Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£18.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2013
This is Carcassonne but with a wintry reskin plus twelve extra tiles featuring bears, foxes, wolves, crows, reindeer, boars and the mysterious wolpertinger (an antlered rabbit with wings from Bavarian folklore) to provide an extra bit of variation. Also included is the Gingerbread Man expansion which gives you a gingerbread man follower plus six gingerbread branded city tiles that give the knights inside the city extra points whenever the Gingerbread Man visits! The whole reskin has charm and even the C logo on the reverse of the tiles is styled like frozen ice, complete with scratch marks as if skated on. Originally, these two products; Carcassonne: Winter Edition and the Gingerbread Man expansion were only available as separate imports but Z-Man have packaged them into one convenient box.

Note that unlike the new edition of Carcassonne this edition does not come with the twelve tile river expansion.

Note that the box photo is wrong and not the Z-Man version but the Hans Im Gluck version, the contents should also include the 6 gingerbread man tiles (90 tiles in total) and the last two photos show tiles with custom stickers and are graphically different from the product's tiles. The first photo with the meeples are the product's actual tiles. I have told Amazon about these errors but they insist they are correct and don't need amending...
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
At time of writing this game is a mere £13.99 which is an absolute steal. For this price you get:-

Winter Carcassonne - with the same rules as normal carcasonne but with some extra tiles that add some interesting twists to the game

Gingerbread Man Mini expansion.

For anyone who has not played Carcassonne I would state flat out that this is a better game than the standard game. Visually the artist used for the winter edition has done a superb job to create enjoyable and compelling art that perfectly fits with the game. Also the extra bonus tiles enhance the game play significantly but subtlety enabling more ways for battles over fields to take place and be resolved.

If you have not played carcassonne it is a great tile placing game for 2-6 players. It has a fair amount of strategy, its really quick to learn and it has the right amount of luck to ensure that everyone has a chance of winning but better strategy certainly gives you a big edge. On each go you place a tile to form part of a map with a combinations of roads, fields, chapels and cities on it. You then place a person/meeple if you wish on either the road, farm, chapel or city. Its a point scoring game and some points are scored during the game and others at the end.

The Gingerbread Man Mini Expansion is a lot of fun and it adds more variety to the game than most other expansions available for the standard game. It does both increase the luck factor and create a wide range of interesting strategic possibilities that take a while to see how best to exploit.

The biggest advantage of getting the standard game instead of this is that there are many expansions for the main game that can add a lot of variety and diversity to the game. Whilst this is true in Winter Carcasonne you get a full game with one of the best expansions for the price of a standard expansion and you can actually use the expansions with winter carcasonne.

With the first expansion (Inns and Cathedrals) you can certainly use the large Meeple expansion and the scoring tokens just as easily as with the main expansion although using the other parts of the expansion and most of the other expansions would require you to be ok with artistic inconsistencies such as it being winter on one tile and not on the next. With the second large expansion the builder and pig work really well with the winter game even if the other elements of that expansion run into the same artistic inconsistencies mentioned.

The game is one of the few games of this type that is just as good with 2 players as 3 or 4. There is plenty of depth in the standard winter edition, particularly if you use the gingerbread mini expansion but this also makes an excellent entrance point into all the different games that can be played with the expansions, even if you decide to get the standard carcasonne game afterwards to fully take advantage of them.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
This was the best xmas present we had for 2013. Two young players and two adults and lots of games. For the price and play ability it is a winner. The rules are simple to pick up and the artwork is very good. Great stuff :)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Stuart's review (above) deftly covers what Carcassonne Winter Edition is, and what you get in the box. I second that it is the (newer) Z-Man edition with the Gingerbread Man expansion. The components are decent quality and I do like the winter themed art especially because I bought this as a Christmas present.

Carcassonne is a great game with simple enough rules so it's quick to learn but there is plenty of scope for strategy to improve your score the more you play e.g. if you wished to play more competitively (as more likely with all adults playing than with family/children.)

It's not the sort of game to get people animated and/or laughing (try The Resistance or Avalon for that) so it's more a quiet thoughtful game, perfect for colder evenings indoors with friends or family.

Highly recommended especially at £14 from Amazon themselves.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
This game has really simple rules but gets surprisingly tricky with lots of players trying to get the better of each other! It's a lot of fun, I particularly enjoy mapping out the cities because they can turn out in really interesting shapes. It's as complicated as you want it to be which makes it really good for a diverse group or parties.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
I just received is the Z Man games version and doesn't have the game award 'Spiel des Jahres 2001' on its front cover. I have just taken a couple of photos of the Carcassonne Winter Edition that Amazon just sent me. A part from that the game looks lovely and can't wait to play it.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
I purchased this game as a Christmas treat or our family, as we have played ordinary Carcassonne a lot and really enjoyed it. The game itself is fun, quite quick to play, easy to learn for all ages and sociable, so all good so far! This is played the same way as basic Cacasonne, so has all the fun of the original but although it is nice to have the wintry scenes, which are nicely drawn, there are some disadvantages to this set.

For starters, the Gingerbread Man, which is a mini expansion set and allows the game to be a bit more complicated for experienced players, is not included as it used to be, which was disappointing. When I purchased it, the Amazon description said that it was included, so I contacted the supplier , who was very helpful. And secondly, I don't think it would be possible to incorporate other expansion sets with this one, as the design is so much different, and having snowy and ordinary tiles next to each other would look odd. So, to summarise this is a bit limited if you want to expand later, but a nice set for winter, maybe just something to bring out each year as part of a family Christmas tradition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
This is a nice version of the game and is the full version with the gingerbread expansion. Our kids enjoy it too and they are 3 and 6 we just don't play with the farmers when we play with them as that would be too complicated for them to work out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
In my massive collection of games, this has to be in the top three of most beautiful games. The artwork on the tiles is lovely, and the snowy landscape which develops as the game progresses results in, " a work of art" (my wife says!). All sorts of really attractive little touches in the artwork; wolves, bears, reindeer, devils, log cabins. The gameplay is the same as regular Carcassonne, apart from a small difference concerning the placing of a Gingerbread Man, which can be ignored if you wish. If I was buying Carcassonne from scratch, this is the edition I would buy. A great game!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
I was introduced to Carcassonne by some friends, playing the regular version including the river expansion set. I enjoyed that enough to buy my own copy and I chose this one as it was on sale (£14) and reviews suggested the Gingerbread Man expansion was the better version. I also agree that it's much better than the river expansion, which just adds some tiles which may or may not enhance field and farmer play. The Gingerbread Man expansion adds 6 city tiles and there are a few new tactics to get the best from him.

The wintry theme of the tiles is also very well done. I think it looks better than the regular version. If you wanted to use other expansion sets with it you'd obviously have to put up with different styles (not a problem for me) and use a bag for the tiles (like scrabble) as the backs would also look different.

As for Carcassonne itself, it's a great game. I'm not a board game player normally, I initially played with my friends out of politeness but was so glad I did. My first games were with four or five players and I couldn't see how the game could be any good with just two, for which it is recommended. However, I now much prefer the two player game as it's less random and allows more planning as you have a reasonable chance of getting a particular tile that you might need. You do, however, have to put up with the other player checking the list of available tiles as much as you do!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)