Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be disappointed.
There is quite a lot of prejudice against "action films" among film critics and regular cinema-goers alike. I am studying film at university, and I regularly sit in a room full of people from around the world who I know for a fact would laugh in my face if I told them I'd just bought a Jason Statham film on DVD. For example, I said to several people this week: "Have you...
Published 12 months ago by Pete J Jones

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU WANT TO BE A GOOD MAN, BE A GOOD MAN
Joey (Jason Statham) is a vet with severe PTSD. He lives as a street urchin and knows the nun Cristina (Agata Buzek) from the soup kitchen. After getting beat up pretty bad, he stumbles upon some "luck." He cleans up his act and gets a job at a Chinese kitchen, where the owner discovers Joey can hurt people (never mind the two broken ribs he is nursing). Joey...
Published 12 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be disappointed., 5 July 2013
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
There is quite a lot of prejudice against "action films" among film critics and regular cinema-goers alike. I am studying film at university, and I regularly sit in a room full of people from around the world who I know for a fact would laugh in my face if I told them I'd just bought a Jason Statham film on DVD. For example, I said to several people this week: "Have you seen Hummingbird, that new Jason Statham film?", to which the reply was, basically every time, something like "Erm... no, I'm not really an action movie person". It's understandable where they've got the idea from that 'the new Jason Statham film' is going to be more of the same from previous outings such as The Transporter or Crank - he's got that kind of following, I suppose.

Before I'd even seen the film, I saw a 2 star review on a website. Frankly, whoever is writing these 2 star reviews needs to pull their head out of their arse. They're the sort of people who would in an instant change it to a 4 or star 5 review if the lead role was played by a more fashionable actor rather than 'that thug Jason Statham'. As with many films, if you're willing to open your mind and give Hummingbird a chance, you won't be disappointed.

The story is complex, without being over complicated. It fits together perfectly. It filled me with love, hate, hope, despair and pain. It will break your heart, but in such a poetic way that you want it to keep going. Whether you like it or not Jason Statham is perfect for the job. Hummingbird is a Jason Statham film, but that doesn't mean it's a pedal to the metal, blood splattered explosion.

Agata Buzek who plays Cristina had previously flown under my radar, but having seen Hummingbird, I will certainly be investigating her previous and looking forward to her future work. Her character, a Catholic nun, is the perfect partner to Statham's Joey Jones, as unlikely as it seems. A small but perfectly performed role from Vicky McClure (This Is England) added another branch to the story, and another tear to my eye.

If the reason you might buy this film is because you like other films that Statham has been in - buy it - you won't be disappointed. My DVD collection contains everything from Lock Stock to Death Race. Put simply, when compared to films like The Transporter trilogy or Crank (which I also own and enjoy), this film features Jason Statham Mk2. He's there, he's Jason Statham, but there is so much more.

If the reason you might buy this film is not because you're a Jason Statham fan, but maybe enjoyed previous films written by Steven Knight (Dirty Pretty things, Eastern Promises) - buy it - you won't be disappointed either. The feeling I had as I sat watching the credits of this film in the cinema was the same feeling you get when you've just finished a long book with the perfect ending. It is a truly brilliant story.

If the reason you might buy this film is because you saw the trailer and it looks beautiful, intriguing and you want to know what happens - buy it - you will certainly not be disappointed. Whatever kind of films you like, you would have to be pretty thick skinned not to appreciate Hummingbird. I go to the cinema around once a week, and this was my favourite cinema experience of the last 12 months.

In short, I very, very highly reccommend Hummingbird. On every level. To everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrills galore, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Very different from the start and quite unexpected so gather up and read, He is a bum a useless person until he gets pushed to the limit so now he has got to tidy up his act and become a gentleman just to take revenge. He takes someone else's home and wont take no for an answer so don't upset him, The upper class isn't his style but things are only for the taking anyway. The things he does and the ideas keep coming thick and fast so put on your running shoes to keep up with this show. First class acting with a story line like this you have got it made. Now not to much more as over doing it by telling all spoils it, so I rated this an A grade plus for the holding of my interest from beginning to end, with so much fantastic ideas that will have you glued to the chair with so much excitement you won't know where you are. Gather up the popcorn grab the movie, well try to relax with your feet up and watch a fabulous movie, now get ready for a great night of entertainment and watch out for the oops, sorry no more enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Jason Statham Film, 14 May 2014
This review is from: Hummingbird (Blu-ray)
This is your typical Jason Statham film, however, with a bit of a twist, as at the start he is really in a bad way. If you like Statham's films you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason Statham is down and out and angry on the streets of London., 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A fine film with Jason Statham in the role of Joey the Afghan war veteran suffering from PTSD on the run and wanted by the establishment. Statham's Joey has been reduced to a street living underdog hiding and trying to forget his past. He is joined by Agata Buzek as Christina the nun who bumps into Joey while running a soup kitchen.

Joey eventually picks himself out of the gutter and tries to put himself right but fate intervenes. Alcohol on Joey has a calming effect. When he is sober and fit he tends to solve problems directly the only way a trained soldier can do - with plenty of violence - before hitting the bottle again.

A film that is deeper than your average Statham movie and has some subtle performences from the actors. The film has many generous and well filmed views of central London which adds to the atmosphere of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Statham film. What more can I say. Doesn't disappoint at all when I watched it I thought maybe it would have been better with a happier ending, to c him go off with Christina. But it's not a happy ending film and he'd always have his demons. Watch it an see what I mean
Defo 1 of his best with a bit of a difference to his other movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hummingbird, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Another of Jason stathhams great films. Interesting watch. Not what you expect with an unusual storyline. Still plenty of JS at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was surprised watching that dvd.It's not what you usely see him in. A bum pull him up.Helps a nune out, let him self fall flat again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very jason statham, 22 Feb 2014
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
You always know that you will get a good watchable film when Jason Statham is the star and this one did not disappoint. Slightly different though as there were no car chase scenes at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU WANT TO BE A GOOD MAN, BE A GOOD MAN, 8 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hummingbird [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Joey (Jason Statham) is a vet with severe PTSD. He lives as a street urchin and knows the nun Cristina (Agata Buzek) from the soup kitchen. After getting beat up pretty bad, he stumbles upon some "luck." He cleans up his act and gets a job at a Chinese kitchen, where the owner discovers Joey can hurt people (never mind the two broken ribs he is nursing). Joey becomes their muscle. His character is a confused mess of being altruistic, vigilante, and bad man.

He feels he must avenge the death of another street urchin, although her character and their relationship had about zero development. The action scenes are quick while there are long scenes of him having conversation with a nun, which seriously is not Statham's long suit. If you want to just watch the beat 'em up Statham, you can fast forward through 95% of the film.

I am not sure why Statham decided to take on such a complex character, he doesn't pull it off too well. 3 stars is a stretch.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, brief audio sex and nude pictures of men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Stath' at his best, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hummingbird [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was immersed in this story straight away and felt fully involved all the way through. You might question some of the actions of the Nun but hey I don't have any experience of the underbelly of London, nor the pressures of keeping a faith - and wouldn't want to! Glad the final act was fulfilling and just deserts we're delivered! I'm not sure this film has been given the credit it deserves, it shows that Jason can deliver both action and pathos in one believable story, including pretending to be gay - for plot reasons!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hummingbird [Blu-ray]
Hummingbird [Blu-ray] by Jason Statham (Blu-ray - 2013)
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews