Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide with just the right details and many photographs
I purchased several D-day tour books and I think this was the best, most helpful one. It has pages of full color, present-day photographs and good descriptions of the sights. There are many maps in the book, which are helpful. It's a small enough book to fit in a backpack or handbag without being too heavy, but not small enough to fit in a big pocket in your trousers...
Published 22 months ago by J.P.K.

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not well put together.
Disappointed with this. Poorly edited and not proof read, silly mistakes make it a hard book to use on the go. Their maps are good but this was poor.
Published 12 months ago by S. E. Huxford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide with just the right details and many photographs, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased several D-day tour books and I think this was the best, most helpful one. It has pages of full color, present-day photographs and good descriptions of the sights. There are many maps in the book, which are helpful. It's a small enough book to fit in a backpack or handbag without being too heavy, but not small enough to fit in a big pocket in your trousers. The cover is laminated, so the book won't get ruined in the rain that Normandy is known for.

The cost of the book is well worth it. I strongly preferred reading this book and using it as a guide at my own pace, rather than paying over $100 per person for a guided tour. My grandfather landed at Omaha beach on D-day, and I wanted to spend more time seeing that beach and the places he fought. If you're interested in Omaha beach, I recommend also reading Joseph Balkoski's "Omaha Beach" for a thorough recount, and using C"ampaign 100: D-Day 1944 (1) Omaha beach", which has GREAT maps of the battlefield and many pictures taken from the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Guide Book, 6 Aug 2014
D-Day Normandy Landing Beaches

The D-Day commemorations of 2014 were to remember the battles of 70 years prior with the last of those young men who are now in their early 90s at their youngest in attendance. This was probably the last time the brave men would be able to attend and remember their contribution to the biggest invasion on to mainland Europe ever, while also remembering those who never able to go home.

As those who were there grow old and the memories begin to fade, my generation are probably the last to have Grandparents who fought in the World War 2 whose memories were fresh. Major & Mrs Holt first wrote their guidebook to the D-Day Normandy Landing Beaches for the 40th anniversary in 1984, this new book is updated and just as fresh as it was then.

As those who fought become fewer and their stories of what was happening to them and their mates begin to die with them, we need help in remembering what was happening and where. This book is the most definitive guide book to all the beaches even with GPS locations so even the stupid cannot get lost.

There are wonderful background stories so you can understand what you are looking at and why various things happened around the towns and villages. This book helps to bring to life the battles and the stories of those who were there at that time. Sometimes there are stories of the villagers and what they felt and what they saw.

From the approach the soldiers took from Portsmouth towards the beaches to what happened on the beaches as the allies moved towards their targets. It also covers those from the airborne divisions that landed and had to take various bridges and installations waiting to be relieved by their comrades. There are plenty of pictures and maps as well to aid your discovery of the beaches and the various towns.

This is a must have book for all students of history who wish to plan and go to Normandy and honour the memory of the sacrifices made. This is a great book with much need information that takes nothing for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughts on the above., 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very comprehensive, but maps not detailed enough, it took some time to find Hillman for example. A pity he panders to the myth that the British and Canadians were slow compared to the Americans, but against all the evidence it has become the accepted story. By and large it was good and I wouldn't have known where to start without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for anyone doing the D-Day tour, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major & Mrs Holt's Definitive Battlefield Guide to the D-Day Normandy Landing Beaches: Sixth Edition with Latitude and Longitude References (Kindle Edition)
A must have book for anyone doing the D-Day tour, written in such a way that you can dip in or out for shorter trips. Full of fascinating historical details and interesting facts about key individuals together with local info on where to stay and eat. Lots of photo's, particularly of individual memorials. Overall, a thoroughly good read and good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Masses of detail, let down by poor layout and maps, 4 Oct 2013
By 
BigJohnD (Glannau Mersi, Lloegr) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to give credit to the authors for their phenomenal research. The history, text and descriptions are first class, and this is great resource for anyone visiting Normandy with WW2 in mind. The SatNav co-ordinates are really useful.

However, the layout of the book needs a re-think (e.g. start a new location on a new page) and the over-simplified maps let it down. Also, there's too many modern day photos, many not directly linked to the neighbouring text. More photos from 1944 (if they exist and can be found and used) would be welcome.

Nevertheless, it considerably enhanced my experience of what my father must have been through on the Mulberry harbour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Updated and easy to read, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Major & Mrs Holt's Definitive Battlefield Guide to the D-Day Normandy Landing Beaches: Sixth Edition with Latitude and Longitude References (Kindle Edition)
If you are going to the beaches of Normandy and can take only one book, take this and the map that is issued in conjunction with the book. Updated and easy to read. The tours listed worked for me but then I would expect nothing else from the Holt's. These people have set the standard over the last ten years that everyone else is following. Great read, easy to follow maps with clear photographs of what to look for, splendid as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We found this so useful on our recent trip to the Normandy beaches, excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit complicated, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite complicated to read, but all the info is there. Get it with the walking guide and you have the best of both worlds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very comprehensive guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive indeed!, 3 July 2013
By 
Cinglais (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exhaustive, informative, and an interesting read.
A perfect guide for a visit, or series of visits, and robust enough to survive them all, it will be an excellent souvenir of a trip, too.
The amount of work that has gone into the preparation, and the regular updates, is very impressive - a serious military operation in it's own right!
Very satisfied with my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews