Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and intriguing.
A short but beautiful and quirky read, "Moon in a Dead Eye" follows a group of elderly people as they move into a gated community, hoping for the good life in the sun. Unfortunately it doesnt quite live up to expectations - as a new build there are only two couples and one single lady living there - and the social activities advertised are not forthcoming as hoped. A...
Published 14 months ago by Liz Wilkins

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing !
Am unable to understand why this book got written at all !
Published 12 days ago by Christine M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and intriguing., 12 Aug 2013
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moon in a Dead Eye (Kindle Edition)
A short but beautiful and quirky read, "Moon in a Dead Eye" follows a group of elderly people as they move into a gated community, hoping for the good life in the sun. Unfortunately it doesnt quite live up to expectations - as a new build there are only two couples and one single lady living there - and the social activities advertised are not forthcoming as hoped. A social secretary finally arrives and things begin to look up. But of course, with a tight knit group such as this there are always going to be unseen tensions...

I adored this book but I am finding it quite difficult to say why exactly. It was just, well, GOOD! It kind of meanders along as you get to know each individual person and their foibles, and a lot of the book is really just how they settle in, react to each other and to their new surroundings and what they do to pass the time. The author however somehow manages to impart a sense of menace....like something is hovering just beneath the surface that you can't quite put your finger on. Ok so the caretaker is a somewhat sinister character but that in and of itself is not all of it. So I'd say its clever writing. Pascal Garnier definitely had an eye to the ironic...and he also managed a fair bit of humour.. still you felt all the way through that perhaps something was coming.

Was something coming? Well you will have to read it to find out. And I would say do so if you want something a little different and unexpected, but also purely for the genius of the writing. The turn of phrase and the way it flows is terrific. Perhaps not a book I would normally have picked up I am grateful to the publisher for sending me a copy to review. Otherwise I might have missed out and that would NEVER do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon in a Dead Eye (Kindle Edition)
The latest of Garnier's works to be published in English is as delightful as the rest. Another reviewer has used the word "quirky" which is a perfect description but for me it is the author's humanity that shines through. None of his books I have read so far concern what you may call obvious characters or plotlines but whereas other authors, dare I say especially American ones, will take ages and use way too many words to get to the point, Garnier wastes not a word, resulting in a lean and taut novella. One further word of praise should be offered to the translator, Emily Boyce, whose work here is exemplary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've got a roving eye..., 22 May 2014
By 
MisterHobgoblin (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon in a Dead Eye (Kindle Edition)
This is a bleak little novella. We visit a new gated retirement village sold on promises and goodwill. Alas, the five residents (two couples and a single lady) don't really like each other. Nor do they like M. Flesh, the caretaker. Their dislike is reciprocated. In a Ballard-esque way, the retirees gradually break down and their humanity disintegrates. Fans of High Rise and Concrete Island will enjoy Moon in a Dead Eye.

There is an inevitability to it all - you aren't reading Pascal Garnier for a love story - but it is intriguing to work pout exactly how it will all unravel. The characters are relatively straightforward although some of them only become clear towards the end. The atmosphere is done well, with a feeling of isolation and helplessness, the initial optimism that things might work out evaporating slowly. There is surprising subtlety in a work this short and the reader is left wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too short, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon in a Dead Eye (Kindle Edition)
eloquent tale of retirees in the south of France. strangers thrown together in a retirement community trying to get along and then disaster strikes. very readable only took 2 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Humour and Sudden Shocks, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon in a Dead Eye (Paperback)
This is the third Pascal Garnier I have read. They are all slender volumes full of engaging narratives, strange and shocking moments of violence or unexpected events and a darkly satirical view of the human condition. I liked this one best with the gradually growing sense of foreboding mixed with the sad and funny character development. Despite everything that happens, Garnier always offers a glimmer of hope that at least a few of his characters might find some sort of happiness. However, I never want to buy a property in a retirement village after reading this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing !, 11 Oct 2014
By 
Christine M (london england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon in a Dead Eye (Kindle Edition)
Am unable to understand why this book got written at all !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moon in a Dead Eye
Moon in a Dead Eye by Pascal Garnier
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews