Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sound at a low price
The CMT S220 is simple and small compact micro hi fi (I have the FM version)
It's a low cost system, but has enough of the basics covered, and sounds a bit better than the price might suggest.

The main unit houses the CD drive (a tray eject type), a simple LCD display, with a front USB port on the lower left hand side
The top part has button controls...
Published 13 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The specification sounds very good value, however its a bit tinny and a ...
The specification sounds very good value, however its a bit tinny and a little disappointed with the delicate construction.
Published 8 months ago by stungonbees


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sound at a low price, 24 May 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The CMT S220 is simple and small compact micro hi fi (I have the FM version)
It's a low cost system, but has enough of the basics covered, and sounds a bit better than the price might suggest.

The main unit houses the CD drive (a tray eject type), a simple LCD display, with a front USB port on the lower left hand side
The top part has button controls for the hi fi (play, pause, eject and EQ etc so you are ok if you misplace the remote)
Connectors are minimal, 2 x speaker outputs, an audio input, and a socket to fix the aerial connector

Other notes:
* USB playback supports MP3, WMA, and Walkman formats (you can also use the port to charge USB devices)
* You get a remote controls with it too
* Output is rated at 10watts RMS (2x5 watts) per channel

It's a small size overall the main unit is about 17cm wide and 21cm deep so it's easy to fit in a tight space or a kitchen for example. As others have noted the speaker cables are not that long, but I suspect most will not be seperating the speakers much.

Build is basic but adequate at this price point. Sound wise it does a fairly good job with the bass boost and pre-sets on EQ it's above average compared to some units I have tried. Mid range could be better but for the rated output it's really quite good overall more than loud enough.

There is nothing fancy on the Sony at all just the essentials here CD, and USB playback with the radio (reception is fine for FM/AM) The DAB model is a bit more expensive (I've not tried this) but it's the same unit for both options.

At this price it's a decent purchase for a budget micro system. I have mine in the shed and it's been working with no problems for months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 107 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars neat, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Our main source of audio is a BOSE system but we wanted something smaller for another living room. The Sony CMT arrived bang on time, was in perfect condition and was assembled within 10 minutes. It took me a while longer to tune in the radio stations but that was a mixture of unclear instructions and operator error/impatience. Like may other reviewers, I note the shortness of leads meaning that you cannot space the speakers as far apart as you might like. The max I get is 70 cm (distance between a speaker and the CD player). This wasn't an issue for us. Sound quality is room filling and OK. At ~ £74-00 it is a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for the price!, 8 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Sony CMTS20B All-in-One Audio System with DAB (Electronics)
I didn't actually buy this from Amazon but I thought a review might be helpful to those who may do so. The features, for a basic machine, were better than I expected. It will read mp3 CD's for a start. Sound quality isn't bad either. The aerial could probably do with being longer. As I don't like leaving things on standby (wastes electricity) I would have liked a proper mains on-off switch. The downside of switching off completely is that preset/stored stations will be lost after a certain time. Even here, though, machine exceeded specifications; it states that, if switched off completely, stored stations will be lost after about half a day. However, switching on over 12 hours later, stations were still there! It will be interesting to see how long they are retained. It would be good if a future model had some kind of on-board battery which would enable presets to be stored indefinitely. In all this is pretty good and I am glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich sound for a small space at a reasonable price., 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CMTS20B All-in-One Audio System with DAB (Electronics)
Followed the advice with regards to ordering the DAB version and very happy, I brought this item for my mother to use within her kitchen and as described it's just right for a small space particularly as more and more channels are going DAB. Before she had to switch between AM and FM and although this unit has a FM tuner that isn't really made clear all the channels she likes are on DAB so it's a couple of button presses to the right or the left to get to the channel she wants, no pressing enter no changing frequency it just does it and even her local channels are there for her and the display tells her exactly what channel she is on, she is over the moon! Plus it has a CD player which is something that was missing for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The specification sounds very good value, however its a bit tinny and a ..., 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CMTS20B All-in-One Audio System with DAB (Electronics)
The specification sounds very good value, however its a bit tinny and a little disappointed with the delicate construction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent system for the home based on the budget, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent system for the home based on the budget. I would recommend it to anyone who is shopping for a mini system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very slow start up time, too slow. You have to wait for ages while the drive spins up, spins down, and spins up again until it's ready to start playing a CD. After four months it stopped working altogether. The sound quality is good when it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value. Compact., 16 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Sony CMTS20B All-in-One Audio System with DAB (Electronics)
This mini system has a CD player and a DAB radio, which along with the audio in socket for mp3s, makes it really useful. One star was lost because (& I only discovered this yesterday! ) it has no headphone socket. As a stereo ideal for a bedroom, this is an odd omission. Won't fill a very large room with sound but has plenty of oomph for a bedroom or study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware the limitations of this product., 24 Aug. 2014
By 
Peter Woolsey "Cardinal" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony CMTS20B All-in-One Audio System with DAB (Electronics)
Performed perfectly well for what it was. However, it was not satisfactory for our purposes. Living in a poor reception area for FM we need an external aerial, but there is no socket for this and can't therefore receive a good enough FM signal for it to be listened to with the aerial provided. Added to this, whilst the DAB signal was adequate, only BBC have DAB coverage in this area so the system is pretty useless for us. As a result we have given the system to relatives who live in a different part of the country. Nowhere in the advertising material is it specified that there is no FM external aerial socket or that it's usefulness in some parts of the country may be compromised because of poor signal coverage.
Don't buy this product unless you are certain to gain full benefit from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than expected, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great product, it sounds great and looks good too, Amazing value for money, I cant fault it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews