Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can you remember?
Can you remember hearing house music for the first time in the late 80s or early 90s? Can you remember waiting for the next big gathering to happen? Can you remember dancing all night with wild abandon, without a care how you looked or if you could dance or not? Can you remember trying to dodge the plod while getting to the next venue, field, warehouse, hanger? Can you...
Published 11 months ago by Alexandra

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars VERY dissapointing
1st cd ok .. the rest rubbish. TV advert sold it to me!! will remember not to do that again
Published 10 months ago by Miss E Rigby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can you remember?, 18 Aug 2013
Can you remember hearing house music for the first time in the late 80s or early 90s? Can you remember waiting for the next big gathering to happen? Can you remember dancing all night with wild abandon, without a care how you looked or if you could dance or not? Can you remember trying to dodge the plod while getting to the next venue, field, warehouse, hanger? Can you remember the excitement in your belly as the traffic got more dense with more ravers heading to the same destination?

Then you might like this album, very, very much.

For those young enough not to have experienced the halcyon days of the second summer of love, let me enlighten you.

Basically we were bored, bored with being skint, bored of being repressed, bored of chintzy nightclubs and stuffy rules, bored of the same old humdrum, but then ecstasy reached our shores, and along with ecstasy and LSD, and some amazing house music coming from the states and at home, and some revolutionaries, a whole new scene was born, Acid House, which evolved into the rave scene, and the rest is history.

We partied until the next day, not just til 6am, but through the next day as well sometimes, remember White Waltham Airfield? Emerging from the darkness all wide eyed and spaced out, and we were very spaced out, drugs were a massive part of the scene, everyone took them, there were casualties inevitably, but most of us came through it unscathed thankfully.

BUt if it wasn't for the music, there would never have been a scene in the first place, the beats were intensified by the ecstasy, and the 303s were warped by the Acid. Vocals of peace, love, togetherness, unity, they were the themes of the day, sweet singalong vocals infused with a musical juxtaposition, with breakbeats being recycled from old, almost forgotten tracks, such as the Amen break from Amen Brother, the seminal piece by The Winstons.

Listening to these tracks now, it is evident that no drugs are needed to enjoy these sounds, i dont take anything like that anymore but i still adore classic house music, and i always will, it was the sound of my youth, in 1988 i was 14 years old and very clued up with acid house music already, thrilled by the emergence of detroit techno, electro infused wizardry which seemed to encapsulate the very essence of LSD perfectly, deep, deep house music.

There wont be many tracks on here that you wont know of, almost all are classics, from Hardcore Uproar, the northern anthem from Together, to that Hacianda classic The Theme - Unique 3, there are just so many tunes here that you will remember fondly, and some you almost forgotten about.

It is now exactly 25 years since that revolution began, twentyfive years! The music has not aged one bit, it still sounds fresh, it still sounds new, it still sounds relevant, and it still moves you, it still jacks your body and makes you do the wriggly worm. Never again will we see such a revolution take place, those unique circumstances during that crucial moment in time were responsible for changing the way we lived, a new generation got wise and desired to seek the truth out for themselves.

There has never been a better time to reflect upon this magical era, now lost to the past but with a flame still flickering in the eyes of everyone who ever went to an all night illegal party and danced and loved and shared and didnt give a toot about what our superiors thought, we were having it large!

Peace - Love - Unity - Respect ☺
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome it's time to dance, 12 Sep 2013
This review is from: Floorfillers Warehouse Party (Audio CD)
Love dance music , each track I'm ready to get my groove on , brilliant for the gym motivated through and through awesome cd love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good CD and tracks, 31 Aug 2013
This review is from: Floorfillers Warehouse Party (Audio CD)
Its a really good CD some good tracks to better than the KISSTORY CD where you get the same songs on almost all albums.
Its mixed OK to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floorfillers Warehouse Party (Audio CD)
I have all the floorfillers cds and this wont disappoint I would recommend this 100%
Another great party album as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time to dance, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floorfillers Warehouse Party (Audio CD)
Bought as a present , my friend doesn't stop playing it ,dancing and reminsing about the good old days .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great., 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floorfillers Warehouse Party (Audio CD)
This is just what the doctor ordered when your in the gym giving it large, a varied cd with attitude.x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this.., 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floorfillers Warehouse Party (Audio CD)
Takes me back to when I was 16 and I can't stop listening to it, would recommend to any and good cost too

Lindsay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floorfillers Warehouse Party (Audio CD)
I bought this album on recommendation and it has not left the cd player in my car since. Some excellent tracks from the old warehouse party days. I have even got my 6 and 9 year old sons into it (better than the rubbish they listen to). Their favourite is Mr Lee - Get busy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Floorfillers Warehouse Party (Audio CD)
Takes me back to my raving days! Some really good tunes on this album. Highly recommended you really wont be disappointed by this album. Would love to see a follow up to this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Floorfillers, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: Floorfillers Warehouse Party (Audio CD)
This is a very good album, thou im not such a fan of house music, Late 80s and Early 90s music (im more early 80s) but i would recommend this album features Inner City, 49ers, Adventures of Stevie V, Black Box, Royal House etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Floorfillers Warehouse Party
Floorfillers Warehouse Party by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews