Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars both refined and essential
Angela Hewitt proves an admirably forthright Faure interpreter in this superb recital of his piano works. I had feared she might take a more delicate approach, but as she says in her own excellent notes: "there is a grace combined with a contained strength behind every note". It strikes me as having a Brahmsian power, but this does not preclude great delicacy in, say...
Published 18 months ago by schumann_bg

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Angela Hewitt's playing is good as always but Faure wrote a lot of better ...
Angela Hewitt's playing is good as always but Faure wrote a lot of better music than this. I found the selection chosen here very disappointing
Published 4 months ago by john young


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars both refined and essential, 4 Sept. 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Faure: Piano Music [Angela Hewitt] [Hyperion: CDA67875] (Audio CD)
Angela Hewitt proves an admirably forthright Faure interpreter in this superb recital of his piano works. I had feared she might take a more delicate approach, but as she says in her own excellent notes: "there is a grace combined with a contained strength behind every note". It strikes me as having a Brahmsian power, but this does not preclude great delicacy in, say variation 6 of the Theme et variations op. 73, where the hands converge from the outer reaches of the keyboard. She launches the work in quite a pithy way, not too pedalled, which is just one facet of a very wide sonority she draws on. The Valses-caprices have high spirits and elegance without ever spilling over into vulgarity. She then gives us three of his most heartfelt nocturnes, ending with the sublime no. 13, whose ineffable poetry she seems to dwell completely within. It makes for a captivating sequence, impossible to better really, and catching Hewitt's wonderful nuances in the most modern, full sound. She ends with the solo version of the Ballade op.19, ensuring that we end on a note of bliss unclouded by some of the feeling of mortality and resignation previously conjured. Let's hope there will be more Faure from this estimable musician in the near future; she may do much to enhance his international standing being one of the most acclaimed of international pianists - one of the very few to champion him, especially at present. The cover is carefully designed and really quite exquisite, featuring Monet's Autumn Effect at Argenteuil: a perfect correspondance to the music and of unsurpassed beauty as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Piano Music [Angela Hewitt] [Hyperion: CDA67875] (Audio CD)
My only previous exposure to Faure's piano music (apart from the theme to Listen with Mother) was going to a recital by Jean-Philippe Collard. Angela Hewitt's playing I already knew from her excellent CDs of Bach and Debussy. I remember hearing someone say that many professionals don't like playing Faure because the listener can think it sounds easy, which it's not.
This disc is everything I'd hoped for - beautiful music beautifully played and well recorded, and well worth the Five Star reviews I've seen in The Sunday Times and BBC Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning disc, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Piano Music [Angela Hewitt] [Hyperion: CDA67875] (Audio CD)
Angela Hewitt is a wonderful pianist and I have several of her discs. These works were unknown to me, so I 'took a chance'. Again, superb playing and interesting and delightful works. So pleased to have made 'new discoveries. Reeatedly played!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine piano music, 13 Feb. 2014
By 
J. G. Vd Warenburg (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Piano Music [Angela Hewitt] [Hyperion: CDA67875] (Audio CD)
This cd deserves recommendation. Angela Hewitt plays gorgeous. Balanced is the word, not too soft, not too rough, with a personal touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 19 Mar. 2014
By 
Philip Chadwick - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Piano Music [Angela Hewitt] [Hyperion: CDA67875] (Audio CD)
Superb performances of a composer just under Schumann and Chopin.
The major work - the variations - is the highlight, I always think that variations pieces are the ones that show up a solid technique and Hewitt has technique in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shoster the coster., 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Piano Music [Angela Hewitt] [Hyperion: CDA67875] (Audio CD)
As is usual Hewitt plays with great sensitivity and articulation.Also I never realised that Faure had such variations in sound which Hewitt clearly shows Absolute joy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Angela Hewitt's playing is good as always but Faure wrote a lot of better ..., 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faure: Piano Music [Angela Hewitt] [Hyperion: CDA67875] (Audio CD)
Angela Hewitt's playing is good as always but Faure wrote a lot of better music than this. I found the selection chosen here very disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews