Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read and great reference work
I thought this book was well written, in a good readable style, it will appeal to most people with an interest in the First world war and in particular anyone whose ancestors served in the DLI. It goes through formation of the pals battalions, training and then off to war.
Obviously it is about the the Durhams and therefore the scope of the book is limited by the...
Published on 14 July 2007 by Fusilier Tom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, but...
I bought this because a member of my husbands famly was a Durham Pal. Maybe it's better in paperback though. The punctuation and grammar are apalling, , you have to create sentences in your head to make sense of some of it. Pictures just appear in the middle of text with its own text underneath, also as I'm not a military person, more explanations of sections, battalions,...
Published 9 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read and great reference work, 14 July 2007
I thought this book was well written, in a good readable style, it will appeal to most people with an interest in the First world war and in particular anyone whose ancestors served in the DLI. It goes through formation of the pals battalions, training and then off to war.
Obviously it is about the the Durhams and therefore the scope of the book is limited by the fact it is about one particular regiment. The regiment in question however, suffered some of the worst privations of the trenches at Ypres and the Somme.I thoroughly recommend the book to anyone who wants to get an idea of what WW1 was like for the volunteer soldier but especially if you or family comes from Durham or served in the regiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 9 Jan. 2011
John Sheen, author of the two well received World War One titles, Tyneside Scottish and Tyneside Irish, has turned his attention to three battalions of the Durham Light Infantry to produce the Durham Pals. The book contains a record of the service of the 18th, 19th and 22nd battalions of DLI, but it is more than just a regimental history for it includes a great collection of personal accounts and individual experiences relating to the infantryman's war in the trenches.

The book is visually attractive with virtually every page brightened up with an evocative black and white photograph, most of which are of the individuals mentioned in the narrative. When we look into the faces of these long-dead heroes we see another world, a more simple world of duty and country, now long gone, lost forever. Their letters home describe the life they were sworn to: the fear, the monotony, the desperation and the inevitability of death and injury to themselves or to some friend or comrade close by.

In a military sense the book is full of fascinating information and detail, for all the regimental actions are covered in some depth, Sheen includes a chapter on the gallantry awards won by the battalions and has provided an alphabetical nominal role of all others ranks who served in each of the three battalions of the DLI. These rolls give name, date of birth, rank, town of residence, a section on their fate whether transferred or killed, e.g. `3/3/17 buried Gommecourt British Cemetery No 2', or `1/7/16 Theipval Memorial' and a few personal notes such as `age 25 Chief Clerk at Lingfield and Co., B. Auckland'.

It seems remarkable that a book such as this can be written today for it includes so many voices from the past, all of whom are now long dead. Those men fought on the first day of the Somme on 1st July 1916, at Messines, in Italy and in Flanders. The whole of the history of the Durham Pals is here, the good and the bad, for the book also includes details of the court martial and execution of three of their number. It is heartening to find that authors and publishers are today still able to produce books like this.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great war book, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
quality historical work about a great british regiment from my county good sturdy copy at a very reasonable price superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durham Pals: 18th, 19th, 20th and 22nd Battalions of the Durham Light Infantry in the Great War (Kindle Edition)
very good read filled with interesting stories of the DLI Pals anf their harrowing tour of duty and the major battles they fought in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, but..., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durham Pals: 18th, 19th, 20th and 22nd Battalions of the Durham Light Infantry in the Great War (Kindle Edition)
I bought this because a member of my husbands famly was a Durham Pal. Maybe it's better in paperback though. The punctuation and grammar are apalling, , you have to create sentences in your head to make sense of some of it. Pictures just appear in the middle of text with its own text underneath, also as I'm not a military person, more explanations of sections, battalions, etc would be helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Durham Pals, 26 Sept. 2012
Book brought for my mother as her great uncle served in the 22nd Battalion and lost his life in WW1. She has yet to read it but on a surface scan it looks very good. The book arrived in excellent condition and in good time would happily use this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its a detailed and well written history with plenty of useful information and gives a real insight into the lives ..., 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durham Pals: 18th, 19th, 20th and 22nd Battalions of the Durham Light Infantry in the Great War (Kindle Edition)
I've been using this book as research to chart my grandfather's war experiences. Its a detailed and well written history with plenty of useful information and gives a real insight into the lives of the soldiers of the DLI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 15 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift for my Mam, as a family from County Durham we're all intensely proud of our heritage and my Mam absolutely loves the books in this series by John Sheen, thanks a bunch! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book full of interesting information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Durham Pals: 18th, 19th, 20th and 22nd Battalions of the Durham Light Infantry in the Great War (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews