minds of the dreary, droning, investment banker, social worker, property-developer, gentrifying classes. So look, if anyone asks, the canals are dark, covered in the bloodied-black dust of Victorian industry and populated by primitive, simian types with calloused knuckles that drag in the water as they head from Stygian tunnel to tunnel. The last thing we want is books such as this one, describing life on the canals as appealing, human, practical and enjoyable...

This is not a book of technicalities. It is not an instruction manual. It IS an account of the emotional and social changes that come with life aboard a tin bucket drifting up and down a drainage ditch or two, and most especially the changes that come if the bucket is your first home. This is as much a coming-of-age tale as it is about canals. If you read this book from that perspective then you’ll find yourself right there, alongside the author as he rejoices in pootling through countryside at a snail’s pace, when he panics when faced with novel set-backs and as he triumphs by overcoming them.

Buy this book if you’re looking for a well-written taste of life practical, everyday life afloat with all of the adventures that this entails. Buy this book if you’ve ever been stranded miles from home and family. Buy this book if you remember the chuckle that came with your first meal in your first home. Buy this book if you’ve ever developed cojones enough to leap into an unfamiliar world yourself and kick life into shape. Don’t buy this book if you’re expecting dry tables of costs or a dreary manual explaining the differences between the pointy end, the blunt end and exactly what to do with the pump-out hose.

The author’s style is fresh, enthusiastic and to use the modern term, highly readable. Unlike some other reviewers, I didn’t trip headlong over grammatical errors. The book can be read in a single sitting of a couple of hours. There is refreshingly not a whit of profanity in this book, no religioun and no politics. It is accessible to all ages. I am glad that I read it, and I am looking forward to enjoying the author’s other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great first book Dan !, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Narrowboat Lad (Kindle Edition)
I've been following Dan's antics on YouTube for some time now. It has been fascinating and inspiring watching his new life afloat develop. So much so, I have taken up living aboard a narrowboat myself.
This book is a delightful insight into a completely inexperienced boater taking to life afloat. His honesty is refreshing, with the experience he has gained he could quite easily have left out embarrassing cock ups made in his first year, thankfully he didn't.
Anybody considering life afloat should read this book, and even if your not, read it any way, it's a real treat to come across someone so young who has seen the rat race for what it is and chosen an alternative way of life.

Good luck Dan, I really enjoyed this book, Warren Rhodes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great insight into the beginnings of narrowboat life., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Narrowboat Lad (Kindle Edition)
This book was an enjoyable and inspiring short read. It's great to hear about Dan's transformation into life aboard Tilly, and becoming an adult as he says. I really got a feel for the nerves and anticipation on that first big journey after buying the boat. Dan was thrown in at the deep end you might say.

I've been watching Dan's videos and listening to his podcasts for a while now. Those, with this book really just confirm my own desire to live on a narrowboat. I have also been wishing for a life aboard, for far too many years now, and one day I shall embark on my own journey on the canals and rivers...

..Until that day comes I will keep watching Dan's videos and reading his books to get my small dose of narrowboat life.

Thanks Dan!
Chris 'DonnyOutdoors' Donohoe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Narrowboat Lad (Kindle Edition)
If you follow Dan in YouTube then you probably already own this book, if you don't follow him but are interested in Narrow boat life then I have to say this is the book for you. It's a true look in to the life of Dan and his adventures aboard Tilly his ups and downs the pros and cons and just generally a great read about how a young man has done the wise thing and saved for years and got himself a hassle free serene life, we would all love to be mortgage free and live life not worrying about the constrains money has on us all, and Dan has took the right approach and made his life so much better. Good on him you can just feel his joy in this book and on his YouTube Channel, and I'm looking forward to the next read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, short read, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Narrowboat Lad (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to read about Dan's boat-collection expedition, having watched his youtube vids.
You get more detail (and quite a lot of emotion) about the journey. It's not a huge thing, and so
can be read in an evening. Made me get the OS map up on the screen to see his route ! Good
luck with your narrowboating life Dan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE NARROWBOAT LAD, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Narrowboat Lad (Kindle Edition)
great well worth a read.*** great story of a young lad learning the ropes on his first boat and how hard it is to use the locks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living the dream, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant follow up to the first book, but can be read on its own. An insight into canal life, that is perfectly pitched, and well written. Read In one go, really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Narrowboat Lad (Kindle Edition)
Great book and very good value !! Best money I've spent with a fantastic insight into narrowboat life .
Thank you Dan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommend, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Narrowboat Lad (Kindle Edition)
Thanks to Dan for letting us grab a peek of narrow boat life by sharring such a great book. I will be the first to admit it but I do not normally read. I found this easy reading and so for the first time in 7 years I read somthing for leisure and not because I had too. Can we pre order the next one now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From NB idlewild, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Narrowboat Lad (Kindle Edition)
Delightful short story about the ups and downs of boating . Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of purchasing a boat and living the dream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Narrowboat Lad
The Narrowboat Lad by Daniel Mark Brown
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews