Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHERLOCK'S SQUADRON
An absolute fantastic read. Took you to if you where actually there. An incredible insight of what these men went through. Opened my eyes , as it says an untold story, a story of the bomber crews other functions as transporters and glider tugs. Warm, Gritty and some times humorous, couldn't put it down. A must for anyone who likes WWII or aviation books
Published 16 months ago by FLYER

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, as a retired RAF navigator, I found ...
Unfortunately, as a retired RAF navigator, I found this story a bit unconvincing. The book has been written by the youngest son of 'Sherlock' and, it seems, from having had scant conversation with his father about his wartime experiences. The author admits early on that he has used a fair amount of poetic licence and has included characters in his tale who he has...
Published 4 months ago by D. Herriot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately, as a retired RAF navigator, I found ..., 31 July 2014
By 
D. Herriot (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock's Squadron - The Incredible True Story of the Unsung Heroes of World War Two (Kindle Edition)
Unfortunately, as a retired RAF navigator, I found this story a bit unconvincing. The book has been written by the youngest son of 'Sherlock' and, it seems, from having had scant conversation with his father about his wartime experiences. The author admits early on that he has used a fair amount of poetic licence and has included characters in his tale who he has assumed that 'my father must have met'! The tale, whilst interesting and real, lacks authenticity because it is written in a fictional style where the author regularly uses the first person in reported speech and includes conversations that he must have imagined took place rather than having words quoted to him by the actual participants (most of whom, including his father 'Sherlock', were dead at the time of writing). He also has failed to research fully the aspects of aviation that would appeal to a purchaser of the book. For example, he refers to the altitude needle rather than to the altimeter which would have been common language to those about whom he is writing.

This is definitely NOT 'The Incredible True Story of the Unsung Heroes of World War Two' but it is an enjoyable account of the life of the Stirling Bomber crews of 196 Sqn - if you are prepared to accept that it has been written with the admiration of a son of his father's wartime experience and written in a somewhat fictional style and without too much first-hand knowledge or in-depth research having taken place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHERLOCK'S SQUADRON, 18 Aug 2013
This review is from: Sherlock's Squadron (Paperback)
An absolute fantastic read. Took you to if you where actually there. An incredible insight of what these men went through. Opened my eyes , as it says an untold story, a story of the bomber crews other functions as transporters and glider tugs. Warm, Gritty and some times humorous, couldn't put it down. A must for anyone who likes WWII or aviation books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brave Idea!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock's Squadron - The Incredible True Story of the Unsung Heroes of World War Two (Kindle Edition)
A valiant attempt at personalising the war experience of the author's father which did not really work for me. I was drawn to purchase it as it describes the Stirling, surely the most risky of the British heavy bombers to operate and very much in the shadow of the Lanc. Found the description of operations moving and serves a purpose of paying respects to very brave young men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sterling's Squadron, 17 Sep 2013
By 
G. O. Adamson "Owen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock's Squadron - The Incredible True Story of the Unsung Heroes of World War Two (Kindle Edition)
Great reading glad we met Steve at restaurant just outside Benidorm last March. Glad to see your dad made it though ok .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sterling's Squadron, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock's Squadron - The Incredible True Story of the Unsung Heroes of World War Two (Kindle Edition)
I was very disappointed with this book. Instead of concentrating on the experiences of Holmes the author tries to cover it all. Even including conversations of Hitler with his generals. It doesn't work and I nearly didn't finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good tale with a few silly mistakes., 22 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. E. Bray (North-west United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock's Squadron - The Incredible True Story of the Unsung Heroes of World War Two (Kindle Edition)
This is a nice readable tale, but there are a few classic blunders.
First off, the character is going home on leave to Lancaster - behind a Thompson A1 steam engine of the East coast line! Lancaster would have been LMS, and they didn't have Thompson's engines!

Second, he has the crew of his Sterling chattering to each other via RADIO - nope, it would have been via intercom.

And the third one I spotted, the various aircraft in the squadron were chattering to each other, whilst en-route to the target in Germany. No way. Strict radio silence was maintained, so the Luftwaffe couldn't direction-find them, and work out how many aircraft were involved in the raid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor!, 13 Nov 2014
By 
Athers (worcester, worcestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sherlock's Squadron - The Incredible True Story of the Unsung Heroes of World War Two (Kindle Edition)
I am afraid this is one of the most poorly researched books I have ever read. Another reviewer has pointed out some errors; believe me, that is a kind review - the errors are numerous. I fully laud the desire that the author has to respect the memory of his brave father, but if a book is to be published claiming to be an 'incredible true story' then it should stick (largely) to the truth. I do not like writing negative reviews, however I care more for the memory of those who served in 'heavies' during the war. They deserve for their story to be told well - this book is a long way short of that aspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read I ages, 11 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock's Squadron - The Incredible True Story of the Unsung Heroes of World War Two (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this book down , I personally feel like I knew the crew. Sherlock and the rest of the crew were like a family ,and looked out for each other . And the way Sherlock adopted patch made my heart swell with happiness as patch adored him.I'm pleased he had a happy home with Sherlock and his family after the war .This book tears at your heart strings as the crew go through all those dangerous missions and lots of there friends went missing or died after getting shot down .At the end I suppose they were the lucky ones .God bless them !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very moving account of one man's war..., 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock's Squadron - The Incredible True Story of the Unsung Heroes of World War Two (Kindle Edition)
My father was on Stirlings during the war and he was fond of them. Although John 'Sherlock' Holmes was in a different squadron there was lots of detail in this to give me a further idea of what conditions were like and the author brings the men to life wonderfully on the page. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this...despite various feelings of frustration, horror, triumph and sorrow as the story unfolded. Recommended reading for anyone interested in any aspect of Bomber Command, RAF etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHERLOCK'S SQUADRON, 16 July 2013
This review is from: Sherlock's Squadron (Paperback)
brilliant read of wartime bombers loved it, made me laugh ,cry, and hold my breath all at the same time. A must for readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews