Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for authors - highly practical
This is a no-nonsense, easy-to-read guide on all aspects of marketing not just your book(s) (and backlist!), but also you as an author - your `author brand'.

I would be here forever trying to highlight the (many) key elements that make this book a must-read - from how to ensure that you have a truly professional product, to how to make you and your book...
Published 12 months ago by Karen P. Inglis

versus
0 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars useless
I don't find this book helpful at all. Waste of money. I took some of the advice and uploaded my stories to kobo and other sites. Ive promoted via facebook, twitter, wattpad and by word of mouth and email to people i know. Still, people aren't downloading my stories, which I've worked hard on. I currently have four on amazon, and have made less than 20 over 5 months. I...
Published 12 months ago by Robert Atkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for authors - highly practical, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Karen P. Inglis (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Market A Book (Kindle Edition)
This is a no-nonsense, easy-to-read guide on all aspects of marketing not just your book(s) (and backlist!), but also you as an author - your `author brand'.

I would be here forever trying to highlight the (many) key elements that make this book a must-read - from how to ensure that you have a truly professional product, to how to make you and your book discoverable, to (if you want) turning yourself into a publisher and speaker. Even if you're already doing a lot of the right things already, this book will help ensure that you're not missing a trick.

The reading experience is pleasant too - you'll be swept along by Joanna's passion and enthusiasm, which seem to burst off the pages as you read! She is also generous and pragmatic with hand-offs and links to other related material of real value.

This book does what it says on the tin and by the end you'll have a marketing action list as long as your arm! "Go buy" is what I'd say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book marketing demystified, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Market A Book (Kindle Edition)
For many, marketing can be a daunting minefield, redolent of the off-putting `hard sell.' But it doesn't have to be that way. As Joanna Penn describes it, "marketing is about sharing what you love with people who truly value hearing about it." It's a phrase that clarified things for me, and made me think about how enthusiastic I get about telling friends about my latest, or ongoing, obsessions (everything from Firefly to The Heavy to Chinese art).
How to Market a Book is a wide-ranging, pragmatic guide, coloured by Penn's own personable and practical approach. She starts with basic marketing principles, applying it to the ever-shifting sands of the digital marketplace and offers suggestions borne of her own experience. It is geared to authors, but with its emphasis on authenticity and consistency, I think it could be useful to many types of businesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marketing for authors by an author, 28 Jun 2013
This review is from: How To Market A Book (Kindle Edition)
How to Market a Book is as much the individual story of author entrepreneur Joanna Penn, who went from selling 100 books five years ago to tens of thousands of books today,as it is an advice book. It outlines how by a process of trial and error the marketing techniques that Joanna used to become the successful author she is today. And she's certainly that, a writer who sells both non-fiction and thrillers under the JF Penn brand.

For some authors, particularly those of us who come from a traditionally published background, it's a shock to realise that it doesn't matter how well written a book is, if nobody knows about it. For some of us, even the word 'marketing,' is pejorative. But Joanna convinced this author to change her attitude to marketing as she offers up her own definition: 'marketing is about sharing what you love with people who truly value hearing about it.' It's a marketing book, therefore for authors who might have been scared off by the term.

Joanna is very personable and doesn't set herself up as an expert, but as someone like you, or me. With a background in IT and a degree in theology, Joanna implies that if she can do it so can you. Maybe, but you'd also need to have the energy, drive and commitment and be prepared to work your socks off, the way that the author obviously has. In the section on Time Management Joanna demonstrates what a meticulous planner she is, successfully balancing all her various activities which range from creating on-line courses, public speaking, writing non-fiction as well as her thrillers. She blogs, makes videos, engages on social networks. At times it feels daunting, especially if you aren't as driven and are a reluctant book marketer, who would rather be writing.

How to Market a Book works for both non-fiction and fiction writers. Non-fiction authors will find the section on keyword selection particularly useful. I liked the section on finding book reviewers as well as the fact that there are clickable links in the book that allows you to go into particular sections in more detail.
There's a whole section for entrepreneurial types on how to turn their writing career into a business as well as a simple three-step summary section at the back of the book for those of us who just want to write and market our books.

I read this in one block but I will be dipping in and out of it again. I would have bought this book, but was offered a review copy in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this and you'll reap what you sow..., 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Market A Book (Kindle Edition)
As a fellow author, and creator of many an advertising campaign, I can assure you that `How To Market A Book' does exactly what it says on the tin.

I had the pleasure of meeting this author at both the London Book Fair and Crimefest, and her enthusiasm for all things publishing is as effervescent as her personality. She is a very generous soul who knows her subject, and for anyone considering publishing their book and fretting over how to promote and market it, this is a `must read'.

The book could easily be used as a guide or reference, but is best read from cover to cover. If you do that you will find that you have a comprehensive account of all the steps to take in an effort to successfully promote both your book and yourself as an author.

It's easy to follow and whether you want to take on all of her advice or just the sections which seem most pertinent to you there is something here for everyone.
Joanna is a very engaging character and that really comes across in this book. She has learned the hard way that however good your work is if it doesn't reach an audience then as an author you will forever feel undersold. There is a sense that in the world of Indie publishing, and for that matter with many a traditionally published author too, you reap what you sow.

Put in the same level of energy and commitment that Joanna has, by following the advice in this book, and you won't go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't know where to start - then start here!, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Market A Book (Kindle Edition)
There's a mass of useful information in this book, especially for someone like me to whom marketing and promotion is completely outside my comfort zone. I still haven't read through all of it but already I've learnt so much and am feeling more confident about trying things. Her style is clear and straight forward and easy to get your head round.

There are links to useful websites and other experts in the field and you can subscribe to Joanna's blog to get updates of the latest ideas and suggestions.

I bought the e-book version as, at the time, the paperback hadn't come out but to have a copy to highlight and grab off the shelf to quickly consult when I need it, it might be worth buying twice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great practical advice, 14 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. Jane Knight "Free Spirit" (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Market A Book (Paperback)
I'm actually an Amazon UK bestseller with my first book but I love Jo's blog. It's full of excellent ideas. I just knew I'd learn more from this book ... and I did. Fantastic suggestions written in an easy style. If you just use one of Jo's ideas, it'll pay for itself. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many books about writing and marketing books - this is one of the best ones, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Market A Book (Kindle Edition)
I've read quite a lot of books about writing and marketing ebooks, Joanna's 'How to market a book' is probably the best one I've read so far. What sets it apart from the others that I've read is that it deals with the big picture, the goals you need to achieve, it also drills down to granular details on practical methods to achieve these goals. Other books either deal with either the high level or low level tasks, this book deals with them both in a coherent way.

I've read this book twice now (it's full of bookmarks) and I'll be reading it a third time as I launch my next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical advice for authors, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Market A Book (Kindle Edition)
This e-book is full of practical tips and advice ranging from traditional to e-marketing, from short-term to long-term marketing goals. As the author, Joanne Penn, has published both fiction and non-fiction, she is in a good position to advise on both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for new and existing authors and publishers, 8 July 2013
By 
Katie Richards (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How To Market A Book (Kindle Edition)
This book is a must for new and existing authors who want to be successful on- or off-line. Easy to read, Joanna has crafted an in-depth guide covering pre-to-post launch steps to help you not only stand out but leverage what you already have published. She covers each point clearly, threaded with her own experience and helpful do's and don'ts.

Written in well targeted stand-alone sections, the guide covers a wide pallet of options available for writers to not only be found and read but to be "seen and heard" through various multi-media models.

The guide is a thorough check list and makes a terrific reference book when planning a new book or refreshing an existing marketing strategy to reach a larger audience, sell more books and improve your ranking. This guide will give you a plethora of ways to help boost your visibility and sales with or without a platform for short and long-term goals.

A good read and fantastic value for solid ideas to get your book marketing right. This book is right in line with Joanna's consulting service, books and other online products that I can recommend. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another generous and well structured product from Joanna, 8 July 2013
This review is from: How To Market A Book (Kindle Edition)
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review - I am really glad that I was given this opportunity.

I was already a fan of Joanna's work across all media, having experienced her 'Turn Your Ideas Into Cash' course, which she created with business partner Julie Hall. Like the course, this book is very generous with tips, resources, links, ideas on what to do next and how to extend your offering, as well as addressing the core subject matter of the title.

The book flows invitingly from one section to another. Joanna's approach is logical and well structured, making it deceptively easy for time-poor readers to dip-in to find selected information. The fact that Joanna loves what she is doing and is extremely competent at her craft is evident in her compelling and readable style; so it was actually very difficult for me to stop reading (i.e. dip-out) when I had achieved my 'dip-in goal'!

This book is empowering, for example it demonstrates how the roles of author and entrepreneur can follow a synergistic and symbiotic pathway. There are many persuasive why-not-you-too? ideas, with suggestions on how to overcome impediments (not the least being our own resistance to finding a way through).

Joanna clearly likes a challenge and is uncompromising in researching and adopting resources to achieve her goals - she leaves nothing to chance. I am sure that everyone who wants to achieve success as an author will learn how to successfully market their products and themselves using the advice in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How To Market A Book
How To Market A Book by Joanna Penn
4.94
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews