Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Jay Z the sickest 40 yr old rapper
this album is just incredible Holy Grail & withmeyouknowigotit my favourite songs a must download MP3 album so purchase this
Published 2 months ago by connor

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corporate jigga
Firstly the whole Samsung deal masked this album and the whole 'event' feels rather corporate and for a hip hop album that's the bi opposite of the genre. But rules are there to be broken and jay z has always been on the tounge of every hip hop fan either loved or hated and from non rap fans he's up there with eminem for people trying get cool points. So when all the hype...
Published 8 months ago by Gaz-d


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corporate jigga, 4 Aug 2013
This review is from: Magna Carta Holy Grail (Audio CD)
Firstly the whole Samsung deal masked this album and the whole 'event' feels rather corporate and for a hip hop album that's the bi opposite of the genre. But rules are there to be broken and jay z has always been on the tounge of every hip hop fan either loved or hated and from non rap fans he's up there with eminem for people trying get cool points. So when all the hype has died down how did the album do.

My opinion.... It's erm ok. Jay has done a lot better. This albums feels rushed, short on new lyrical content, you don't need rap about drug dealing in your 40s when your a millionaire so I get it but you don't need to make nearly every song about being a millionaire. It's good at first then soon bores. The best jigga is the deeper songs or if he is fronting about money then do it over classic club beats. Timbland is good at beats but a whole album full is too much, need that kanye, that 9th wonder, just blaze.., basically like blue print 2 which was a classic.

Holy grail is a good opener and starts well but then becomes so so for the rest until the last couple. If jay had put this album down to 10-11 songs it would of been better and most hip hop classics are normally the shorter albums think nas- illmatic.

So what would of made this album better... Less songs,deeper lyrics,different produces and less corporate publicity... Sounds familiar? Yes kanye west- yeezus which is gettin 5/5 everywhere and is a classic. Jay came around the same time as this album and drake uploads plus you got earl sweatshirt and big sean dropping, mac miller and j cole. Jay is no longer a big fish in a small pond like years back there's now serious completion and jay can do better than this.

So if your a jay z fan.,, buy it,join the collection but don't get your hopes up. If your looking at getting into jay z then buy reasonable doubt,blueprint and 3 and defo watch the throne which is when jay shines when having competition on records see bbc on this album. It's ok but not as good as it could of been.

Rate my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Strange but true, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have to say the production outdoes the lyrics and flow on this one. I waited for the album with baited breath and it just didn't meet my expectations. Have about 3 tracks which I rotate - including the 55 second long 'Beach is Better' - and I don't listen to the rest....strange but true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magna Carta Holy Grail (Audio CD)
Good CD but not great, I think Jay Z is better than this album but there are a few massive tunes on this one so Im happy with the buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jay Z the sickest 40 yr old rapper, 28 Jan 2014
this album is just incredible Holy Grail & withmeyouknowigotit my favourite songs a must download MP3 album so purchase this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jayz can't go wrong, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magna Carta Holy Grail (Audio CD)
I am a massive jayz fan, so I love this cd. Full of great tunes. Any fan would love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magna Carta Holy Grail (Audio CD)
I love Jay Z. I bought his blueprint 3 album and loved that. I also bought his joint album with Kanye West - Watch the Throne - absolutely love that album. Now this album, Magna Carta, such a let down. I'd say only about three great tracks on it, a few ok take it or leave it tracks and 3 tracks I really don't like. It's as if he's run out of ideas and he's trying too hard. I would not recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Repeat listens, 11 Nov 2013
By 
c "Conrad" (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magna Carta Holy Grail (Audio CD)
Greatest rap artist in the game, and he is the only artist out there right now making music which endears the listener to have repeat listens. Great lyrics and beats which you appreciate more and more with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't meet his own high standards, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: Magna Carta Holy Grail (Audio CD)
I've been up on Jay-Z since his on-wax debut in 1990.

He is, without a doubt, the most credible rap star on the planet. This is, however, despite a number of patchy albums sitting next to his classics. The reason why? It's because he has become so much bigger than the music. But you all know this...

So what's this album like? Well, it has some banging contemporary beats. It has some big name features. But does it have the hits? A few... but I think the biggest issue is the fact that some of his rhymes really sound quite lazy and lethargic. Don't tell me the guy on Tom Ford is as hungry as the guy on Dead Presidents back in the day.

And having Justin on the insipid hook of the lead track just left me cold. Some things, a bit like his past singles such as Sunshine and City Is Mine, just sound too contrived.

But Picasso and other tracks on here still bang hard, and this still ranks as a hip-hop essential for 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magna Carta Holy Grail review, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magna Carta Holy Grail (Audio CD)
Magna Carta Holy Grail!?

What should you expect? Classic after classic after classic; non-stop listening to thoroughly entertaining music!!

This album is arguably Jay Z @ his best, it is only comparable to his previous classics, such as Reasonable Doubt, The Blueprint, and The Black album.

Make sure you get yours :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not the best in all honesty, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magna Carta Holy Grail (Audio CD)
Not one of his best efforts in doing a good set of tracks, seems very rushed and cut n choped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b55864)

This product

Magna Carta Holy Grail
Magna Carta Holy Grail by Jay-Z (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews