Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As a work of fiction, it's a good movie.
Okay, so my title might have you wondering what I mean, seeing as how this claims to be based on a true story. Not "inspired" by a true events, but actually based on them. Let me explain the reason for my title before I go into my opinion on the actual movie itself.

So, after watching the film, I had grown to admire the protagonist based on the events she...
Published 20 months ago by Miztress Sophie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MOTIONLESS ABDUCTION FILM
Eden (Jamie Chung) is an Asian born American who is kidnapped and forced into a prostitution ring, being held captive against her will with a group of other young women. It was based on a true story and as such I waited the whole film for her to escape. The action was slow paced. This film is not the exploitation type film that normally accompany this genre, but it wasn't...
Published 12 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As a work of fiction, it's a good movie., 11 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Eden [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, so my title might have you wondering what I mean, seeing as how this claims to be based on a true story. Not "inspired" by a true events, but actually based on them. Let me explain the reason for my title before I go into my opinion on the actual movie itself.

So, after watching the film, I had grown to admire the protagonist based on the events she endured and the way she manipulated the illicit, underground operation. So I thought to myself, this must be one hell of a lady, an inspiration. So I googled Chong Kim, and came up short, all I could find was a couple of interviews with the woman, and a couple of (conflicting) essay style blogs, written by her. Now if the events she claims to be true were indeed just that, true, then there would be an abundance of official reports, investigations, news articles, murder inquiries, etc..... But nothing, nothing but the testimony of a woman who actually seems like she's making most of it up. I don't doubt that SOMETHING happened to her involving forced prostitution, but I seriously doubt a lot of the events are even far fetched versions of the truth, let alone actually true.

So onto the movie.

Like I say, as a work of fiction, ignoring the "based on a true story" tagline, it's a deeply engrossing movie from start to finish. The main actress delivers a stellar performance, I'm aware that she's been in other movies, but this is the first time I have had the pleasure of seeing her in action, and she didn't disappoint. The cast isn't very big, there are quite a few females playing the parts of abducted girls and prostitutes, but their dialogue mainly consists of whimpering and/or crying. The three main people that stick out in the movie for their performances are Eden (Jamie Chung)as our protagonist, Vaughan (Matt O'Leary) as the drug addicted, psychotic, irrational head-counter, employed to keep the girls in line and escort them around to clients, and Bob (Beau Bridges) the dirty cop, running a branch of a global scale human trafficking network. These three actors really bring the whole thing together and make it a movie worth watching.

When it comes to movie violence, I can be a bit of a gore-whore, so I'm never really squeamish or looking away in disgust. With the topic of the movie, and the 18 certificate I expected there to be quite a bit of violence and sex involved, suprisingly it had neither, some suggested violence (first person view of somebody hitting somebody with a baton), some semi-shown violence (man grasping his bleeding groin) and some non-graphic action style violence (shooting people and they fall down dead instantly and silently) but nothing that is shocking. As for sex, there was noting really. Now, sometimes deliberately missing out shocking material for a shocking plot can ruin a movie, for me with Eden, it didn't. It wasn't candy-coated.

There was no real back story on anybody apart from Eden, and a small back story on Vaughan that didn't really go into any detail, but this made sense if the movie is meant to be from Edens point of view, she can only know what she finds out, therefore, so can we. Because of this, we hear of a lot of things that we never get to see, like Dubai for instance.

The end of the film leaves a lot of unanswered questions. Sometimes I like that in a movie, it leaves you wondering, but with Eden there were one or two questions I really wanted answers to (won't spoil anything)and they could have been answered seeing as how Eden survived the ordeal to tell us, so this is why I'm knocking a star off what would have been 5.

If you like the sound of the plot, and don't go into it expecting that it's word-for-word based factual events, you'll enjoy it. It's something I'd watch again with friends if I was bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MOTIONLESS ABDUCTION FILM, 18 May 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eden (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Eden (Jamie Chung) is an Asian born American who is kidnapped and forced into a prostitution ring, being held captive against her will with a group of other young women. It was based on a true story and as such I waited the whole film for her to escape. The action was slow paced. This film is not the exploitation type film that normally accompany this genre, but it wasn't a hard hitting film to bring the problem of forced prostitution to light.

The acting was good, but the film ran in circles. If you took out the profanity and a few near sex scenes, this could have been a Lifetime Film which have yet to find their way into my heart. If you like that Lifetime entertainment and don't mind the spicy language, then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unsettling True Life Tale of abduction and sex trafficking., 10 Nov. 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eden [DVD] (DVD)
Based on a true story `Eden' is about a Korean American girl of nineteen who is abducted one night by a criminal gang and is forced into prostitution. They are aided by a corrupt policeman in the shape of Bob Gault played with the right amount of self righteous, brooding contempt by Beau Bridges. The abductee is Jamie Cheung (actually 30 years old) who had me convinced she was an innocent nineteen year old. The prison master and uber pimp Vaughan is played by an eerily threatening yet at the same time, vulnerable Matt O'Leary in a performance that is full of conviction.

The action takes place at a make shift prison in the desert where these girls are `farmed' out until they are of no use and then its game over. `Eden' is the `stage name' given to Cheung by her captors and she realises that her one avenue of escape and/ or survival is to gain the confidence of her gaolers and become, in all but name, one of them.

This is a surprisingly good film, despite the subject matter there is no gratuitous sex scenes or indeed nudity, it is mostly done off screen or in such a way as to let your imagination do the work, so this is not a soft porn film by any stretch of the imagination.

It is well acted and directed (Megan Griffiths) and tackles a dark and unsettling subject with a lot of care. There are a few plot holes (check out the IMDb page) and some of the on screen antics leave a few questions unanswered, however this is not a history lesson and I feel should be judged as a piece of filmatic entertainment and on that score it rates quite highly indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good film, but did not really make a shocking impact on me personally unliek other similar films., 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eden [DVD] (DVD)
a good film covering a very real if not often seen subject matter. i was hoping the film would be more hard hitting than it was. some films need to be hard hitting to shock you and make you think about it for hours, days or even weeks after watching. sadly this film did not.
it is a good film though and i would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 13 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Eden (DVD)
Enjoyable but a bit too gritty for me, think i might be more of a romcom girl nowadays! Lead actress very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars chilling to think that this goes on!!!, 24 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Eden (Blu-ray)
this film, was rather good indeed, acting was excellent too.
very sad to think that this was based on a true story !
very gripping and raw.
deffo worth watching people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chillingly Real, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Chris Jackets (Hellingly, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eden (Blu-ray)
Human trafficking is big news at the moment with a couple of high profile cases being given a lot of publicity. The horrible truth is that human trafficking is far more common in western society (no idea what is happening in other parts of the world - probably worse) than most people would care to admit. Eden does a good job of highlighting the reached results of this dreadful trade. It also does it with absolute conviction by not being over-sentimental of by resorting to nudity. The small cast are all excellently cast and the direction is tight and to the point: in fact, while you know what will happen in the end, you actually wish the film had spent just a couple of minutes confirming that you are right...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every parent should share this!, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eden [DVD] (DVD)
This is based on a true story. I had seen an interview about the victim and decided to order this as I find human trafficking is around us all. I share it with my daughter and others and think everyone should do the same. Apart from being a true story, the acting and storyline is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scary, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eden [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film. Kept me on my seat. Did not see the twist at the end. Doesn't bear thinking about......scary stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eden [DVD] (DVD)
good dvd great service 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eden [DVD]
Eden [DVD] by Megan Griffiths (DVD - 2013)
£7.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews