Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable
This books deals with the personal experiences of an RAF Lancaster Bomber navigator between 1944-1945. It gives you a view into the everday life of a member of the RAF and the hardships that he had to endure in those two years, from his training to be a pilot, bombing raids, the death of friends and the difficulties of maintaining a relationship.

I'd recommend...
Published on 22 May 2007 by The Bishop

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Personal Story
This is very much of a personal memoir, not a study of the Bomber Offensive. It is written in a 'writing a letter' style, and,as such, can seem a little mundane, which is a pity. We are told of the stark living conditions of life for NCO aircrew on the 'temporary' war aerodromes, and the irksome petty regulations of the RAF despite having a war going on. I wish we had...
Published on 12 May 2008 by CherryBee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Enjoyable, 22 May 2007
This books deals with the personal experiences of an RAF Lancaster Bomber navigator between 1944-1945. It gives you a view into the everday life of a member of the RAF and the hardships that he had to endure in those two years, from his training to be a pilot, bombing raids, the death of friends and the difficulties of maintaining a relationship.

I'd recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the RAF or WWII in general as it is informative and interesting without becoming a history textbook. It is a very easy and highly enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book not to be missed., 18 May 2007
By 
A. R. Jacubs (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains the complete range of emotions felt by a sergeant navigator on Lancasters bombing the heart of Germany in just over the last year of the war. His descriptions of the time he spent training with the appalling loss of life involved and the "bull" required by some of the senior officers during a time when the UK was fighting for her life is mind blowing.

The detailed events of the bombing raids themselves including the dreadful loss of life both on the ground and in the air and the feelings of the crews as they saw their mates blown to pieces, brings home to all who read this wonderful book how fortunate we were to have so many people like Don Feesey to break down the enemy who was hell bent on destroying us.

The difficulties experienced by Don and his fiancée - and others - in keeping going their relationships under the such unnecessary pressures as the RAF put on them also comes over so clearly to the reader.

I recommend this book to anyone with an interest in understanding what our often criticised RAF bomber crews went through in order that we all may be here today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Personal Story, 12 May 2008
This is very much of a personal memoir, not a study of the Bomber Offensive. It is written in a 'writing a letter' style, and,as such, can seem a little mundane, which is a pity. We are told of the stark living conditions of life for NCO aircrew on the 'temporary' war aerodromes, and the irksome petty regulations of the RAF despite having a war going on. I wish we had been told rather more about the 34 operations which Don Feesey flew (and survived), rather than quite so much about the damp bedding in the huts(!), but maybe it is right that we understand that life on the station was almost as challenging as life (and death) in the air. I had the impression that Don Feesey (Fizz) is a throughly decent and reliable man, and an asset to the rest of his crew - certainly his pilot had reason to think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry But a Bit Disappointing!, 20 Feb. 2008
By 
RJ Lane (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A Bit Disappointing

I have to say that I found the first chapters quite mundane to the point of boring. The descriptions of good food/ bad food and variable accommodation are totally relevant to his story but I didn't really learn anything new. The later chapters warm up with the description of combat and pressures that brings on personal relationships. In summary an interesting and worthy book, but not the best I've read on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating book, giving a different view of life as a Bomber Command navigator in the Second World War
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fly By Nights: Navigating RAF Lancasters in 1944 -5: Navigating RAF Lancasters in 1944-5 (Kindle Edition)
Very good reading plus my wife's late dad was one of the gunners (Ron hales)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews