Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still growing
On first listen we really liked the whole album, but as we have listened more and more 1 gem after another have emerged and planted themselves solidly in our favourites list. "Sugar" is an absolute belter of a song!!
Published 10 months ago by Southerndan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars No Chris Urbanowicz no Editors.
Without the incandescent guitar sound of Chris Urbanowicz Editors are just another average modern English band. Sorry to point this out Mr Tom Smith but that's the size of it.
Published 1 month ago by John William Griffiths


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Mind blowing, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
I don't know why they aren't as big as (or bigger than) Killers or Keane this album is just mind blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb album, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
Loved their latest album - this is definitely a "must have" for all of their fans. Well worth the long wait for a new album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Crushing Disappointment, 21 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (MP3 Download)
Both the Back Room and An End Has A Start were fantastic albums which established a success formula for Editors, Yet that was abandoned for the awful third album. Editors attempt to return to that formula but still cannot re-create it perfectly. The problem is they've lost the signature guitar sounds, placed over emphasis on the vocals of tom smith and tired to do an "America" style album.

The result is another disappointment. where there would be a Editors guitar rift is now replaced with strings or lame know off Arcade Fire "Oooooh"-ing. Tom Smiths vocals are biggest problem, "What is Thing Called Love" features tom singing in falsetto and its awful, while "A Ton of Love" and "Formaldehyde" have Tom shouting to point where you cannot understand what he's shouting, for example in a ton of love the lyrics are supposedly "a chance of love" but with tom shouting it in such a ridiculous way it sounds more like "A Chin Sir". Hyena feels like a terrible rip off of Interpol something Editors would deny. Phone Book is as exciting as reading a phone book, while "nothing" is self indulgent what could of been a great editors song is ruined.

Sure its better than the third album, but its not a major improvement and new problems have arised.
Its a real shame Editors are going well of Idlewild
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Editorial, not an Obituary!, 7 July 2013
By 
Mr. I. D. "ID HI" (Guildford, Surrey UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (MP3 Download)
Editors maintain their usual high standard. Looking at life as it zips past and putting the brakes on hard, to contemplate their surroundings. We'd all like ABS fitted. They give hope...but not without a fight! No need to draw blood this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl Details, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is information on the vinyl release and not a review of the music.Amazon seem to combine reviews for the various formats so it is not always easy to find out specific info for each one.
The vinyl version is a double album housed in a gatefold sleeve.Both records are 180 gram black vinyl and play at 33 rpm.The records are housed in card inner sleeves with band photos on one side and lyrics on the other.A nice bonus is the inclusion of a cd of the album housed in a clear plastic sleeve.Thanks to the new autorip service the tracks are also available in Amazon Cloud Player.I received an email at 12.01 this morning informing me of this fact.
None of the tracks from the limited edition double cd are available with this version.
I hope this info is helpful to any potential buyers of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice edition, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
Editors new album - Always like their stuff and this album has yet another selection of songs, that they do well. I will say that this album does not seem to be a step on from the last but that does not mean its not good in its on right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A BAND !, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (MP3 Download)
A GREAT NEW ALBUM SLIGHTLY MORE MELODIC THAN PREVIOUS ALBUMS BUT WITH SOME GREAT THUMPING SONGS IN THE MIX.WILL BE A CLASSIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Editors singing about "love"??, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. C. W. Choi "Chi" (Alsager) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
Always love Editors' material, mainly because their misery made my life feel a whole lot better... So rather surprised to find them singing about fluffy stuff like "love" as well as other ballad-like songs! Their worst album by far, I'm afraid...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed the mark, 12 July 2013
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (MP3 Download)
I loved Editors early rock guitar stuff and even liked their drift into electronica. It is taken a number of years to release The Weight Of Your Love and yes... it does grow on you after time like a mature wine.

Yet, there is something missing! It's more like Monday Afternoon Radio 2 listening than Friday Night Rock Show and to be honest some parts of it are rather bland... then there are great parts.

Hit and miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Weight Of Your Love (Audio CD)
I've been eagerly awaiting this album for a while now and for me it hasn't disappointed. I have their other albums, all of which I still listen to. After only 2 listens I think I prefer it to "In this light and on this evening". If you're an Editors fan, hopefully you will love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews