Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2014
Don't let the price fool you, - This is a truly superb book, - You will not be able to put it down.

It provides an excellent description of events during the raid, - The reality, the tragedy, the glory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
A somewhat long winded story of an extremely brave set of servicemen who showed bravery and courage above and beyond. A complex tale but nevertheless gripping account in all the terrifying aspects of fighting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Utterly remarkable person. Clearly written without being sentimental. Violette deserved the George Medal and her daughter must be so very proud of her and what she did in the name of freedom and Liberty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
True Hero's of the Second World War,it's amazing how brave the people were to go on a one way mission to destroy saint nazaire dock gates.royal navy Royal Marines are the Hero's of this book and ww11.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
An almost incredible catalogue of bravery - almost incredible, but it actually happened! I bought the Kindle version and the pictures emphasise the bravery and doggedness of the teams. A must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
Well written - diary form and actual script of officers etc. My main interest was the fact that my uncle was on that raid - he survived - was wounded and spent the rest of the war as a prisoner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
A concise and gripping account of the spectacular raid. The courage displayed by those who took part was truly heroic. Only the British would attempt such a deed in boats made of wood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
A group of us intend to visit Saint Nazaire soon and I came across this book 'St Nazaire-Operation Chariot' I purchased it through Amazon and was pleased with the speed of delivery.
Having read the book and studied the pictures and plans I now know we will have a very good visit. It is full of detail and information both of our forces and the defending garrison. A clear walking tour is included together with full details of travel and accomodation. A very good buy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Now as a British Expat living in France not far from this site brings a whole new perspective to todays attitudes, At least the French still pay homage to the bravery of these men.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Very we'll structured and informative with a good selection of photographs.
A must read for persons interested in ww2 and some of the most daring of raids
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse