Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sedgemoor 1685
Being interested in British History I thought this book would be fine and I was not disappointed. Many years ago I visited the battle site but was only able to walk part of it the Church being the main focal point. The book is set out covering the lead up to; the battle itself and the after effects which incl. the Bloody Assizes with Judge Jeffries hanging everyone...
Published 17 months ago by Daliz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars thorough, and makes good use of evidence
A detailed account of the whole Monmouth rebellion, not just the titular and decisive battle. But the account of that battle is thorough including new ideas based on hitherto unconsidered letters and recent TV archaeology. Not a riveting tale, more of an academic account. Analysis follows, and the idea of 'Marlborough's first victory' appears toward the end. The...
Published 13 months ago by Bob Harvey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sedgemoor 1685, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sedgemoor 1685 : Marlborough's First Victory: Marlborough's First Command (Kindle Edition)
Being interested in British History I thought this book would be fine and I was not disappointed. Many years ago I visited the battle site but was only able to walk part of it the Church being the main focal point. The book is set out covering the lead up to; the battle itself and the after effects which incl. the Bloody Assizes with Judge Jeffries hanging everyone slightly rebellious.
The descriptions are very good and include many maps drawn at the time. The execution of Duke of Monmouth was horrific.
The only downside is the repetition as people in the battle give their accounts which have been mentioned earlier.
This was the first battle of the future Duke of Marlborough who came through this very well.
so enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for historians., 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sedgemoor 1685 : Marlborough's First Victory: Marlborough's First Command (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book covering the conflict, the main characters involved and a 'broad brush' political overview about the events that caused the battle - but with a typo or two, however, I highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in this period specifically and English/British history in general as it is a good accessible, very informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful analysis of the battle, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sedgemoor 1685 : Marlborough's First Victory: Marlborough's First Command (Kindle Edition)
The author as succeeded in telling the story in an interesting and convincing manner.
Would Monmouth have done better to wait ? A peaceful Protestant succession came shortly afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars thorough, and makes good use of evidence, 27 April 2014
By 
Bob Harvey (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sedgemoor 1685 : Marlborough's First Victory: Marlborough's First Command (Kindle Edition)
A detailed account of the whole Monmouth rebellion, not just the titular and decisive battle. But the account of that battle is thorough including new ideas based on hitherto unconsidered letters and recent TV archaeology. Not a riveting tale, more of an academic account. Analysis follows, and the idea of 'Marlborough's first victory' appears toward the end. The subtitle does not reflect the whole book. Mapping and illustrations are desultory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE book on the Battle of Sedgemoor, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
Uncle Barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sedgemoor 1685 : Marlborough's First Victory: Marlborough's First Command (Kindle Edition)
I was pleased to find abook on the campaign (?) and Battle of Sedgemoor as very little seems to have been written on it. This is a pretty comprehensive guide and well worth a read. It is a little repetitive at times - as the author quotes a few different people for each action and then puts the same action in his own words but I'd rather too much info was given than not enough.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sedgemoor 1685 : Marlborough's First Victory: Marlborough's First Command (Kindle Edition)
I found this book informative and easy to read it is not hard to follow the build up and the final battle a few larger maps would have been helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sedgemoor 1685 : Marlborough's First Victory: Marlborough's First Command (Kindle Edition)
A retelling of a familiar part of our history but with with excellent new research and in particular an excellent appreciation of the ground over which the campaign was fought.

I read the digital; version in which there were a number of 'printing' errors but this did not detract from the book itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WELL TOLD STORY, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sedgemoor 1685 : Marlborough's First Victory: Marlborough's First Command (Kindle Edition)
Not just the battle but the whole story. Being a native of Dorset this had a special interest re the Bloody Assizes. A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read - not too scholarly., 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Plenty of information about the main protagonists, and a good account of the campaign and its aftermath. The photographs are poor, just fuzzy, black and white shots showing very little. And I don't know why it is printed on heavy, glossy paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 27 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. Michael J. Shepherd (Glos' UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sedgemoor 1685 : Marlborough's First Victory: Marlborough's First Command (Kindle Edition)
A good well written and covers the lead up to the battle and some of the aftermath
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews