Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer
Bought for a mate's birthday; he was very happy with it. Said I SHOULD read it too, to get my knowledge on steam loco's polished up!
Published 4 months ago by bill roberts

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, a missed opportunity.
This could have been so much better, a good book is spoiled by poor writing and content choice, together with errors. Technical in depth information is largely ommitted and what there is has errors, for example crosti 9f's described as "twin boilered". There are odd points of conjecture by the author which are unanswered and unsubstantiated, too much space is...
Published 17 months ago by C_steam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, a missed opportunity., 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This could have been so much better, a good book is spoiled by poor writing and content choice, together with errors. Technical in depth information is largely ommitted and what there is has errors, for example crosti 9f's described as "twin boilered". There are odd points of conjecture by the author which are unanswered and unsubstantiated, too much space is wasted on individual explanations of the names of the Clan and Brittannia class and worst, one single colour photo is included three times-proof reading is dead, it seems.

In short, a nice collection of photos, but greatly lacking in real depth. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Curate's Egg of a book, 13 July 2014
By 
Don Davis (Coulsdon, Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives (Kindle Edition)
Some absolutely fascinating information about the last flourish of steam locomotive design for British Railways, and a celebration of the 12 Standard types introduced in the dying days of steam traction. The author brings out the fact that the writing was already on the wall for steam even before the project was begun, and that these magnificent locomotives were to become obsolete so quickly that their construction costs could never have been justified. But what a marvellous legacy they left to railway preservation!

But the book has several issues, amongst which is the poor punctuation, which is a bit off-putting. In addition, there are one or two links in the e-version which don,t I would also have liked to see a chapter early on bringing together the reasoning behind the decisions as to how many different Standard types should be designed and what they should be. The facts are there, but they're scattered across the separate chapters for the various types, and what this approach gains in relevance to the individual chapters, it loses in overall coherence.

But what irritated me most - and I can only speak about the Kindle version, the paper version may be fine - is the abysmal layout of photographs and captions. Photos which I guess are on facing pages in the paper version almost invariably come out so the left half is on the right hand page and the right half is on the next left hand page, so it's impossible to see the whole photo even on a 10" iPad displaying two pages side by side. In the one exception, where the two halves ARE on facing pages, the engine and tender don't align, creating a bizarre effect. And the captions have often become orphaned or part-orphaned from the photos they apply to, often appearing at first sight to relate to a different photo. None of this should be laid at the author's door, of course; it's down to how casually the book was converted into e-format.

I wasn't bothered by what seems to have irked some other reviewers, the space given to the derivation of the names. I found this very interesting and felt it also gave a flavour of attitudes in that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars British Steam at the End, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives (Kindle Edition)
As the rest of the world turned to diesel and electric engine power the Brits carried with the use of coal and water, and built nearly a 1000 new locomotives in the onset of B.R. This is a very good book listing the operations, factories and of course the locomotives. Yes if you enjoy railways you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives (Kindle Edition)
Definitely a book that is "good in parts". It could easily have been so much better, if edited, and more technical information added. Quite a bit of the book is concerned with the naming of engines, and the origin and meaning of those names - OK that might be quite interesting in itself, but not here. The photos were a bit wasted in the kindle version, but for the small cost of that version, it is difficult to complain too much.

Perhaps the author should read the comments on Amazon, and revamp the book into a really good definitive work. My suggestion would be to cut down the bits on loco names, and add technical information, perhaps contrasting the features which are not so standard between classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not very good, 28 Feb 2014
By 
P. D. Lynch "monarch" (gt britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives (Kindle Edition)
very boring book no diagrams of cab or workings engine's, maintenance schedules and colour plate photograph's. will not be buying anymore of this type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for a mate's birthday; he was very happy with it. Said I SHOULD read it too, to get my knowledge on steam loco's polished up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Standard class locos, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives (Kindle Edition)
Some of this book is unnecessarily repetitive, despite this there is much interesting information about the BR standard classes and many good photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives (Kindle Edition)
Very good book- a trip down memory lane-contained many pictures- did seem to tend to reuse some photo's and one or two didn't seem to marry up to the text at times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives (Kindle Edition)
Did not hold my attention. A lot of detail - usually read through from start to finish but not this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Book file too large, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Steam - BR Standard Locomotives (Kindle Edition)
File too large to download. What can I do to receive this book is there a kindle help desk.
can I receive my money back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews