Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Third in the Series - my favourite so far
Although The Nightingale Nurses can most certainly be read as a stand-alone novel, and the author gives enough background information to enable new readers to enjoy the story, I would definitely recommend that you read the first two books in the series first.

Once again Donna Douglas has produced a warm and quite captivating story featuring Helen, Dora and...
Published 9 months ago by Lincs Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ***
Brilliant read
Looking forward to more stories about the nightingale nurses, which I hope so be as good as this one
Published 7 months ago by ANGELA BATTY


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Third in the Series - my favourite so far, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Although The Nightingale Nurses can most certainly be read as a stand-alone novel, and the author gives enough background information to enable new readers to enjoy the story, I would definitely recommend that you read the first two books in the series first.

Once again Donna Douglas has produced a warm and quite captivating story featuring Helen, Dora and Millie; three student nurses who are from very different backgrounds but have found themselves living and working together for the past three years.

It is the final year of what has been three incredibly tough years, both professionally and personally for each of the girls. Helen is still dealing with her overbearing Mother, a woman who cannot help but interfere in Helen's life. Dora is distraught, her one true love is now married to her best friend and Millie is worried about her reporter boyfriend Seb who is overseas covering war stories.

The detail in this story is excellent, from the fashion, to the workings of a hospital to the political tensions caused by Moseley's 'Blackshirts' - the reader is firmly thrust into this changing world which is brought to life quite brilliantly.

I have really enjoyed the development of the characters in the Nightingale series, not just the three leading nurses, but the supporting cast has grown too. It is probably Helen's mother who is the surprise of this story, still domineering and still obnoxious, but her past is gradually revealed to the reader which adds another dimension to both her character and the plot line.

Drama, love, laughter and many tears. A finely tuned plot and some larger than life characters. The Nightingale Nurse is a fine addition to the series and is my favourite so far. I do hope that Donna Douglas will be writing more about the girls, I'm really keen to know where they go next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The whole series read by my wife on her new Kindle Paperwhite, 28 Nov 2013
By 
CjW "chris" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightingale Nurses: (Nightingales 3) (Kindle Edition)
As claimed - The whole series read by my wife on her new Kindle Paperwhite
She is now reading more books than ever before as she finds the format very friendly.

Being a Nurse she has some similar experiences of her own - but loves to read of the drams and difficulties faced by colleagues in tougher times.
She enjoyed this very much but never writes a proper review.
As I paid for them - I am!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightingale Nurses: (Nightingales 3) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read from cover to cover now reading whole series love it

Would recommend it to anyone who loves this sort of fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightingale Nurses: (Nightingales 3) (Kindle Edition)
Could not put this book down. So much so went on to read the rest! On the lookout for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightingale Nurses: (Nightingales 3) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this as a birthday present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant third book in the series, very much enjoyed these books, strong story, great characters. well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating and interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nightingale Series, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightingale Nurses: (Nightingales 3) (Kindle Edition)
it is such a pity that the authors don't put in their books, which is the next one in the series. With this series I ended up reading
the third book before the second. Al the same it is a lovely series, and easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews