Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Isambard
This book is an excellent book for anyone interested in Isambard Kingdom Brunel. We get to know his work and life. It focuses a fair share on the Great Western Railway which is not surprising considering that the writer has written much about railways. The book gives an insight into Isambard Kingdom Brunel various work and his life.
Published on 10 Jun 2012 by PeterH

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A 3-D man reduced to cardboard
This book may be a good introduction to Brunel's work for someone completely new to the subject, but I felt that throughout the book Brunel remained a shadowy figure, never really coming to life. Some significant aspects of his life are only touched on briefly, and whilst I wouldn't label it inaccurate, some important episodes seem to be somewhat glossed over. At times...
Published on 23 Jun 2012 by Don Davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A 3-D man reduced to cardboard, 23 Jun 2012
By 
Don Davis (Coulsdon, Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book may be a good introduction to Brunel's work for someone completely new to the subject, but I felt that throughout the book Brunel remained a shadowy figure, never really coming to life. Some significant aspects of his life are only touched on briefly, and whilst I wouldn't label it inaccurate, some important episodes seem to be somewhat glossed over. At times the book couldn't seem to make up its mind whether it was about Brunel, or the Great Western Railway (though I admit it's difficult to separate the two), or railway and transport history generally. In my view there are better books about the life and work of I. K. Brunel - L. T. C. Rolt's for example - but apparently not yet published in Kindle format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Isambard, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an excellent book for anyone interested in Isambard Kingdom Brunel. We get to know his work and life. It focuses a fair share on the Great Western Railway which is not surprising considering that the writer has written much about railways. The book gives an insight into Isambard Kingdom Brunel various work and his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Little Read, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Terence C. Chilvers (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting read but a very short one. I was hoping for more but the value is very good nonetheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This a was a gift, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This gift was highly praised as a great read and great pictorial images throughout the publication.
Just what the person wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars limited, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good but the subject is to large for a book of this size
should be read by all children as basic knowledge as to how brilliant this man was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great little book, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book full of interesting facts, bought this for a young man who is going to Brunel University on an engineering course, so I am sure it will be of interest to him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars hmmmmph! disappointing!, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i was really looking forward to reading this book. it promised much information about one of britains industrial heros... and it i true that it is full of facts! however, the style of writing leaves me wanting much more! i found it a difficult read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brunel, 24 Feb 2013
By 
C. Picton "Clashman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the book. I would have liked more information on Brunel's life, but as a quick overview of his achievements, this book was perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well written book, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good general over view of his career - some new facts I didn't know. A well written and presented book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Facinating story..., 10 Aug 2012
of the man who basically built Britain's transport infrastructure in the 1800's. Peppered with interesting facts that I didn't know before, for example, Brunel built the first tunnel under a navigable river,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Isambard Kingdom Brunel
3.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews