Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great informative book
I am still reading this book. It is so informative. I am thankful to lostcousins.com for recommending to read it. This book is very helpful in your research when doing family trees.
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaves out use tips for the Family Historian
I would expect a book with this title to include items like finding Possible Spouses - by finding all entries on a given page of the marriage index one can narrow the spouse down initially down to 2 and if one knows the Christian name one frequently has it down to 1. I believe there is also a method by which the church as distinct from the registration district can be...
Published 17 months ago by Mr David L Henwood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leaves out use tips for the Family Historian, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would expect a book with this title to include items like finding Possible Spouses - by finding all entries on a given page of the marriage index one can narrow the spouse down initially down to 2 and if one knows the Christian name one frequently has it down to 1. I believe there is also a method by which the church as distinct from the registration district can be determined. It was for features like these which were behind my purchase - hence my disappointment.

Solution - a second edition with these additions - with a complimentary copy to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great informative book, 23 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birth, Marriage and Death Records: A Guide for Family Historians (Kindle Edition)
I am still reading this book. It is so informative. I am thankful to lostcousins.com for recommending to read it. This book is very helpful in your research when doing family trees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read!, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birth, Marriage and Death Records: A Guide for Family Historians (Kindle Edition)
Jam-packed with information useful to the family historian. A useful reference book to have. One that will be ever helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy book to read and understand. I learnt a lot just by reading this book. It a great size and i can put it in my pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family Tree Research, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good basic guide to using BMD records in tracing your family tree. Worth buying even if you are an experienced researcher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birth, Marriage and Death Records, 31 May 2014
By 
P. R. Clarke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birth, Marriage and Death Records: A Guide for Family Historians (Kindle Edition)
A very informative book which provides a comprehensive coverage of the this important topic from a UK perspective starting from early parish registers (mostly Church of England, but other denominations are also discussed in some detail) through to the present day (post 1837) civil registration. It also covered events and records that took place overseas due to military service and / or service in India.

I enjoyed reading it and thoroughly recommend it.

There are a few illustrations of certificates and parish register which probably come out well on the printed version, but are just too small on the kindle version (I bought the kindle version).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars birth, marriage and death records., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am finding this book very helpful with my research, and would recommend it to anyone researching their family tree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birth, Marriage and Death Records: A Guide for Family Historians (Kindle Edition)
Really useful - reading through it slowly and picking up loads of useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
By 
JAD (Bridgend S.Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birth, Marriage and Death Records: A Guide for Family Historians (Kindle Edition)
A good guide and intro to how records started . Worth the pennies .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews