Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable album (MP3 version)
Sammy Hagar runs the gamut of various musical styles on this album, on the whole very successfully with just a couple of tracks letting the side down for me. Whether it is the traditional blues of opener "Winding Down", the traditional Free-like rocker "not going down" or the folky sounding Father Sun (which also has echoes of Aerosmith or the Who about it) most tracks...
Published 9 months ago by Big Jim

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bluesy, Rock 'N' Roll Sammy!
My fav Sammy albums are I Never Said Goodbye and Three Lock Box, plus Van Halen's OU812, For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge and Balance and of course Chickenfoot. I was too young to listen to Montrose then and I did not fancy The Waboritas and Cosmic Universal Fashion much. If you are expecting When The Hammer Falls Down, Give To Live, Eagles Fly, Your Love Is Driving Me...
Published 9 months ago by Sangeet Rcknrol


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable album (MP3 version), 28 Sep 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Sammy Hagar runs the gamut of various musical styles on this album, on the whole very successfully with just a couple of tracks letting the side down for me. Whether it is the traditional blues of opener "Winding Down", the traditional Free-like rocker "not going down" or the folky sounding Father Sun (which also has echoes of Aerosmith or the Who about it) most tracks work pretty well and overall the album is an enjoyable listen. "Knockdown Dragout", is a driving rocker, harking back to Montrose or early Van Halen whilst "Ramblin Gamblin man" doesn't deviate too much from the Bob Seger original. "Bad on Fords and Chevrolets" name-checks Billy Gibbons, and is very ZZ Topesque, so no surprise there. "All we need is an island" is done in the style of the Eagles I suppose. It's OK, not brilliant, but it sets up 2 great tracks to finish "Going Down" an old favourite but done in a supercharged fashion here, and a live version of "Space Station number 5" which is one of my all time favourite rifferamas and possibly my highlight of this whole album. 2 tracks don't work for me; "Personal Jesus" is pretty dull to my ears, despite the gospel choir style chorus. Perhaps I have been influenced by the Johnny Cash version which has become definitive to my mind. Lastly, "Margaritaville" surely can't have been included just because it references a tequila cocktail could it? Done in a laid back latin style this track doesn't work for me at all I'm afraid.

All in all this is a decent enough effort with the variety of tracks being both a strength and a weakness as there is little cohesion about the thing, but apart from my two duds, each track works well in and off itself.

Worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bluesy, Rock 'N' Roll Sammy!, 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: Sammy Hagar & Friends (Audio CD)
My fav Sammy albums are I Never Said Goodbye and Three Lock Box, plus Van Halen's OU812, For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge and Balance and of course Chickenfoot. I was too young to listen to Montrose then and I did not fancy The Waboritas and Cosmic Universal Fashion much. If you are expecting When The Hammer Falls Down, Give To Live, Eagles Fly, Your Love Is Driving Me Crazy, then that rocking heavy metal Sammy Hagar is long gone. This is the red rocker getting together with friends, partying, jamming, making blues rock 'n' roll music using electric guitars, slide guitars, acoustic guitars, bass, drums, mandolin, tambourine, accordion and having a lot of fun. I had fun listening too.

Featuring friends -
1. Winding Down :
(Taj Mahal/Dave Zirbel/John Cuniberti/Mona Gnader/Vic Johnson)
2. Not Going Down :
(Vic Johnson/Bill Church/Dave Zirbel/Denny Carmassi/Claytovern Richardson/Sandy Griffith/Omega Rae)
3. Personal Jesus :
(Neal Schon/Michael Anthony/Chad Smith/Claytoven Richardsosn/Sandy Griffith/Mega Rae)
4. Father Sun :
(Vic Johnson/Mona Gnader/Andre Thiery/James Deprato/Denny Carmassi/Aaron Hagar/John Cuniberti/Erica Cuniberti)
5. Knockdown Dragout :
(Kid Rock/Vic Johnson/Joe Satriani/Denny Carmassi/Mona Gnader/John Cuniberti)
6. Ramblin' Gamblin' Man :
(Vic Johnson/David Lauser/Mona Gnader/Susie Davis/John Cuniberti/Claytoven Richardson/Sandy Griffith/Omega Rae)
7. Bad On Fords And Chevrolets :
(Ronnie Dunn/Vic Johnson/Dave Zirbel/David Lauser/Mona Gnader/Austin De Lone)
8. Margaritaville :
(Toby Keith/Karl Perazza/Ruth Davies/Paul Revelli/Bill Kirchen/Austin De Lone/Mona Gnader/Caroline De Lone)
9. All We Need Is An Island :
(Dave Zirbel/Mickey Hart/Nancy Wilson)
10. Going Down :
(Neal Schon/Michael Anthony/Chad Smith)

Enjoy!
Rock 'n' roll \,,/,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hagar, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sammy Hagar & Friends (Limited CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Sammy and the boys don't disappoint, every track is even better than the last but the standout has to be "Knockdown Dragout" this track will last a very long time. Thanks Sammy*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He has some great friends, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sammy Hagar & Friends (Limited CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
Great mix of rock and frankly some oddball songs, but all great.
Give this a listen. DVD is great as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sammy Hagar & Friends (Audio CD)
It needs a couple of sessions to get into all the tracks some take off straight away, but others take a little listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Party Time, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sammy Hagar & Friends (Limited CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
The Red Rocker reveals there is another primary colour in his musical make-up and that colour is Blue. Sammy Hagar and friends is a hugely enjoyable collection of songs featuring a group of eclectic and esteemed guests from Taj Mahal to Kid Rock.

The album mixes a number of styles from straight ahead rock through Blues to soul and gospel and for the most part the results and very positive with a few absolute standouts.

The album gets off to a flying start with Hagar joined by Blues Maestro Taj Mahal on a laid back, easy on the ear Blues romp with the two deep rich vocals combining perfectly. Hagar's take on the Depeche Mode staple Personal Jesus will no doubt polarise opinion, with most comparisons being drawn with the Johnny Cask cover. Me, I love it. Hagar takes it from a synth drenched sound to one with some jagged cutting licks from the always excellent Neil Schon. The Gospel phrased vocal adds deep texture.

The album really hits top gear in the middle section with Knockdown Dragout delivering a piledriving riff throughout and Hagar and Kid Rock matching it with aggressive vocals. Bob Seger's Ramblin Gamblin Man follows on with a 70s southern boogie groove, fast licks and pounding drums and excellent backing vocals. The stakes are raised even higher with an absolute trademark Hagar rocker in the shape of Bad on Fords and Chevrolets. This is real pedal to the floor stuff. Superfast dual riffing and scintillating solos between Hagar and Vic Johnson jumping all over some rock solid drum and bass runs. This is real top down, shades on and hit the road stuff, brilliant.

Before the almost apocalyptic album closers we are treated to some real soulful sounds from Sammy and Toby Keith covering Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville. Closely followed by some stunning pedal steel guitar on All We Need is an Island.

Going Down is much loved and much covered but this is a classic version, possibly the heaviest version you will ever hear. Hagar is joined again by Neil Schon and the pair combine to deliver real six string pyrotechnics. Jackhammer riffs and monstrous solos giving the song a live in the studio sound.

Rounding the whole lot off in real style is a live version of the seminal Montrose classic Space Station NO:5 a fitting tribute to Ronnie. Hagar is joined by Chickenfoot buddy Joe Satriani and it is clear these two now have a telepathy as they slug it out throwing lead breaks and shard like solos at each other. It reminds you just what a monstrous metal band Montrose were!

If you do elect to buy the album, do buy the deluxe edition as you get a DVD thrown in but best of all is the packaging, triple gatefold, some great pictures and hugely interesting sleevenotes.

Why would Hagar worry about Van Halen anymore, he is having the last laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sammy Goes South, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sammy Hagar & Friends (Limited CD+DVD) (Audio CD)
From a touch of the blues on the opening track "Winding Down" and then "Personal Jesus" to a hint of folk on "Father Son" then on to some almost Sammy era VH with "Not Going Down" and "Knockout Dragout" this offering from Sammy and Friends ahs enough for everyone to enjoy. It finishes off going mellow with "Margaitaville", a touch of Latin America and only missing some Tijuana brass for added cheese to "All We Need Is An Island" which exudes South Pacific island chillaxing. Not what I expected of this album but it cuts the mustard. If music is ever to put across the impression of friends having fun, this is it. Additional tracks are live versions of "Goin' Down" and "Space Station #5".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great listen., 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good album and I am currently listening all the time. If you like good music this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good album, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sammy Hagar & Friends (Audio CD)
A good album worth giving a listen to. Different styles of music throughout the album from rock to country; Easy to get into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You already know, 24 Dec 2013
This review is from: Sammy Hagar & Friends (Audio CD)
If u know anything of sammy or rock in general u already know what this sounds like.all you need to know now is that it's top drawer.class,never does any tune outstay its welcome and never does the quality drop.also I accidentally bought three copies(as I'm a dick) but both were snapped up by mates who also love it.and I bumped one for fifty pence on deal so swings and roundabouts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sammy Hagar & Friends (Limited CD+DVD)
Sammy Hagar & Friends (Limited CD+DVD) by Sammy Hagar (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews