Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriosly good Album!
Soulfly was an exelent debut, Primitive was a very impressive follow up, but "3" is the ULTIMATE soulfly album.I cant belive how good it is! It opens with "Downstroy" , an amazing and powerful song. Keep listening and you get to "one" and good (its only fault is to collide with nu-metal a bit instead of sticking with Max's Sepultura orgins)...
Published on 20 July 2002 by big_bad_blicq

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Soulfly - 3
Soulfly's third album, entitled 3, finds the band in a transitional period and treading a line between their earlier Nu Metal era material and their later more thrash influenced music.

3 came out in 2002 and featured Roy Mayorga back on the drums after a one album absence. The album is also full of guest appearances; from non-famous Brazilian musicians to Ill...
Published on 28 July 2011 by Kingcrimsonprog


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriosly good Album!, 20 July 2002
This review is from: 3 (Audio CD)
Soulfly was an exelent debut, Primitive was a very impressive follow up, but "3" is the ULTIMATE soulfly album.I cant belive how good it is! It opens with "Downstroy" , an amazing and powerful song. Keep listening and you get to "one" and good (its only fault is to collide with nu-metal a bit instead of sticking with Max's Sepultura orgins) "one nation" is also a great song but by far my favourate song is "tree of pain" which is true amazing , powerful song. If Max and Soulfly carry on like this they will soon become legends. Max seems to have discovered a new side to his voice, alternating between his normal load , great voice and a new undiscovered calm tone. Enough talk ORDER YOUR COPY NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulfly deliver to the tribe!, 24 Jun. 2002
By 
This review is from: 3 (Audio CD)
I had high expectations of Soulfly 3, and I can say im not disappointed. Max Cavalera's production on the album offers an impressive finish not seen before on the likes of Soulfly, particularly notable in "Enterfaith" and "Seek'n'Strike". Both offer bonebreaking riffs and yet carry the professional veneer that previous offerings have lacked.
Soulfly delivers a superior combination of pure Soulfly (Downstroy, Enterfaith, Seek'n'Strike) and collaboration tracks (Tree Of Pain, One and L.O.T.M of a kind). Whilst "Enterfaith" seems to be the standout track to me, both "L.O.T.M" and "Four Elements" present stiff competition to the honour claimed by "Eye For An Eye" and "Pain" on previous albums in my opinion. Therefore it is more than acceptable to find both "Eye For An Eye" and "Pain" live as bonus tracks on this disc, each reminisent of Soulfly and Primitive bonus live additions. "Under The Sun" is a further bonus song, a tribute to Black Sabbath, and a belter at that.
Soulfly 3 comes with the highest recommendation, particularly if you liked the first works, or if you enjoy Ill Nino. I have seen Soulfly live before and they blew me away, I cant wait until I see them again with new songs in tow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST, A CONSISTENT SOULFLY ALBUM!, 7 Mar. 2003
By 
This review is from: 3 (Audio CD)
It's been a while,but it was worth the wait. '3' sees Max return to the cutting edge metal that made his name in the 90's. Gone are the overlong (and sometimes sloppy) tribal jams of the first album, and the (slightly too much) experimentation of 'Primitive', and back in place is slimmed down, fat-free, monolithic thrash in the vein of Sepultura's classic 'Chao A.D.'. Opening track 'Downstroy' captures the mood perfectly, with its razor sharp riffs and pummelling double-bass drum-work. The only real venture into new TERRITORY (forgive the pun!) is 'Tree of Pain', with it's beautiful, trancy intro giving way to a Cavalera pounding mid-way, and then returning to a haunting, acoustic outro. Classy stuff. Every song on here is worthy of the Cavalera name, but the standout tracks are 'Enterfaith', 'Tree of Pain', 'Downstroy', 'Seek n'Strike' and 'One Nation'. Mention must also go to returning drummer Roy Mayorga, who puts in the performance of his career so far, equalling the other Cavalera brother for speed and precision. Most definitely the album we all knew Max was capable of (and better than anything Sepultura have done since his departure!). Let's hope it's the start of a trend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Soulfly - 3, 28 July 2011
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 3 (Audio CD)
Soulfly's third album, entitled 3, finds the band in a transitional period and treading a line between their earlier Nu Metal era material and their later more thrash influenced music.

3 came out in 2002 and featured Roy Mayorga back on the drums after a one album absence. The album is also full of guest appearances; from non-famous Brazilian musicians to Ill Nino's singer Cristian Machado and half of Sacred Reich on a bizarre reworking of their classic thrash metal song, `One Nation.'

In addition to the metal sections, 3 is full of the world music influences that Soulfly are famous for and most songs feature at least some jam on light music with additional percussion instruments, perhaps more so than any other Soulfly album. This will be a boon to some listeners and annoying to others.

Overall, The album starts strongly enough with `Downstroy,' `Seek N Strike,' and `Enter Faith,' as well as the concert favourite `L.O.T.M,' but as a whole the album is a bit patchy and doesn't hold the same quality it began with all the way through. The album is far from terrible, but at the same time you may want to try before you buy, just to make sure this album is for you.

In conclusion, 3 by Soulfly is a decent album that Soulfly fans may wish to try out if they are interested in the band, but it isn't the greatest thing the band have ever done. Its definitely three and a half stars at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chaos Unbound, 25 Jun. 2002
This review is from: 3 (Audio CD)
Oh yes, the new Soulfly CD is here, and it's nothing like 'Chaos AD'. I must admit it took a few listens, and I love the music of Max Cavelera, but this is a great record. Right from the off, 'Downstroy' and ' Seek n Strike' hit you with full on Brazilian metal. Big, heavy, simple riffs, with Max on top form. 'Enter Faith' is not quite as heavy, but the next two ramp up the energy again. Then comes 'Brasil'. This is straight out of the 'Roots' era, amazing tribal drumming, great riffs and gutaral vocals sear over your body. Then comes 'Tree Of Pain', which starts out very mellow with female vocals, and then crashes into metal meltdown, Brazilian style. The rest of the album goes like you would expect of a 'Soulfly' album to go. The HEAVY riffs mixed in with the more acoustic tribal number. Max has not progressed much from the last album, this is more of a refinement of the 'Soulfly' style. It's their most coherant album to date. Now I have only one gripe. In the middle of the album Max decided to give us a track called 9-11-01. I say a track, because it consists of one minutes silence. SILENCE. On a CD. A metal CD at that. Now, I TOTALY deplore what happened on that infamous day, but having one minutes silence on a record is just not on. People grieve in their own way, and this has no place on a CD. Any CD. Anyway, you can program in a skip in the CD player, and I won't mark the album down for silence. And get the digipak, with extra songs for the best value, and even more of the VERY BEST METAL, produced by anyone, anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some good tracks, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 (Audio CD)
There are four tracks that I really like on this record, the ferocious opener 'Downstroy' , the single 'Seek 'N' strike', the melodic ballad/thrash metal of 'Tree of pain' that features nice vocals by a female vocalist, and 'Four elements' (a great uptempo rock track where max sounds angry and menancing). The rest of the album was ok. I found it to be a bit of a mixed bag really. The album does have some nice instrumentals though and album closer 'Zumbi' features tribal beats and nice atmospheres. It is these combined sounds of Nu-metal, groove, and thrash mixed in with tribal beats and percussion that is interesting about Soulfly and I do admire them for their experimentation. I do think it's worth buying this album as it's so cheap on here and then download the songs you like onto your Ipod like I am going to do. I hope this helps anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars soulfly - fly high, 27 April 2003
By 
J. R. Sanders "JArghS" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3 (Audio CD)
with 'primitive' slightly dissapointing me (and many others) Soulfly hit back with an album that will wake up your metal ear! even max cavalera said that 'primitive' wasn't quite there and the next album would probably be what he was after...so if he was trying to make an album that would make you realise that metal is still an amazing genre...he suceeded. this album is spot on from start to finish...and its not just noise for noise's sake...the album is mixed up with more melodical (without sounding middle-aged) turns like 'tree of pain'...you can expect the same political statements from max as always with songs like 'one nation' and the respectful one minute track of silence ' 9 - 11 '.
this album is awesome, maybe not the first time you listen to it, but before you know it you will keep coming back to it...
amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of Soulfly's Best Albums, 29 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Horgan "Rich" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 3 (Audio CD)
deffinitely one of soulfly's best album along with dark ages and omen, if your a fan of soulfly you must buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anything Different Max....., 10 Jun. 2003
This review is from: 3 (Audio CD)
Well, the 1st soulfly album was great. A sort of nu-metal reworking of Sepultura which was good for one album. But Primitive was just the same with some 'friends' he bought along to make the album sound slightly different (Corey Taylor, Chino etc).
You've guessed it, this album sounds exactly the same as the other soulfly efforts. The album sounds nice enough with good production its just that it is the same as every other bang bang nu-metal out there and some tracks that do try to be different (Tree Of Pain) dont't work at all.
The one standout track is the cover of Sabbaths mighty Under The Sun which works very well. If you want some real brazilian metal try Sepulturas earlier work (See Beneath The Remains).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 3 (Audio CD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

3 (Explicit Version)
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews