Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
As a lover of Jane Austens books - which I have re-read many times - I was intrigued to read this book which I thoroughly enjoyed.
Published 7 months ago by Jules

versus
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars None
I had to give up reading this halfway through chapter 5. So disappointing.The author tries to emulate Jane's style which is what you'd expect and maybe even hope for, and to a small degree succeeds.However, she does put toomuch of a millsand boon style on the story for me which rather spoils it. Darcy and Elizabeth particularly come across as very wooden.as the author is...
Published on 10 Jun 2012 by hbels


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The extension of a classic, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first I quipped at the notion that any writer could successfully extend one of my favourite books of all time. The writing easy and casual to read, I easily slipped back into the story as if I were experiencing the master herself, but there were a lot of decorative use of character language to encourage familiarity - and whilst there was some growth of Lizzys character, I would have preferred more. Perhaps spending more time on that, than recounting some of the original would have been best but it did not deter from my enjoyment of the story. Although appearing to finish fast, I enjoyed it thoroughly and I wouldn't have imagined a better story for any of the characters of the original. I would recommend it highly. So if you are like me and are contemplating an excuse to skip this, don't! I promise you shall be pleasantly surprised and rewarded. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written, good storyline, characters remain faithful. Worth a read as Part 2, have bought Part 3 (Return to Longbourn)., 7 July 2014
By 
lis247 (Wiltshire, SW England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice sequel, read easily, continues and ties up lives of other characters, and introduces a few more.... Nicely done, have bought Return to Longbourn (Part 3) on basis of this read, as it's on Kindle, it's a good one to have in the "library" for when you want a nice easy Jane Austen-sequel. A can't sleep, stuck at the airport, on a train, on the beach book. Not a PD James, but as good a sequel, in a different style. Story synopsis, doesn't need another recount as other reviewers do this well and the clue is in the title, you need to know P&P. I enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen in essence, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this sequel to pride and prejudice having often wandered what became of the characters made so real and human by miss Austen. Now I know! I am looking forward to the next instalment immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent sequel, 25 May 2014
By 
Mrs. V. J. Forsyth "weatherwax" (Chesterfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not great literature, hence 3 stars, but quite a satisfying read with some development of the characters and some ends nicely tied off. The American spelling didn't worry me and I think that's pretty nit-picking as English spelling has changed a lot since Austen wrote her books and if the modern publishers had stuck with that it would have been even more irritating. I have a volume of her letters and it's quite hard work for that reason. In general I think she's captured the period pretty well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a very good read. Close to Jane Austin's style. An interesting story if a little predictable unlike the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story, well done - if you liked Pride and Prejudice then you'll like this. Was doubtfull as written by an americal but it is very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Darcy s of pemberley, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing sequel to pride and prejudice loved it amazing story line full of excitement and we see more into Elizabeth's and Darcy's life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Darcys of Pemberley, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a great fan of Jane Austen and all her books I think this book by Shannon Winslow is equally as good. I hope she writes more of the life of the Darcys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Darcy's of Pemberley, 18 Feb 2014
Enjoyed it. Followed quite true to style of Jane Austin. I would recommend it to other readers of Jane Austin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews