Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Howard for your deep understanding of everything you see and hear .
Absolutely loved it.Laughed all the way thru.Its hilarious
Howard is so perceptive and such a gifted writer
Recommended it to everyone that came from that era + all those that didn't .
Wish it was produced in hardback as a short story,I would buy it by the hundreds and gift it to everyone I met,and sell it in The Clothes Shop!
Published 21 months ago by CHERRYL COHEN

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as described in the blurb
Very short story. Focused only briefly the life of the author's father as a 'swag man' then went off in another direction, describing one of the swag man's assistants and his life as an art collector.
Published 21 months ago by Andrew Murtough


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Howard for your deep understanding of everything you see and hear ., 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Swag Man (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely loved it.Laughed all the way thru.Its hilarious
Howard is so perceptive and such a gifted writer
Recommended it to everyone that came from that era + all those that didn't .
Wish it was produced in hardback as a short story,I would buy it by the hundreds and gift it to everyone I met,and sell it in The Clothes Shop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Swag Man, 1 July 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Swag Man (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This kindle short is a memoir which takes us from market stalls in Northern England to Chatsworth. Howard Jacobson begins with memories of his father - a market stall holder who sold 'swag'; the only definition of which appears to be that it is both useless and badly made. Jacobson Senior was part sales patter and part entertainer, involved with shady deals and shoddy goods. Unwillingly, his son was often involved in helping with his sales pitch, although there were more willing (and possibly more useful) volunteers. Many years later, Howard meets up with one of those young men, who had worked alongside his father and became a well known and respected art collector. This is a short read, but full of memorable characters, especially the authors father and the irrepressible Frankie Cohen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular!, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Swag Man (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I loved every minute of it, if there was a Booker Prize for short stories this would win hands down.Even though am in it .Howard's
eye for observation is to perfection.

Amazon should deliver this to every home in Manchester(Prestwich,Whitefield and Hale) and give Howard the proceeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as described in the blurb, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Swag Man (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Very short story. Focused only briefly the life of the author's father as a 'swag man' then went off in another direction, describing one of the swag man's assistants and his life as an art collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Swag Man (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Ok but rather boring and not very interesting. You won't miss anything by not reading it - not worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very brief, I just didn't get it., 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Swag Man (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Just not my "cup of tea", wouldn't recommend it. i just didn't get it. Wouldn't read this author again. hh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I remember, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Swag Man (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This short book took me back to my childhood. Although I didn't visit Manchester, it was reminiscent of my many visits to London's Petticoat Lane and brought back great memories even though I didn't understand what was happening all of the time, everything falls into place now. A little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed this gentle read of an interesting time., 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Swag Man (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A nice read of a time long forgotten by some but is easily conjured up in mind by the Author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The swag man, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Swag Man (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the history and the pace of the storyline,but it could have had at least two more chapters.
to round the lives of the main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short, Crisp and amusing, 30 Nov. 2013
By 
T. W. H. Greenwood "Beethoven" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Swag Man (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Howard Jacobson's book 'The Swag Man' is a very short read. But every word is carefully thought out and I found the book touching in parts and carefully constructed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Swag Man (Kindle Single)
The Swag Man (Kindle Single) by Howard Jacobson
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews