Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative.
Accounts of the naval war of world war 2 are to me very interesting and this one was well written, the sort of book you find easy and enjoyable to read. I particularly like single ship accounts or books or articles about single events such as reading about the battle of the north cape, which i read immediately after this book about one Germany' s merchant ship raiders...
Published 9 months ago by N. M. Thorogood

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting but...
An interesting account of its topic. However, it is another example of quite a few military history books that I have unwittingly bought on Kindle that are "padded-out" with "recreational" writing that are clearly imaginative, not factually accountable and surely cannot fairly or respectfuuly sit side by side with the sobering facts of actual events.
The author is of...
Published 9 months ago by browning


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative., 17 Nov 2013
By 
N. M. Thorogood "Bareham" (Wareham, Dorset. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beware Raiders!: German Surface Raiders in the Second World War (Kindle Edition)
Accounts of the naval war of world war 2 are to me very interesting and this one was well written, the sort of book you find easy and enjoyable to read. I particularly like single ship accounts or books or articles about single events such as reading about the battle of the north cape, which i read immediately after this book about one Germany' s merchant ship raiders. The Penguin was the most successful of the German Navies raiders. She intercepted and captured two entire whaling fleets plus many others. In the end she was caught out by one of the Royal Navy's 8 inch cruisers and nearly pulled a stunning victory. This book has inspired me to look for other books about Germany's other merchant raiders. The rest of the book tells something of the career of the Admiral Hipper, which had a somewhat mixed career. This book is well worth the price and is a good read, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beware Raiders!: German Surface Raiders in the Second World War (Kindle Edition)
There are not too many books around that are factual stories of about a little known part of WWII. This goes into great detail, without being boring. It doesn't take sides and all the horrors of war at sea are laid bare in this book.

For what little I paid for it, this is a book you have to have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb facts, 29 Nov 2013
By 
R. J. Dwyer "RONMAUR" (W.Midlands U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beware Raiders!: German Surface Raiders in the Second World War (Kindle Edition)
Great read . The historical facts put you right there on board, Did not realise that raiders were used as far south as the antartic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting but..., 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beware Raiders!: German Surface Raiders in the Second World War (Kindle Edition)
An interesting account of its topic. However, it is another example of quite a few military history books that I have unwittingly bought on Kindle that are "padded-out" with "recreational" writing that are clearly imaginative, not factually accountable and surely cannot fairly or respectfuuly sit side by side with the sobering facts of actual events.
The author is of course wholly sincere in his acknowledgement of the tragedy of the scale of human loss in this aspect of WW2 naval history.
Factually most interesting, but this style of "history" writing does not sit easily with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars somethings missing, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beware Raiders!: German Surface Raiders in the Second World War (Kindle Edition)
I was really enjoying this book, then halfway through sentences went missing at the end of the page, I reduced the font to smallest and realised that up to three sentences were missing, tends to spoil the flow of the story, anyone else noticed this or is it my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a tribute to the merchant navy, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beware Raiders!: German Surface Raiders in the Second World War (Kindle Edition)
very interesting book , makes you understand the courage of the unsung men of the merchant navy who gave so much with little recognition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no mercy, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beware Raiders!: German Surface Raiders in the Second World War (Kindle Edition)
this type of warfare was to some degree carried out by the allies against u-boats in the form of q ships but the Kriegsmarine seem to have got it down to a fine art.The ability to meet up with supply vessels in the middle of the ocean and to travel vast distances shows superior navigational skills and a willingness to fight for your country for very long periods of time.Very interesting subject but I never forget that they were dealing out death and misery on a large scale with absolutely no compunction about sinking unarmed merchant ships crewed by non-combatants. Very interesting to note that the Norwegians at that stage in the war were more than happy to co-operate with the raiders.Recommend this to people with an interest in the actual global scale of ww2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend to anyone who wants to learn hoe hard world ..., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beware Raiders!: German Surface Raiders in the Second World War (Kindle Edition)
Such bravery of both friend and foe alike, the book is a totally absorbing read, what men went through because of sadistic lunatic, lets hope and pray it never happens again. Recommend to anyone who wants to learn hoe hard world war 2 was. Thank you bernard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I also enjoyed his book Twilight of the U-boats and I'm just ..., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beware Raiders!: German Surface Raiders in the Second World War (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting read. Bernard Edwards writes very well. He manages to keep the narrative moving whilst still including a lot of information. I also enjoyed his book Twilight of the U-boats and I'm just about to start reading The Road to Russia about the arctic convoys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beware Raiders!: German Surface Raiders in the Second World War (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book.The author really took you there and the story unfolds leaving you wondering when this raider would ever be caught!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews