Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somme tours
This is an excellant contribution to the Somme books as published by Pen and Sword. Covers some well-known areas, and other areas which have been badly neglected such as Gommecourt and Flers where tanks were used for the first time. What is good about this edition are the well mapped routes and suggestions for the first time visitor. Good photos too, particularly of...
Published on 16 May 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but not brilliant
The Somme is a large and complex multi-phase battle zone, and introducing clarity is hard. We used this alongside the Holts' guide. On balance we preferred that for its structure, but Reed's did have complimentary detail, and would serve perfectly well if it was all you had.
Published 14 months ago by paul stamper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars For the enthusiast and even more importantly, a first-time visitor, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking the Somme - Second Edition (Battleground Europe) (Kindle Edition)
Walking the Somme. I have yet to walk one of the many routes in this guide but reading the planned routes stirs memories of our first visit to the Picardy area of northern France. Literally 90 minutes from Calais this guide vividly reminds us of our first visit (our second is planned and arranged for May 2014). We will, on our visit, attempt one or two of this guide's walks. From our experience the landscape is undulating rather than hilly and full of reminders of the horror that took place 100 years ago. Our first visit was life-changing for us, in the fact that we were embarrassed by our ignorance. This guide will further our knowledge of the area and its battlefields. First World War information in this publication, regarding the Somme, is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well presented book, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought book after visiting th Somme with a WW1 battlefield tour with intention of planning a walking tour in the area in the future, would certainly recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walking The Somme, 12 May 2013
Great tool for visiting the Somme. It certainly helped discover sites and areas that the myriad of other Somme books I've bought couldn't.
Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy to read, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In depth, easy to read, one of the very best guides to be available with enough military background to make a Somme Battlefield trip
meaningful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book., 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
we will certainly benefit from it when we walk the somme in france next year. Good clear information and maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend to others, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the book as going on battlefields tour. Found it a very helpful guide. Highly recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good companion when walking the Somme Battlefields
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't wait to try some of the walks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
full of useful imformation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews