Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2015
Having served in the RAF during the '70s I found this a very interesting and colourful record of those years. Superbly written, it flowed beautifully through the author's very accomplished career.
Having flown in the rear seat of B2 and T22 Canberras myself it was most enjoyable to read the detailed account of life flying the aircraft during the same period. Having flown in the nav seat of a knackered B2 from St Mawgan to St Athan to be scrapped I do wonder if it was the same airframe that was mentioned crashing at St Mawgan? Who knows, it was certainly at the right time, but it just added to my enjoyment of the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
Well written, interesting and enjoyable. A good insight to the typical life of a career officer during this period.
A bit let down by inadequate proof reading. There are a number of glaring spelling mistakes and typos e.g. "wandering" is spelled "wondering" on at
least three occasions, "led" is spelled "lead" and "knew" is spelled "new".
One anecdote is repeated, word for word, three times. On another occasion, 2008 is described as the 80th anniversary of the RAF; this is 10 years adrift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
I have mentioned before I am not a fan of Autobiographies, but this book draws you in from the beginning, told in a relaxed and enjoyable sty;e the author takes you through his RAF Career, from basic training to front line fast jets. I found the whole book fascinating and found it hard to put down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
This book is superb, written by an airman for airmen.
Paul starts with a cliff-hanger, and the pages seem to turn themselves. There is a wealth of detail as Paul leads us through his highly successful career with the RAF, told with humour and modesty - a must for anyone with an interest in aviation!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
From the powerful photo on the front cover to the very last page this book doesn't fail to impress. It has everything a good book should have. Edge of the seat tension, poignancy and sadness when one reads of the harrowing losses, and best of all much humour. I cried and I laughed I enjoyed every single page and learned a great deal about a service of which I knew very little.. An impressive book written by a very talented man.
I would highly recommend it and it certainly deserves the 5 stars I've merited it with
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
In depth, insider knowledge from an incredibly talented man, some of it a bit repetitive, but fascinating tales of very skillful flying, as well as the frustrations endured because of "politics.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
In the book,he mentions a Tornado mid air with 2 GAF jets,I'd been at Bruggen a couple months when that happened & was one of the techies sent to recover the aircraft.
Reading that bought the memories flooding back.
A very good read,hard to put down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I know the author. He is someone who was looked upto and admired. He was in his capacity as an officer with the cadets someone who shared his knowledge and helped a great many people, I liked him and he is missed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
If you were in any way involved with the RAF,this recollection of a long impressive career will remind you of times past.
Well written and difficult to put for any aviation fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
One man's service in the best AIr FOrce in the world.
For those readers who have spent their service in both training and front line squadrons, this is a really good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)