Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These books just get better and better - a very moving fantastically good read
A Silver Lining is the third in a series of eight books set in Pontypridd between 1930 and 1950. All the books can be enjoyed on their own - but it is nice to read them chronologically to follow the fortunes of the Powell family and their friends over the years.
There is a good mixture of characters featured in A Silver Lining, who are experiencing a range of...
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by S

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Great read
A family saga series of eight books.
Have enjoyed every one of them.
Am sorry I am almost at end of series.
Published 6 months ago by carol


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These books just get better and better - a very moving fantastically good read, 15 Mar 2012
By 
S (Keswick, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A Silver Lining is the third in a series of eight books set in Pontypridd between 1930 and 1950. All the books can be enjoyed on their own - but it is nice to read them chronologically to follow the fortunes of the Powell family and their friends over the years.
There is a good mixture of characters featured in A Silver Lining, who are experiencing a range of troubles and heartaches as tensions are building in pre-war Pontypridd.
Alma Moore is struggling - her lover Ronnie married another girl and moved to Italy in the last book, and she is lonely and vulnerable. She has become the target of destructive gossip, and she is having serious financial troubles that could drive her and her mother to the workhouse.
Bethan Powell returns to Pontypridd with her baby - but without her husband - and has to cope with some of the worst nightmares a mother can have.
'Charlie the Russian' is embarking on a new business venture and trying to help some of his friends and neighbours who he sees are in need - but he is struggling to keep his past buried and his need for love and companionship suppressed.
Evan Powell unwittingly manages to get into trouble with the police in an incident that will change his, and his family's lives, forever.
As the book progresses, silver linings to all the troubles and woes slowly emerge - some are brighter than others, but there are definite silver linings to all the clouds.
A Silver Lining is beautifully and cleverly written; it magically transports you to Pontypridd in 1938, sensitively describes a range of personal and social difficulties; and is utterly engrossing - a very moving fantastically good read.

The first book in the series is: Hearts of Gold
The second book in the series is: ONE BLUE MOON (HEARTS OF GOLD (PONTYPRIDD SERIES))

The next (fourth book) in the series is: ALL THAT GLITTERS (HEARTS OF GOLD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catrub Collier books, 17 Feb 2013
I have read all Catrin Colliers books up to and including Magda's Daughter for me they are books that I have difficulty putting down. I live near the area where most of her writting and worked in the Pontypridd area for many years so was able to imagine the area at the periods in which they were written would recomend to others. Nicely written easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Silver Lining (Hearts of Gold Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The usual high standard of Catrin Collier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Silver Lining Brilliant, 1 July 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Morgan "Chris Morgan" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Silver Lining (Hearts of Gold Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic Books, spoken to people who remeber the war years and the workhouse and the terrible deprivation in Pontypridd. Great reads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series., 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Silver Lining (Hearts of Gold Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Once again Ms Collier has brought her characters to life in this well written series. Can't wait to start reading some of her other series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Silver Lining (Hearts of Gold Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
What a read couldn't put it down. Get all the Hearts of gold series I enjoyed it that much thank you. And all catrin colliers books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Silver Lining (Hearts of Gold Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
i started reading this series because the first in the series was a free read and since have read then all.
It's not my preferred genre but Catrin had me hooked. Ive read the lot and loved them all. Very easy to buy into the characters. Looking forward to reading more from Catrin in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A silver lining., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Silver Lining (Hearts of Gold Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Reading complete series of these books. Ideal to be able to download from my kindle. I am a lover of Catrin Collier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT READ, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Silver Lining (Hearts of Gold Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Another brilliant READ yet again, now to download the next episode, Catrin is now one of my favourite author's ....can,t wait to see what happens next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming, 30 April 2014
By 
Ann Stanmore (Ann in Windsor) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Silver Lining (Hearts of Gold Series Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Yet another great story from Catrin Collier. The thread in the Heart of Gold series it continues to be excellent reading. Really heart warming. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews