Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars30
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£19.79
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2013
One of the most underrated bands ever, some timeless classics hidden gems & not much dross (Maybe the odd F/F). Buy it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
As someone who gave up on the Style Council around 1987 I was really surprised to find this package was coming out. At the price it is you could now hear Modernism for a fraction of the £70 it was going for a few years ago.
These albums still sound good even if some of the synths sound a bit dated. Our Favourite Shop being the highlight, but, you have to admire the Boys for Confessions as an eclectic piece of work, similar to what Mr Weller came up with from 22 Dreams onwards.
For the money anyone wanting a good overview of the bands output you cannot go wrong. There was more to the Council than albums, the singles were great and the live shows got better, but, this selection shows a a change in the bands path from album to album. Not all of it works, but, when it does it's really good.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
Having been a big Weller fan and early Style Council this collection fills the gaps. I was pleased with the diverse nature of the albums having not heard some of these at all and was pleasantly surprise also. Good value for money. I would recommend to anyone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
This album set covered for me the best years of Paul Weller, with Cafe Bleu as a must have album.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
This is a nice box, with the best price for all STC albuns. Its worth any way, even for me that have it all. This is one the best music you can get in this life. Dont listen to some annoying comments here.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
Such a good price for so much music. The packaging is really nice (as is the same for The Jam Classic Album Selection ), and you get all of The Style Council's albums. To get a true appreciation of Paul Weller's song writing this is an essential collection.

1. Introducing The Style Council
2. Cafe Bleu
3. Our Favourite Shop - a classic IMO
4. The Cost Of Loving
5. Confessions Of A Pop Group
6. Modernism: A New Decade
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
Even if you already own these albums thus is a great buy. Presented well with original artwork - looks great & sounds even better. If you don't own these albums & you haven't heard them before - prepare for an audio treat - great music from one of the most underrated & undervalued bands ever. Possibly Wellers finest few hours on record
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
This box is essential to every good record collection. The Style Council were one of the COOLEST bands of the 80s and still sound so cool & stylish today!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
I bought this box set for a friend for her birthday, I've already had all these albums since there release. Apart from the last one A Decade In Modernism as their record label wouldn't release it and it was after this that Weller parted company with them after 12 years. It was great listening too them again although I must admit I skipped a few tracks on the last couple of albums because the direction of their music wasn't for me. But if you're a fan this is a really nice boxset and a very good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
Well I am such a massive Paul Weller fan!! And the Style Council are my favourite group, They made such great music. And some of there b sides were just as good as there a sides!! so this is a must for any council fan!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.