Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rigger
A very interesting and easy-to-read book about a subject that I never really knew much about until now. I know all about the SAS and 14th Intelligence and Security Group, or whatever they call themselves nowadays, but neglected to think of the people, without whom the aforementioned security forces could not communicate, that risk their lives to climb 400+ foot masts to...
Published on 7 Dec. 2001

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rigger
Having spent time in the Province employed in this very field, I was glad to see that someone had at last made the effort to write about this little known and overlooked task that is carried out on an almost daily basis. However now that I have read the book, I am disappointed that "Jack" felt it necessary to make constant vague references to "Special Forces". Although he...
Published on 23 Jun. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rigger, 23 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
Having spent time in the Province employed in this very field, I was glad to see that someone had at last made the effort to write about this little known and overlooked task that is carried out on an almost daily basis. However now that I have read the book, I am disappointed that "Jack" felt it necessary to make constant vague references to "Special Forces". Although he did undoubtably work in support of these people, the tasks that he carried out and those carried out by other Royal Signals Riggers are daring and pulse racing enough without trying to hang on the back of other peoples glory. I think that "Jack" has missed the point. He could have told the story of these brave lads who risked their lives day after day, going to some of the hardest areas in NI, climbing towers in South Armagh, Belfast, Londonderry and East Tyrone without teams of "Operators" watching their backs. He does however get across the feeling of almost acute paranoia that is felt at the beginning and end of a tour, the mind numbing tiredness felt after long hours of stress combined with hard physical work and also the terrible heart ache when a friend is lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rigger, 7 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
A very interesting and easy-to-read book about a subject that I never really knew much about until now. I know all about the SAS and 14th Intelligence and Security Group, or whatever they call themselves nowadays, but neglected to think of the people, without whom the aforementioned security forces could not communicate, that risk their lives to climb 400+ foot masts to either put up or maintain antennae whilst under IRA gunfire, sometimes with fatal consequences. I read it in a night, but that was because I couldn't put it down. I recommend this book to anyone interested in the conflict in Northern Ireland and the military in general, but it is also a story of personal achievement. A very good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, interesting and a great read., 12 April 2014
By 
Jay Grady (SW United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigger: Operating With The SAS (Kindle Edition)
No precociousness or the big 'I am' from the author. Many from HM FORCES past or present will identify with the banter the personalities types present in every unit and the wind ups, but he gives a real edge to the life of a serviceman during the troubles. Interesting insight into this element of the operations in N.Ireland I'd never thought about prior to seeing the book in the Kindle store.

Well done Jack. I hope you're going to write a prequel, your early career sounds as interesting as the tour you wrote about in detail here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rigger - Operating with the SAS., 12 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigger: Operating With The SAS (Kindle Edition)
This was a really interesting read. Focusing upon someone who set up an maintained communication towers in Northern Ireland during "the troubles" it really brings home the risks that military personnel were facing every day.

It is a very personal account of his tour in Northern Ireland and is recommended to anyone with an interest in this era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good read, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigger: Operating With The SAS (Kindle Edition)
I found this book a very good read ,with lots of interesting detail. I will recommend this book to all my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigger: Operating With The SAS (Kindle Edition)
fantastic read! funny and heart breaking in equal measure. a good look at life in the forces in Northern Ireland at the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigger: Operating With The SAS (Kindle Edition)
I liked this book ,as an ex scaley I found this section of the regiment interesting I watched aerial riggers in Germany ,they are fearless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigger: Operating With The SAS (Kindle Edition)
Good to read a novel onni based on fact. I served in the province and found the book a good historical read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book well written, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigger: Operating With The SAS (Kindle Edition)
I just loved reading this book it was very well written and I finished it far too quick which means I could not put I down to turn out the light and go to sleep well done Jack I look forward to reading your next one.....coz
this cannot be your last x..night night from teena x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells the story how it was, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rigger: Operating With The SAS (Kindle Edition)
This is an insight into a little known branch of the services and reflects the bravery of those involved.
This is a mix of operational duties and the behind the scenes camaraderie.
Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rigger: Operating With The SAS
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews