Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars from a Zeppelin fan!?
Early in 2012 my teenage son (whose musical taste mostly comprises of grime, dub step and rap) played me a song called 'Cartoons And Cereal' by Kendrick Lamar. I was so impressed, I asked him to play it again. Here was a 'rapper' who wasn't singing about the usual topics of bitches, n****s and having wads of money. Instead, he was telling us about how he wanted to do...
Published 19 months ago by Tich

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars took ages to get and broken
took over 3 weeks to get and inside case was broken.didnt bother to get in touch as time to get it in first place would've meant extra time .cd worked but time and condition of case was flawed.
Published 14 months ago by ditchy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars from a Zeppelin fan!?, 4 Jan 2013
This review is from: good kid, m.A.A.d city (Audio CD)
Early in 2012 my teenage son (whose musical taste mostly comprises of grime, dub step and rap) played me a song called 'Cartoons And Cereal' by Kendrick Lamar. I was so impressed, I asked him to play it again. Here was a 'rapper' who wasn't singing about the usual topics of bitches, n****s and having wads of money. Instead, he was telling us about how he wanted to do something with his life.

On the strength of this I purchased this album, and have to say that I wasn't disappointed in the slightest (bearing in mind, this review is from a middle aged classic rocker who thinks the best album ever is Zep's Physical Graffiti! From the very first tune it grabs you - no over production, no thud thud beat that annoys the balls off you! Lyrically, it's one of the strongest albums I've heard in a long time. Tracks that stand out for me are 'The Art Of Peer Pressure' - how many teenagers could learn from this? - and 'Sing About Me: I'm Dying Of Thirst' - the haunting backing vocals of the second half are simply superb. From start to finish it's a master class.

The album is full of quality, and just grows with each play. I can't recommend it highly enough - if you buy just one hip-hop/rap album this decade, buy this one - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I could give 6 stars, I would., 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: good kid, m.A.A.d city (Audio CD)
Well what can I say, If I could give 6 stars, I would. The whole album is a masterpiece and the best thing I've heard in 2012, without a doubt. It's set out to be an ALBUM, not just a bunch of tracks on a disc. Kendrick tells a story all the way through, hence the album is appropriately named, 'a short film by Kendrick Lamar'. It's genius, it's almost like a movie experience on an album. There's some skits at the beginning and end of songs as a tactic to get you into the right mood for the following track, and to lay out the topic/issue that Kendrick wants to talk about.
I can safely say, from amazing heart felt tracks like 'the art of peer pressure', to the incredible Hit-Boy produced track (N****s in Paris, Goldie), 'Backseat Freestyle', Kendrick kills every track, as you would expect from such a talented lyricist.
Best album of 2012, easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: good kid, m.A.A.d city [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Top top album from start to finish, there is not one track which lets it down. I am a massive hip hop fan and have been for years and this is one of the best albums I have heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So sick, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best album I've bought in a very long time!!! Always listen to when running as it gets you pumped and up the hills!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmmmmmmm, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: good kid, m.A.A.d city (Audio CD)
I have liked Kendrick Lamar for a while now and this cd of his is FAB and of course Dre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: good kid, m.A.A.d city (Audio CD)
this album is quality. when i heard this guy was from Compton and signed to aftermath (Dre's label) i was expecting a real gem of work and boy were my expectations met...after a few listens that is-his voice grated on me initially and i wasn't too keen on his second single here in the uk Backseat Freestyle. but needless to say after countless listens i now love the whole darn thing esp Compton, Money Trees, Poetic Justice, m.A.A.d Kid and B*tch Don't Kill My Vibe. Buy now and support dre and Kendrick Lamar as they deserve it. Aftermath 4 life b*tch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do you spiff? Kendrick does., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: good kid, m.A.A.d city (Audio CD)
A quite spiffing album with the popular ditty "Bitch Don't Kill My Vibe" providing much entertainment during the cold winter months
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars supremely awesome, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
review from from Sam Jackson @ hilltopviewsonline.com
The young rapper's major label debut "good kid, m.A.A.d city" starts out with a group of men reciting a prayer asking the Lord to come into their hearts. Usually in this business it takes a drug/alcohol induced flameout to get artists on a spiritual kick, but Lamar seems to have skipped some levels.
Not that his ascent has not been quick either. After putting out his first mixtape at 16, he started rising in the hip-hop world, both by himself and as part of the four-man super group Black Hippy, who have two remixes on deluxe editions of "good kid, m.A.A.d city." His first album, the critically acclaimed "Section.80," caught the attention of legendary producer Dr. Dre, who executive produced this album.
So why does someone who has become so successful at 23 need aid from above?
Judging from the lyrical themes of "good kid," Lamar's trying to exorcise the ghosts of his past, mostly eschewing typical hip-hop braggadocio for deeper lyrics about things like girl trouble, the death of close friends, and his Compton upbringing.
The whole album is cloaked in beats from a variety of producers, ranging from big names such as Just Blaze, Pharrell and Hit-Boy, to past affiliates from "Section.80," with sounds ranging from seductive synths and drums ("Sherane a.k.a. Master Splinter's Daughter," "Swimming Pools (Drank)"), and old school West Coast bombast ("Backseat Freestyle," the "California Love" rip-off "Compton"). The songs often end with little skits, snippets of dialogue that range from "Friday"-esque hilarity to disturbing violence.
Lamar seems to prefer rapping on his own most of the time, which is fine since this is his story and he tells it with incredibly deep, meditative lyrics and an expert flow, but he does make room for others to drop verses as well, bringing in Drake, Dr. Dre, and his Black Hippy comrade Jay Rock, along with a few others.
All in all, it is a brilliant album that soars above the standard for rap. Kendrick Lamar was running from his past on this album and not only did he manage to leave it behind, he has left his competition in the dust as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love every song, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: good kid, m.A.A.d city (Audio CD)
Kendrick Lamar should be so proud of this album. love every song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love every song, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: good kid, m.A.A.d city (Audio CD)
Like every song on this album. Not very often when I like every song on a hip hop album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews