Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the Hurricane into perspective.
As one who was servicing and repairing these wonderful aircraft during the Battle of Britain at 13 MU RAF Henlow,
Ultimately turning round some 60 odd aircraft a month, working all hours. Finally towards the end of the war after a long sojourn on Spitfires, Finishing in Yugoslavia with an assortment of Fighters, including 6 Squadron's rocket firing Hurricanes. A...
Published 18 months ago by Buster

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Hurricane was an amazing plane but this book on the subject needs a few improvements....
They Flew Hurricanes is an interesting selection of excerpts from a dozen or more books on the subject. If you're unfamiliar with the books quoted from (and I wasn't) it makes for an enjoyable read. What would have made the book rather more helpful would have been a bibliography. Also, the index, although present has not been converted in the ebook edition and is simply a...
Published 17 months ago by Martin G.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the Hurricane into perspective., 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Flew Hurricanes (Kindle Edition)
As one who was servicing and repairing these wonderful aircraft during the Battle of Britain at 13 MU RAF Henlow,
Ultimately turning round some 60 odd aircraft a month, working all hours. Finally towards the end of the war after a long sojourn on Spitfires, Finishing in Yugoslavia with an assortment of Fighters, including 6 Squadron's rocket firing Hurricanes. A truly wonderful aircraft very easy to work upon.
This book dots a lot of "I"s and crosses most of the "T" s of a truly remarkable aircraft on which I had been proud to work. ( ex RAF Fitter 2 A)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unsung hero, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Flew Hurricanes (Kindle Edition)
The Hurricane has been totally underestimated, I didn't realize how much of a part of the war the Hurricane and it's pilots had, I was born in 1940 so was too young to know what was going on around me, I always recall people talking of the Spitfire and how much it did.
I recommend any one interested in aerial combat should read this book,
I finish by saying, how brave the young pilots were, what must they have gone through, seeing their fellows not coming back and knowing that climbing into their cockpits may be the last thing they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undersung hero, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Flew Hurricanes (Kindle Edition)
A great read. The Hurricane, always looked upon as the poor relation to the Spitfire, was in many ways a better aeroplane & it's traditional build was invaluable during the early part of the war. The anecdotes by men who actually flew them bear out Sidney Camms genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite enjoyable, 25 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Flew Hurricanes (Kindle Edition)
I read a review which criticised this book for its extensive quoting, and this is true, but not having read any of those texts I found it informative. It does read a bit like an A -level essay, but I still found the content interesting. Not really for the Hurricane expert,perhaps, but for a WWII and Battle of Britain fan like myself, it's fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Factual and fascinating, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Flew Hurricanes (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book more than I thought I would bearing in mind it's chronological and factual style. Why the Hurricane is such a celebrated British Icon of WW 2 soon becomes apparent as does the bravery and sheer guts of the pilots who few the aircraft. A recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Flew Hurricanes (Kindle Edition)
As others have pointed out, this story needed telling. There has been so much hype about the Spitfire, that that aircraft has tended to overshadow its more workmanlike partner. The combat reports and the putting of the Hurricane's role in the wider context of the war are all fascinating. So it is, all in all, a remarkable collection of accounts, but I did find that reading combat report after combat report became just a little wearing after a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Hurricane was an amazing plane but this book on the subject needs a few improvements...., 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Flew Hurricanes (Kindle Edition)
They Flew Hurricanes is an interesting selection of excerpts from a dozen or more books on the subject. If you're unfamiliar with the books quoted from (and I wasn't) it makes for an enjoyable read. What would have made the book rather more helpful would have been a bibliography. Also, the index, although present has not been converted in the ebook edition and is simply a fairly useless list of entries without any links to the pages concerned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Flew Hurricanes (Kindle Edition)
i found this book quite informative not knowing a lot about where they were throughout the war and there history not bad at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promising title but a right jumble - and poor presentation, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Flew Hurricanes (Kindle Edition)
Very badly organised - assumed readers interested in squadron numbers - and very defensive on comparison with spitfires.
Should be chapters on 1biographies of pilots and experiences 2 the plane and its development 3 theatres of war and more in depth
whereas the book is mixture of all - with photos in section and not related to chapters at all. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Felw Hurricanes, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Flew Hurricanes (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book all about the guys who flew these evocative aircraft. It is beautifully written and gives a fabulous insight into the daily lives of our brave fighter pilots. Well worth reading and we must all keep history alive through books like this to ensure that these guys are never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

They Flew Hurricanes
They Flew Hurricanes by Adrian Stewart
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews