Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Soviet POW's point of view
Today the Holocaust is known by the majority of the Western World and Auschwitz is a cornerstone of that knowledge. It is perhaps true that Jewish accounts represent the majority of the literature which depicts what happened during a genocide the likes of which the world could hardly believe had taken place when the war was over. Yet, for better or worse, those accounts...
Published on 28 Feb 2008 by T. Kunikov

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not gripping read
An interesting first hand account of one man's escape from hell. In fact he had several escapes, through a mixture of luck, courage and intelligence. At times the writing didn't seem to flow well, which may be because the author is not a professional writer and presumably the book is translated. Also, he goes into a lot of detail about some things in the camp, but then...
Published 9 months ago by Paul Richards


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Soviet POW's point of view, 28 Feb 2008
By 
T. Kunikov (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Escape from Auschwitz (Hardcover)
Today the Holocaust is known by the majority of the Western World and Auschwitz is a cornerstone of that knowledge. It is perhaps true that Jewish accounts represent the majority of the literature which depicts what happened during a genocide the likes of which the world could hardly believe had taken place when the war was over. Yet, for better or worse, those accounts helped and continue to help readers understand what these men, women, and children had to go through. This book represents, for me, the first time I have ever read an account from a Red Army Prisoner of War (POW) who had gone through Auschwitz in its early days, escaped, and then was able to confront his tormentors in court decades later and help to imprison them.

This is not an easy read, beatings, mass murder, executions, torture, and death are evident on practically every page of this small but powerful book. The author talks about how much he and some of those around him endured, suffered, witnessed, and overcame. Survival was not a daily endurance test but one that was fought every second of every minute. A wrong word, a wrong expression, and a wrong movement would be enough to get one beaten, tortured, and even killed. How humanity can stoop to such cruelty and barbarity is something that we might never understand, but to understand what it means for those caught on the other side is a necessity. This book goes far in making sure that we get a glimpse of what those caught in a hell on earth had to confront.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From Auschwitz (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant and poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moving, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From Auschwitz (Kindle Edition)
What horror and unimaginable suffering. How on earth anyone survived the appalling treatment these Russian prisoners had in Auschwitz. A well written book that keeps you engaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a film of this one, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From Auschwitz (Kindle Edition)
I have seen this film the book is just as good lots of detail of how things was we said never again but today ????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a survivor, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From Auschwitz (Kindle Edition)
I found this to be an entirely perspective on the ordeals inmates of Auschwitz had to face. This gives the Russian POW perspective and it is amazing any of them survived. Talk about tough!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not gripping read, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From Auschwitz (Kindle Edition)
An interesting first hand account of one man's escape from hell. In fact he had several escapes, through a mixture of luck, courage and intelligence. At times the writing didn't seem to flow well, which may be because the author is not a professional writer and presumably the book is translated. Also, he goes into a lot of detail about some things in the camp, but then glosses over things at the end (subsequent escapes and the trial) which I believe needed more detail.

The book is more about Auschwitz concentration camp life than escape, but its interesting and authentic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From Auschwitz (Kindle Edition)
Very good story,the hell this guy went through nothing short of a miracle,even though we all know what went on in auschwitz,a really good read of daily life as a Russian prisoner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read.., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From Auschwitz (Kindle Edition)
Having visited Auschwitz earlier this year I found this storey spell bounding and very true account of what happened as told by the guides
During our visit...
I would recommend this book as I could not put it down .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, but what the people went through, 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape From Auschwitz (Kindle Edition)
good, but what the people went through, hard to belive,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Nov 2014
By 
K. L. Pollard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escape from Auschwitz (Hardcover)
interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escape From Auschwitz
Escape From Auschwitz by Andrey Pogozhev
£3.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews