Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great voice of our time, 2 Sep 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD)
This disc gives an excellent overview of the German tenor Jonas Kaufmann in all the great Romantic opera composers. As a newcomer to his voice, I found it useful to get to know his dramatic sound and hear it turned to account across the board in repertoire of that period. He is ideal for Verdi, being a singer who seems to imply some narrative direction as opposed to the sheer beauty, say, of Joseph Calleja. There is a slightly rough-hewn, woody quality to the sound which gets the drama of Verdi or Wagner. However it is also effective in Puccini in that it works against sentimentality and arguably brings more grandeur to the vocal line. He sounds a bit like a baritone, which is heard to superb effect in the concluding Wagner items, including a wondrous `Wintersturme ...' from Die Walkure, recorded in 2007 and 2008 - the two years, along with 2010, which most of the material dates from. The only exception is a Weber aria from Oberon sung in English, recorded in Watford in 2002. He has very good diction in English, unexpected as it is from a glance at the programme. A few isolated items from the French repertoire - Carmen, Werther and Faust - are particularly lovely, while the two previously unreleased items are both under three minutes. Strauss's Cacilie is sumptuous, while an aria from Mascagni's Iris struck me less, but has, I presume, a certain rarity value. There are also a couple of well-placed chorus items, a number from Puccini's La Rondine being especially charming. Altogether it is, at nearly 80 minutes, a multi-course feast, with Kaufmann's swarthy cover picture suggesting a baronial mien entirely in keeping. Only the pewter goblet is missing ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delicate and powerful, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD)
A great diversity in this cd enchants and convinces Mr Kaufmann is today's very best tenor.
I would have preferred 'Ruler of this Awful Hour' instead of 'I revel in hope and joy again' but I guess it may not have fitted in well as the 17th aria. A necessary and great buy even if one's owns already every other cd from this great artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jonas Kaufmann does not only sing with his wonderful voice and his heart, but also with his intellect !, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD)
Jonas Kaufmann is certainly - for me at any rate - the most exciting , inspiring and soul-refreshing Tenor of this generation.
His timbre is unmatched, his pianissimi phantastic his forte overwhelming and his acting quite superb.
The arias he sings on this CD are very beautiful, one and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kaufmann is beyond discussion, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD)
In my (not professional) opinion, Kaufmann is the very best tenor of our times. He is not just a very good belcanto tenor. His voice is astonishingly strong and yet extremely moving, especially in dramatic roles. What a Werther! What a Faust! Kaufmann is also a dramatic actor of unusual power and quality and this adds very much to his operatic performance. I recommend his recordings to all friends. Thanks to MEZZO TV, we listen to him from time to time and thanks to AMAZON we have his recordings. Thanks again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 14 Feb 2014
By 
R. Lee (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD)
Never did I think there would be a singer who would topple Pavarotti off my personal podium of top rate tenors but Jonas Kaufmann has achieved this. This is a superb album and would make the perfect present for anybody who enjoys a selection of some of the finest songs sung by one of the world's greatest tenors.

Absolutely stunning performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We left the Golden Age of Pavarotti and Domingo behind in 1990s, and this is now The Age of Kaufmann, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD)
As fine a 'baritenor' voice as ever existed, especially in the lower register. There is no tenor to rival him in the foreseeable future.
Dipak Nandy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Jonas Kaufmann, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. Philippa Hogan "PippaH" (Bray, Wicklow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD)
Fantastic, fantastic, Fantastic., Here is a virtuoso at his very best. He is an up and coming legend to rival the likes of Pavarotti. Great listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good recording/, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD)
If you like Jonas Kaufmann, you will not be disappointed with this CD. I would have liked a different mix of songs, but that is a personal choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ordered as present., 1 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD)
Ordered for family member who really llikes the voice and looks of this chappy, she says she happy, sorted. Good price and delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World's Greatest Heldentenor., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD)
A great singer with a voice smooth as silk and made for all classical composers but especially suitable to Wagner where he has no equals I know of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann
The Best Of Jonas Kaufmann by Jonas Kaufmann (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews