Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They would be proud., 19 Oct 2009
By 
Robin Mellor "July Japer" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carmarthen Pals (Hardcover)
My great grandfather's younger brother, John Robert Noyes, served with the 15th Welsh. Sadly, he was killed during the battle for Mametz Wood. I have read quite a few books on the battle for Mametz Wood and on the history of the 38th (Welsh) Division. However, these only provided brief details on the exploits of the 15th Welsh. It's great that this battalion now has it's own official history. The book follows the battalion from it's formation until it was eventually disbanded in 1919. The appendicies are also great, and everyone who lost their lives serving with the battalion gets a mention. This is a book that tells their story. I think they would be proud of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ordinary battalion at war, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carmarthen Pals (Kindle Edition)
An excellent account of a Pals battalion at war. The 38th Division, with which the Carmarthen pals fought had an unspectacular war, but this book is all the better for that giving a good insight of the war as experienced by an ordinary battalion. The 38th Division was in involved in several of the major actions on the western front; suffering severe losses taking Mametze wood early in the battle of the Somme , fighting on the first day of the battle of 3rd Ypres and seeing action in the hundred days. What comes across from reading this book is how these big attacks were only short episodes in the long, attritional, morale sapping struggle of the western front; most casualties being suffered in dribs and drabs as the battalion rotates in and out of the front line.
Also recommended: The Swansea pals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carmarthen pals, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carmarthen Pals (Kindle Edition)
I like historical books,in particular those written about the Great War. This book is very well written with enjoyable,personal accounts. A good read one I would recommend to other Great War readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the read., 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carmarthen Pals (Kindle Edition)
If you are interested in your local history during WW1 this is the writer for you. Having read Steven's other books on the men behind the names on the war memorials in our area I knew that I was getting a book that was full of names and plac es that was known to me. The book is full of information that is well researched and not in any way is it 'padded out' to fill the pages. I have used his books in my own research as I know I am getting good clear information. and I would like to see Steven devoting all of his time to his writings and perhaps turning out a novel on WW1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical and a Good Read, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carmarthen Pals (Kindle Edition)
A good read as well as an interesting historical document. Useful for those interested in history as well as miltaria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An insight into the soldiers of the first world war, 11 Oct 2013
By 
Waltzer (South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carmarthen Pals (Kindle Edition)
This is full of fascinating facts. My uncle was killed in the last days of the first world war, up until noww he has been just a name, now reading about the conditions and circumstances has fleshed him out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carmarthen pale, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carmarthen Pals (Kindle Edition)
I Thought the book was a very good read from start to finish .It gave you an excellent insight into .life on front line during that period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read ., 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carmarthen Pals (Hardcover)
A little disappointed with the lack of Battalion rolls information .Good appendices on casualties and awards to the Battalion ,with excellent illustrations .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carmarthen townie, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carmarthen Pals (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting read the author must have had a great deal of patience in researching the history.having attended the grammar school and played rugby on the playing field I have never heard of an elephant having been buried beneath the playing surface.you learn something every day.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Welsh Dragon, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carmarthen Pals (Kindle Edition)
As a proud welsh man who's grandfather's who seen action in both wars it is nice to read about welsh regiments instead of the Irish English and Scottish nice read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carmarthen Pals
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews