Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The number one album all over heaven.
I bought this on vinyl years ago and loved it. Now that it has been reissued with extra tracks it is pure heaven. Along with the original album there are a number of extra remixes of the singles totalling 15 tracks, an extra 9 from the original album.
The bonus tracks have been structured well in playing order, there are never two versions of the same song in...
Published 7 months ago by J. Winmill

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars STILL WAITING FOR A QUALITY MASTERTAPE RELEASE
Repertoire has never - see Sparks 7" + 12" releases in 2012 + 2013 - released Sparks material directly from original mastertapes. Still awaiting a definite release from Lil' Beethoven, as they should own all original mastertapes of Sparks album music plus bonus rarities. So thumbs up for the music, but thumbs down for all Repertoire releases. Takes more than a...
Published 7 months ago by FIFTH HORSEMAN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The number one album all over heaven., 4 Sep 2013
By 
J. Winmill (Lincoln United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No.1 In Heaven (Audio CD)
I bought this on vinyl years ago and loved it. Now that it has been reissued with extra tracks it is pure heaven. Along with the original album there are a number of extra remixes of the singles totalling 15 tracks, an extra 9 from the original album.
The bonus tracks have been structured well in playing order, there are never two versions of the same song in sequential order which is much easier to listen to. There is enough variety within the remixes to make you feel that you are listening to different songs rather than the same sounds being used in a different order. Overall the album sounds fresh, energetic and would sit alongside and even fare better than many of the chart music that is around today. This album was of its time and ahead of its time. Good sleeve notes which have inspired me now to go and listen to some of their other material. this is a fantastic buy and I would urge anyone of a fan of eighties electronic music and Georgio Moroder's production to get a copy of this, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's number one all over heaven, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Tim "Tim" (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No.1 In Heaven (Audio CD)
Although they had moved in different directions in the past, no Sparks fan could have been prepared for this in 1979. Because with No. 1 In Heaven, the Maels abandoned rock music altogether and created the 'synth pop duo' format that would prove ever so popular in the next decade. It's also one of their greatest albums and there isn't a second wasted in it's relatively short running time. Kicking things off in thrilling style is perhaps the greatest song of their entire career - Tryouts For The Human Race. With it's speedy, infectious electronic instrumentation and incredibly clever and funny lyrics from the point of view of a sperm (who else but Ron Mael would even think of this?!), it's incomparable to anything else i've ever heard in pop music. And it's no fluke, as the rest of the album is almost as exciting. The single Beat The Clock sounds remarkably contemporary for a song recorded in 1979 and also contains hilarious lyrics (Entered school when I was two; PHD'd that afternoon; Never entered any sports; I didn't look too good in shorts; Got divorced when I was four). My Other Voice features lyrics about the vocoder effect used in the song(!!) and The Number One Song In Heaven, which needs no introduction, is a stunningly beautiful two part 7+ minute-long epic. Number one, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sparks Album, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No.1 In Heaven (Audio CD)
There is so much I could say about this album, It has been a big part of my life since I was 16 and I have never got tired of listening to it. I have bought it on all formats over the years but this new deluxe edition is the best ever. The soud quality is outstanding and the booklet is most informative. Thanks to everyone involved in this re release what a job you have done 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow A Real Trip Down Memory Lane, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No.1 In Heaven (Audio CD)
The Sparks were the forbearers to Pet Shop Boys. Fab music, original, quirky and wow Giorgio Morooder producing this album.

Beat the Clock is just awesome but who can beat the headonistic Number One Song In Heaven. Just an amazing track which still sounds great almost 30yrs later. Truly awesome.

Tryouts for the Human Race is also knock out!!!

A classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars STILL WAITING FOR A QUALITY MASTERTAPE RELEASE, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: No.1 In Heaven (Audio CD)
Repertoire has never - see Sparks 7" + 12" releases in 2012 + 2013 - released Sparks material directly from original mastertapes. Still awaiting a definite release from Lil' Beethoven, as they should own all original mastertapes of Sparks album music plus bonus rarities. So thumbs up for the music, but thumbs down for all Repertoire releases. Takes more than a shiny digipack to convince me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY 3RD FAVORITE CD OF ALL TIME !, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No.1 In Heaven (Audio CD)
I AM A MAJOR SPARKS COLLECTOR, FOR ALMOST 35 YEARS...I OWN OVER 7000 CD'S, AND THIS CD IS # 3 OF ALL TIME FAVORITES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic heaven., 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No.1 In Heaven (Audio CD)
Every fan of electronic music should have this in their collection.I had bought the singles off the album when I was a lot younger and it still sounds as good as ever.A true classic, from one of the most unique duos in music ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars where is one of their best hits?, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No.1 In Heaven (Audio CD)
disappointed this town aint big enough for the both of us is not on this cd but good to hear the other stuff again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0a4e240)

This product

No.1 In Heaven
No.1 In Heaven by Sparks (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews