Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what once was lost, now is found...
I was dreaming of the past, longing for something lost - a little melancony - saudade...
And then I listened to this - reminiscent of Joao Gilberto, Antonio Carlos Jobim in their classic years - cool, relaxed, genuine bossa.
Some of the vocals evocative, delivered with the innocence and allure of Astrud Gilberto.
But this ain't no steal - theft from those...
Published 6 months ago by bohobozo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather pathetic standard of manufacture
I bought this on vinyl . Unplayable because the grooves had been pressed onto the disc off centre/ eccentrically, causing the music to rise a fall in tone each revolution of the disc. Same with the replacement disc. Rather pathetic standard of manufacture. I shall also send this review to the record label.
Published 1 day ago by Redenduro


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what once was lost, now is found..., 14 April 2014
By 
bohobozo - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SAUDADE (Audio CD)
I was dreaming of the past, longing for something lost - a little melancony - saudade...
And then I listened to this - reminiscent of Joao Gilberto, Antonio Carlos Jobim in their classic years - cool, relaxed, genuine bossa.
Some of the vocals evocative, delivered with the innocence and allure of Astrud Gilberto.
But this ain't no steal - theft from those halcyon years, it is a comtemporary take of the genre.
In 'Saudade' - Thievery Corporation have captured the very essence and nuance of authentic bossa nova.
They have made yesterday's music real for today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bossa nova revisited, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SAUDADE (Audio CD)
Thievery corporation has always been on my play list, i own many of their albums. This album is different to their previous releases, the album is quite chilled out and the album is based on the claassic bossa nova style music which i also incidental enjoy, it is a welcome change to there normal up tempo style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Brazilian cool, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SAUDADE (Audio CD)
The corporation never fail to disappoint. Having grown up on Getz and Gilberto this album satisfies the soul, relaxes, hits the emotional centres and sends you to the safe,chilled, golden beaches of Rio. So......Good......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather pathetic standard of manufacture, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SAUDADE [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I bought this on vinyl . Unplayable because the grooves had been pressed onto the disc off centre/ eccentrically, causing the music to rise a fall in tone each revolution of the disc. Same with the replacement disc. Rather pathetic standard of manufacture. I shall also send this review to the record label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, 1 July 2014
By 
J. W. Mckenzie "J" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SAUDADE (Audio CD)
Great cd, very mellow and really enjoy it, have played it many times and still really like it. I have also bought copies for friends thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great deviation from their usual style, 14 Jun 2014
By 
N. Lazaridis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SAUDADE (Audio CD)
I have followed Thievery through the thick and thin and have always liked their work (for the most part). This is though slightly different from their previous releases, as they have turned to the real essence of the Brazilian music but with a touch of contemporary treatment.

You will find some airy tunes (Claridad is my best) and more upbeat ones (e.g. Para Siempre) which sound totally genuine both in terms of their Brazilian origin but also from the production qualities of the Thievery folks.

I have fully assimilated this album and it is among my favourites from the duo as well as a very pleasant summer soundtrack. Fully recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SAUDADE (Audio CD)
It's like taking a wonderful journey across the chic parts of the sunny Mediterranean in a fabulous open top luxury sports car. Soothing sophisticated sounds sung in French and English. Had never heard of the group and came across this on Amazon. I just love it and can't stop playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars makes me look cosmopolitan, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SAUDADE (Audio CD)
really nice frenchy sounding album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well received gift, 23 May 2014
By 
Ms. E. hobbs "no" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SAUDADE (Audio CD)
I have not heard it all as it was a present.My partner says it it really terrific and he has most of the other albums.It was delivered very quickly considering fro the USA and arrived after about 8 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambient perfection, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SAUDADE (Audio CD)
Ambient perfection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SAUDADE
SAUDADE by Thievery Corporation (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews