Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the picture!
After having the POV release for many years, and seeing the DVD I was looking forward to getting this wonderful concert in full HD. The 1987 fully restored footage is absolutely stunning, there is no other way to describe it. The 5.1 audio is also excellent.

Additionally it is great to see the entire concert which includes 'Intruder', 'The Family And The...
Published 9 months ago by Lindsay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Peter Gabriel: Live In Athens 1987
Great quality of picture and a very god concert but spoiled as this is not in 5.1 surround sound as claimed. It is just stereo from the front speakers!
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Doug Waller


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the picture!, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After having the POV release for many years, and seeing the DVD I was looking forward to getting this wonderful concert in full HD. The 1987 fully restored footage is absolutely stunning, there is no other way to describe it. The 5.1 audio is also excellent.

Additionally it is great to see the entire concert which includes 'Intruder', 'The Family And The Fishing Net' and 'Here Comes The Flood'.

Some people complain about reissues and re-releases however when the quality is improved to such a standard it really is worth seeing. Pictures will be improved vastly again very shortly and we'll all be buying 4k TV's so I really don't see the problem with such releases. Anything that makes Peter Gabriel's thirtysomething face clearer to me is very welcome. I'm extremely happy with this release in this point in time, it is superior to other blu rays I have with more recent footage. Progression in technology should always be appreciated, I just wish that other releases of that period could be reissued to this standard, sadly however many companies claim they don't find this cost effective.

You also receive Play The Videos DVD with this release which is a great bonus. Other bonuses include Youssou N'Dour and Le Super Etoile De Dakar support set, a 1986 interview with Peter and the 'Sledgehammer' video with 5.1 audio.

The Blu Ray is region A,B and C and the DVD is region free 0.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Keith R. Fleeman (Sutton Coldfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Athens 1987 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
I've been wishing for this for years, having seen him on the tour. The quality of visuals and sound is superb and really captures the atmosphere. I remembered being impressed by Youssou N'Dour and this reminded me why - a pretty hard act to follow in itself - I'm so glad they included his opening set on the DVD. Peter Gabriel's show is as impeccable as you would expect with some emotional and uplifting moments (his fall back into the audience - an amazing moment when I saw it - "Don't Give Up", Youssou joining him for a joyous "In Your Eyes").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An artist at the top, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an impressive presentation of an artist who was at the top of his career, providing an eclectic, yet accomplished presentation of songs from albums throughout his career. Much of the audience may not really have come across him until So, and yet the applause that greeted Solsbury Hill would suggest otherwise.
The band was very tight in this show - I just hope that it is as good at the O2, although I would not expect Mr G to be quite so athletic as his thirty something self.
The quality of this on BlueRay is fabulous, and thankfully I can add nothing to the debate of those who feel cheated by the previous issue of this on DVD. However, there is the consolation of a DVD of videos as well, so this really is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO, is it any good ?, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just arrived yesterday, I had been looking forward to this one since pre ordering a while back. I have to say that it's a totally different experience and much more rewarding when compared to the original POV release, a concert video that I always frustrating. It's now a straight concert bluray without the extra bits of backstage and archive footage shown over parts of songs. It also features the whole setlist which is very nice. I can only imaging what audience members who were unfamiliar with PG's work prior to the SO album must have thought when he broke into songs like The Family And The Fishing Net or Intruder. One question though, why almost edit out the electronic drum sounds out of The Family And The Fishing Net ? very strange. Anyway, this Blu ray looks lovely given the age of the footage and it sounds pretty sweet too. On top of this you get the rather nice support show from Youssou N'Dour too, and if this wasn't enough you also get PLAY, the dvd of promo video's. This has the error fixed that the standalone release had where the DTS soundtrack didn't play correctly on a lot of players. great value package really. 5 stars from me for turning what I thought was a fairly poor concert video (POV) into a stunning document of an important point in PG's career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnificent, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic blu-ray that includes a suberb performance by Peter Gabriel. The only thing I can say is buy it. I am aware that some reviewers have complained because a DVD version of the same concert has come out not long ago, and assurances had been given that no blu-ray version was forthcoming (and instead here it is!). Most of these reviewers gave the present blu-ray one star. But, while I do not wish to dispute their point, the occasional customer should be re-assured that the one-star evaluation has noting to do with the concert as such: the sound and video quality are top-notch, as are the recorded performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Gabriel - amazing live sound and vision - from 1987!!!, 2 April 2014
By 
WHITLAM (leafy Clapham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've followed Gabriel since he left Genesis and we once caught him as he pioneered 'crowd-surfing', falling backwards into the Bradford fans. So I'm old and totally biased.
Considering this gig is from 1987 the sound and picture are awesome. I've got the blu ray disc by the way. The menus are easy to navigate, the Senegalese warm-up band is astonishing but, let's face it, we want to hear Gabriel. He has his band: Manu Katche, Tony Levin and guitarist Rhodes, who are fun, choreographed (!) and so so accomplished. We get all the key songs from the albums up to that time, including Solisbury Hill, Sledgehammer, a tender Don't give up and San Jacinto. Biko at the end makes you weep.
But frankly, the performance of 'In your eyes', where he gets the Senegalese back on stage, is worth the purchase alone, for sheer vibrancy, joy and crowd ecstasy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only second to Secret World, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In Athens 1987 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
Mr. Gabriel started to show maturity. A mature performance still patched with some rebelliousness. Excellent performance. Brilliant performers. Manu is undoubtably the best drummer is ever played with, not to mention Levin's bass and Rhodes guitar. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a fest of musical genius, 27 Jun 2014
Peter excels at putting images to his musical creativity when he's on stage. The audience remains enthralled from start to finish. Great camera work makes you feel part of the audience and part of the extraordinarily talented performers. This concert version of Biko is without equal, Peter telling his enraptured audience near the ending that "it's up to them where this goes" and leaves the stage while they sing on: what an inspired idea! What a risk! A risk that paid off, big time. Peter was a genius... and still is.
Youssou N'dour has an infectious voice and style that transcends language. You don't need to know the lyrics to appreciate his passion. Peter was inspired when he chose this talented man to work with.
Don't overlook the extra material on the concert DVD. I wanted this Athens concert to keep going... I wanted more. Getting all the Peter Gabriel videos is a massive bonus.
If you like Peter's work, get this. If you love true creative musical genius, get this. Enjoy the Peter Gabriel experience time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars POV reborn, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A worthy successor to the video POV. Really enjoyed this concert Blu-ray, which is a contrast to the content of POV, which had additional non concert video content. The Youssou N'Dour content was a interesting and the Bonus DVD a joy. If you enjoy PG's music you cannot fail to enjoy this package!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Older live album., 25 May 2014
By 
D. Thompson "macaddict" (Christchurch, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great, hadn't seen this before so pleasantly appreciated, great audio and video quality blu ray makes all the difference. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live In Athens 1987 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC]
Live In Athens 1987 [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] by Peter Gabriel (DVD - 2013)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews