Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd
great singer and a great cd got it for my mother for a gift so i hope she loves it. it was great value for money to
Published 6 months ago by Aimee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok ishhh
I thought this CD was going to be really good from the reviews. I found it very samey and after player 4 or 5 days in my car, it has not inspired me to listen again.
Published 1 month ago by Ms. J. Bytheway


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tribute (Audio CD)
great singer and a great cd got it for my mother for a gift so i hope she loves it. it was great value for money to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD!, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Phill Marley "Phillmarley" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tribute (Audio CD)
Being a 50-something old rocker, very into 70s rock, I hadn't heard of John Newman until I chanced upon him recently on Jools Holland's Later TV slot. Was about to fast forward JN, when something stopped me. Boy, I am glad I did stop!!! I watched spellbound, while this lad with an odd voice performed, and in one song I was hooked, I loved the band, the strings section, the backing singers, the song and John himself. Then went onto Youtube, watched the video (51M views tells you something!) and ordered the deluxe version of Tribute. Haven't taken it off the player yet - well I have, but only to take with me into the car!!!
Excellent Northern soul influenced stompers, torch songs, ballads, its really good, I particularly like Goodnight Goodbye and Easy, but all are good.
Thoroughly recommended, well done JN (23yrs old!!) and I hope theres plenty more to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tribute john newman, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tribute (Audio CD)
Received this cd today, its not been off my cd player, its absolutely brilliant, John is an outstanding singer this is a fantastic first album, I love all the songs, couldn't wait for this album to come out after the hit single... Love Me Again, im a huge Northern Soul Fan a couple,of tracks have a northern feel to them ive already been dancing round the room.
Such a refreshing change to hear songs with the Northern soul feel to them, this sort of music should be produced more.
Good luck in the future John, im sure its a good one.
Keep the faith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tribute to tribute albums..., 14 Oct 2013
By 
S. D. Nunn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tribute (Audio CD)
In the era of The X Factor, how's a lad to compete with formulaic cover versions designed for lowest common denominator mass appeal?

The answer, judging from John Newman's debut album, is to assimilate X Factor appeal into pop history... to take The X Factor back to its 60s Northern Soul roots... a newly discovered talent belting out songs that sound like pop standards that'll stand the test of time etc. Sort of a credible version of Brother Beyond who noticeably don't get a name check on the title track (that very directly tells you who John will be tonight, Matthew) though John Newman certainly owes them one - they did this years before him.

Anyway, this album is actually a strong and near enough authentic sounding retro-pop effort though it is a tad samey... actually it comes close to being problematically samey and although it would be easy to accuse the production of emphasizing commonality, in fact repetition is in the song writing.

The 3 chord hit single 'Love Me Again' is the structural template for A LOT of material on this album, alongside some obviously very familiar 'borrowed' motifs that form the backbone of a number of tracks...

This just about works because we're in retro tribute land - the title is just as much a confession as it is pronouncement of what's contained on the disc...

The bottom line here is what John Newman does, he does well... a great deal more than proficient, his voice is rich, the production signals all sorts of retro gems with the ballads nodding towards Eta James, thus saving us from over-sentimental mediocrity...

Grannies and kids will love this disc, but ultimately John Newman wants his market to be everyone inbetween... with this debut he just about pulls off mass appeal without loosing credibility... but the price is repetition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album 2014, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tribute (Audio CD)
John Newman is brilliant so refreshing to listen to a young star from England!!! his voice is dreamy and every track on the album
is absolutely gorgeous .It's a must have in everyone cd collection. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tribute (Audio CD)
Brilliant! Not one bad song on there. Great listening and certainly recommend anyone to buy it, if you've heard any of John Newman's songs this is definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Newman rocks!, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Helen Hyatt (Flowery Branch, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tribute (Audio CD)
Stunning album, fabulous new artist, a must have in anyones collection. Northern soul here we come. All cuts on the cd are great, includes the best of John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tribute (Audio CD)
Wonderful album...certainly not disappointed. Keep playing it and unlike many others, can't say there is a track on it I want to skip. Look forward to seeing what he does next, and hopefully some DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Newman, 26 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: Tribute (MP3 Download)
Superb, brilliant, what more superlatives can I find? Thus is like my return to northern soul please but as this guy will be really famous one day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent debut album, 15 April 2014
By 
askten (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tribute (Audio CD)
I first saw John Newman during his performance at BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2013. He was excellent and his debut album does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3b38d98)

This product

Tribute
Tribute by John Newman (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 2 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews