Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous camera, don't have to lug around a large SLR anymore (a non-technical review)
I bought this camera a few weeks' ago because I was finding it impractical to lug around an SLR - especially as we like to take a lot of family photos when we're out and about with the kids and a bulky SLR is just another thing to carry. Sometimes, you just want to take a compact that can fit into a pocket without compromising (too much) on quality and with which you can...
Published 19 months ago by G Marwaha

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You can achieve awesome photos, but it's not always easy or fast to do so.
I'm going to review this from a real world perspective, from someone who wants to capture instant memories in high quality, without having to become an expert.

Having owned the Nex-5, Canon G9 and numerous other good cameras I wanted a camera that was ultra-portable, flip screen, wifi, gps and very high quality photos for a new baby.

This camera...
Published 13 months ago by C Rowe


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous pro-quality compact, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
Dr. J. TOBIAS (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony RX100M2 Advanced Cybershot Digital Compact Camera (20.2MP) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
the results this wee camera can produce are simply stunning, I wanted a small , take anywhere camera that still produced quality. My usual beast is a leica M9 / summicron glass and this comes pretty close (when shooting raw)

The zeiss lens excells and the big sensor ensures quality output.

It really is tiny and definately shirt-pocketable

dont dither, just buy it...I guarantee you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You can achieve awesome photos, but it's not always easy or fast to do so., 24 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Sony RX100M2 Advanced Cybershot Digital Compact Camera (20.2MP) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
I'm going to review this from a real world perspective, from someone who wants to capture instant memories in high quality, without having to become an expert.

Having owned the Nex-5, Canon G9 and numerous other good cameras I wanted a camera that was ultra-portable, flip screen, wifi, gps and very high quality photos for a new baby.

This camera nearly fits the bill, it has an astounding amount of features and manual functions for the more accomplished photographer.

However, for point and shooters out there I've noticed the autofocus is slow and inaccurate resulting in many blurry photos. Switch to manual and you get crisp very high quality shots. But the trade off is this is fiddly and slow to focus manually, meaning either blurred or missed shots.

The wifi is sadly very mixed. To share or transfer photos is easy, but to remote control the camera is slow and it drops connections on an iPhone 5 with the PlayMemories app. Group shots are impossible as everyone gets bored before you can get a stable connection and take a photo.

Sony are slow to update the accompanying ios app, even though the reviews slam how poor and clunky it is (2.5 stars average as of today).

For me GPS is a big deal, I like looking back at photos by location. One can only assume it's not as big a deal for everyone enough to make Sony include it. So I'm not knocking off stars for it.

Overall this is an awesome camera for it's size, with a spec list as long as a phone book. In the real world, for me at least, it is too slow and/or too inaccurate to focus sharply on some moving objects like kids, and the wifi remote functionality is terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spontaneity, 28 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony RX100M2 Advanced Cybershot Digital Compact Camera (20.2MP) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The list is endless and on almost every specification it ticks the box for a Pro choice. 3 inch LCD that can flip both ways, top sensitivity ISO 12,800, one inch 20.9 megapixel CMOS sensor, Zeiss lens with 3.6 optical zoom, digital zoom equivalent to 14 x at 20 metres, multi input USB and shoe, WiFi, built in flash, tracking focus.

And then you look at it.

It is as if a Range Rover has been shrunk to the size of a Smart car. Perfectly formed but pocket sized. Would a pro want something this small? Would an amateur such as me want all these facilities? Isn't it a bit small to be taken seriously? I thought the market was moving to interchangeable lenses?

Slowly I got what it was about.

The highest specification camera in existence is of no use if it isn't with you when you want the shot. If the herds of Wildebeest have swept majestically across the plain or Krakatau has finished erupting by the time you have swapped lenses then all the kit in the World will not give you much to remember. This is about having everything you need for most shots - still or movie - in a unit that you can simply slip into a pocket. This is a camera that is small enough that you can keep it with you rather than 'plan' to take photographs. It enables spontaneity.

There are so many layers of software that it is difficult to imagine that I will scratch the surface in terms of its potential but the key thing is that it covers most options. I won't scratch the lens, it retracts into the body when switched off so no losing time with lens caps. As to the hardware specifications these are Pro level in a body size that most would assume to be a 'snaps' camera.

A quite understated item in terms of its capabilities and which through its sheer portability enables moments to be captured on the fly. This camera brings the art back to what still or moving photography is all about- being able to capture life as it happens. After years of lugging bags and lenses and often having little to show for 'planned photography' this camera is putting a spring in my step in more ways than one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Complex but Good, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony RX100M2 Advanced Cybershot Digital Compact Camera (20.2MP) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
Excellent camera, if a bit complicated for the beginner. Quality of photos is excellent once you have learned how to use it. Can't give a really fair review as I'm still learning. However, an experienced friend who originally showed me this camera reproduces photos of first class quality which is why I purchased this particular one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great little camera in terms of image quality, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony RX100M2 Advanced Cybershot Digital Compact Camera (20.2MP) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
great little camera in terms of image quality. But disappointed with the AF and usability. I have a Ricoh GR and the Sony interface is a mess in comparison and the AF is not as reliable as my partners canon p&s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Compact Camera, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony RX100M2 Advanced Cybershot Digital Compact Camera (20.2MP) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
I cannot big this camera up enough. So simple to use and produces fantastic photos. Sharp and effective zoom lens but still small enough to fit in your pocket. Good range of features. Big, clear viewing screen at the back. Particularly good with capturing light making it great for any range but we loved the landscape shots that it took. Feels like a very good quality item and well worth the price. Highly recommended :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Photos good, connectivity iffy, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony RX100M2 Advanced Cybershot Digital Compact Camera (20.2MP) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
I bought this camera on the basis of rave reviews, to have a lightweight carry-everywhere as a backup to my DSLR Nikon. I am delighted by the quality of the pictures. However, one of my reasons for buying the M2 rather than the cheaper M1 was its wifi connectivity to the PC, for easy transfer of pictures. So far (after a fortnight), I have had no luck in getting it to work — the camera sees the PC but won't connect. The PC sees the camera under a USB link only, and can't detect it by wifi. All sorts of possible solutions and excuses for the problem appear online, but none has worked for me. I'm pleased with the quality of the pictures (which is what matters first), but deeply frustrated that one of the vaunted selling points of the camera is such a disappointment at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great camera, with hundreds of option, but..., 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony RX100M2 Advanced Cybershot Digital Compact Camera (20.2MP) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
A great camera, with hundreds of options, but as usual dreadful instructions or how to find and how to use them. I downloaded other instructions and final purchased a book on how to use the camera. The book however assumes some prior knowledge of the camera and is useful but not great.
I think it will take a long time to make use of a fantastic device, that is beautifully made and great to handle.
If you use just the auto point and click you are missing so much nut that enables you to use it out of the box..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Camera with a mean punch!, 28 July 2013
This review is from: Sony RX100M2 Advanced Cybershot Digital Compact Camera (20.2MP) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
I have had this camera for about a week now and agree with what the first reviewer has written.

I have the Olympus OM-D EM-5 and assortment of lenses but wanted a camera I could literally put in my jeans pocket and get excellent results. After doing a lot of research, it looked like the RX100 was about the best out there. When I heard about the RX100 M2 I went to a Sony pre-view day and liked what I saw and pre-ordered the camera.

I have had quite a few similar sized cameras over the years but the RX100M2 is FAR superior to anything of the same size. It's amazing....and punches well above it's weight. I promise you won't be disappointed!

This camera will compete with the lower end full frame DSLR's! I have taken about 100 pictures with it in varying circumstances and it has an abundance of choices of picture modes/filters. Powerful pop up flash and many functions can be assigned.

The only slight criticism I have of it is that the screen (there is no viewfinder built in) can be difficult to see in bright light. The optional EVF is quite expensive but excellent apparently.

It has virtually every function you could want. The only one lacking was the ability to have your details written into the EXIF data. Various HDR modes.

To sum up, the pictures from this camera alongside ones from a DSLR would be hard to distinguish if you did not know what cameras they came from.

Yes, it's pricey............but you get what you pay for. The original RX100 was apparently awesome and this is an improved version.

I'm 100% satisfied and it more than does what I bought it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic camera., 16 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Sony RX100M2 Advanced Cybershot Digital Compact Camera (20.2MP) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
Spent a lot of time deliberating whether to buy this camera or it's cheaper predecessor. It costs a hefty price and are the minor advancements - 24 fps movie feature, better low light shooting, hotshoe and a flip out display - worth an extra £200? In the end took the plunge and have to say that I haven't regretted it. Yes, its expensive but the flip out display is great for discreet shooting and on a recent holiday was able to get fantastic indoor shots without using the flash. Yet to test the movie setting properly but the stills are excellent quality. Sure, for the same price you can buy a SLR but the real selling point of this camera is its size. It's something you can begin to take everywhere without it getting in the way or feeling like a cumbersome object hanging from your neck. Furthermore, its photographs border on medium budget SLR quality and are far superior in size and quality to anything a top-end smart phone will take. Smart phone photographs quickly show their limitations when enlarged or you want to start cropping the image.

So if you're keen to explore photography and want advanced features in small discreet camera that's always at hand when the mood or a great shot grabs you then the RX100 M2 is a pleasure to own and use. I also splashed out on the Sony case. Expensive again but excellent for the job and well worth investing in. Also, as others have mentioned, the camera's build quality is fantastic but if you're concerned about splashing out so much dosh on a camera then Sony offer longer warranties for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews