Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whimsical Winterland wonderment
This is Carcassonne but with a wintry reskin plus twelve extra tiles featuring bears, foxes, wolves, crows, reindeer, boars and the mysterious wolpertinger (an antlered rabbit with wings from Bavarian folklore) to provide an extra bit of variation. Also included is the Gingerbread Man expansion which gives you a gingerbread man follower plus six gingerbread branded city...
Published 20 months ago by Stuart

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Discription on Amazon site has wrong age range for this game, makers state 13+ not 8+ as stated
I only ordered this game + another one on Saturday and already here 5 stars for that service. However very disappointed that the info for this game shows its for age range 8+ but the box quite clearly states 13+. I will be no use for my grandchildren which it was bought for. Will have to purchase another game to replace this one.
Published 6 months ago by Lazy Shopper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whimsical Winterland wonderment, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
Stuart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Winter Edition (Toy)
This is Carcassonne but with a wintry reskin plus twelve extra tiles featuring bears, foxes, wolves, crows, reindeer, boars and the mysterious wolpertinger (an antlered rabbit with wings from Bavarian folklore) to provide an extra bit of variation. Also included is the Gingerbread Man expansion which gives you a gingerbread man follower plus six gingerbread branded city tiles that give the knights inside the city extra points whenever the Gingerbread Man visits! The whole reskin has charm and even the C logo on the reverse of the tiles is styled like frozen ice, complete with scratch marks as if skated on. Originally, these two products; Carcassonne: Winter Edition and the Gingerbread Man expansion were only available as separate imports but Z-Man have packaged them into one convenient box.

Note that unlike the new edition of Carcassonne this edition does not come with the twelve tile river expansion.

Note that the box photo is wrong and not the Z-Man version but the Hans Im Gluck version, the contents should also include the 6 gingerbread man tiles (90 tiles in total) and the last two photos show tiles with custom stickers and are graphically different from the product's tiles. The first photo with the meeples are the product's actual tiles. I have told Amazon about these errors but they insist they are correct and don't need amending...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Wintery Version of Carcasonne at bargain price, 21 Jan. 2014
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Winter Edition (Toy)
At time of writing this game is a mere £13.99 which is an absolute steal. For this price you get:-

Winter Carcassonne - with the same rules as normal carcasonne but with some extra tiles that add some interesting twists to the game

Gingerbread Man Mini expansion.

For anyone who has not played Carcassonne I would state flat out that this is a better game than the standard game. Visually the artist used for the winter edition has done a superb job to create enjoyable and compelling art that perfectly fits with the game. Also the extra bonus tiles enhance the game play significantly but subtlety enabling more ways for battles over fields to take place and be resolved.

If you have not played carcassonne it is a great tile placing game for 2-6 players. It has a fair amount of strategy, its really quick to learn and it has the right amount of luck to ensure that everyone has a chance of winning but better strategy certainly gives you a big edge. On each go you place a tile to form part of a map with a combinations of roads, fields, chapels and cities on it. You then place a person/meeple if you wish on either the road, farm, chapel or city. Its a point scoring game and some points are scored during the game and others at the end.

The Gingerbread Man Mini Expansion is a lot of fun and it adds more variety to the game than most other expansions available for the standard game. It does both increase the luck factor and create a wide range of interesting strategic possibilities that take a while to see how best to exploit.

The biggest advantage of getting the standard game instead of this is that there are many expansions for the main game that can add a lot of variety and diversity to the game. Whilst this is true in Winter Carcasonne you get a full game with one of the best expansions for the price of a standard expansion and you can actually use the expansions with winter carcasonne.

With the first expansion (Inns and Cathedrals) you can certainly use the large Meeple expansion and the scoring tokens just as easily as with the main expansion although using the other parts of the expansion and most of the other expansions would require you to be ok with artistic inconsistencies such as it being winter on one tile and not on the next. With the second large expansion the builder and pig work really well with the winter game even if the other elements of that expansion run into the same artistic inconsistencies mentioned.

The game is one of the few games of this type that is just as good with 2 players as 3 or 4. There is plenty of depth in the standard winter edition, particularly if you use the gingerbread mini expansion but this also makes an excellent entrance point into all the different games that can be played with the expansions, even if you decide to get the standard carcasonne game afterwards to fully take advantage of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great family game, 6 Jan. 2014
By 
T. Doyle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Winter Edition (Toy)
This was the best xmas present we had for 2013. Two young players and two adults and lots of games. For the price and play ability it is a winner. The rules are simple to pick up and the artwork is very good. Great stuff :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, 14 Feb. 2014
By 
A. Haylock "Blunty Fan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Winter Edition (Toy)
This game has really simple rules but gets surprisingly tricky with lots of players trying to get the better of each other! It's a lot of fun, I particularly enjoy mapping out the cities because they can turn out in really interesting shapes. It's as complicated as you want it to be which makes it really good for a diverse group or parties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great game, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Winter Edition (Toy)
This is a nice version of the game and is the full version with the gingerbread expansion. Our kids enjoy it too and they are 3 and 6 we just don't play with the farmers when we play with them as that would be too complicated for them to work out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab game and great edition, 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Winter Edition (Toy)
I was introduced to Carcassonne by some friends, playing the regular version including the river expansion set. I enjoyed that enough to buy my own copy and I chose this one as it was on sale (£14) and reviews suggested the Gingerbread Man expansion was the better version. I also agree that it's much better than the river expansion, which just adds some tiles which may or may not enhance field and farmer play. The Gingerbread Man expansion adds 6 city tiles and there are a few new tactics to get the best from him.

The wintry theme of the tiles is also very well done. I think it looks better than the regular version. If you wanted to use other expansion sets with it you'd obviously have to put up with different styles (not a problem for me) and use a bag for the tiles (like scrabble) as the backs would also look different.

As for Carcassonne itself, it's a great game. I'm not a board game player normally, I initially played with my friends out of politeness but was so glad I did. My first games were with four or five players and I couldn't see how the game could be any good with just two, for which it is recommended. However, I now much prefer the two player game as it's less random and allows more planning as you have a reasonable chance of getting a particular tile that you might need. You do, however, have to put up with the other player checking the list of available tiles as much as you do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
R. Crozier (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Winter Edition (Toy)
Stuart's review (above) deftly covers what Carcassonne Winter Edition is, and what you get in the box. I second that it is the (newer) Z-Man edition with the Gingerbread Man expansion. The components are decent quality and I do like the winter themed art especially because I bought this as a Christmas present.

Carcassonne is a great game with simple enough rules so it's quick to learn but there is plenty of scope for strategy to improve your score the more you play e.g. if you wished to play more competitively (as more likely with all adults playing than with family/children.)

It's not the sort of game to get people animated and/or laughing (try The Resistance or Avalon for that) so it's more a quiet thoughtful game, perfect for colder evenings indoors with friends or family.

Highly recommended especially at £14 from Amazon themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Winter Edition (Toy)
Great game, easy to pick up but harder to master. Suitable for children 7 upwards, our son is great at this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Same rules as basic Carcassonne, but nicer to look at, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Winter Edition (Toy)
Same rules as basic Carcassonne, but with prettier winter tiles with snow. The version I bought also had the Gingerbread Man expansion included, which was also good, and a simple enough expansion to play. The downside is that, unlike standard Carcassonne, this will look odd if you play with the expansions, since any expansion apart from the Gingerbread Man will have the standard tiles without the snow (and possible a different shade of backing, although that's not an issue if you draw tiles from a bag instead of a pile). But as a standalone version of Carcassonne, it's excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice version that is easy to keep separate from the other version and expansions., 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Winter Edition (Toy)
Great fun, we use it when we want a short game without any of the expansions. The gingerbread rules can make the game 1 sided with only 2 players so we just use the extra tiles. Can also play with younger children if you omit farmers.
If you are new to Carcassonne I would recommend getting the standard version so you can expand it, but this version still gets 5 stars as we play it just as much (especially in the winter).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carcassonne Winter Edition
£29.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews